We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel provides all the basic amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This hotel provides all the basic amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The rooms were nice furnished and had a nice size refrigerator and a microwave oven. There were two problems with the hotel and one was the cleanliness of the room. I found hair on my bed sheets and there was more in the bathtub. The staff was friendly with the exception of a female at the front desk. The location is great for downtown and there are restaurants and shopping within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear desktopnyc,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. It is really nice to know that you liked our location. However, I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the cleanliness of the room and over the unsatisfactory service you received from the desk staff. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    89
    51
    33
    12
See reviews for
66
38
22
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carneys Point, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

10/28/20013 - I checked in at the hotel and went to my room. I always pull the sheets back and check the mattresses before I sit down. I looked at the mattress and you could tell they were old with stains that had been washed at some point in time. The matress was old. I could have switched rooms but I decided to leave and visit another Holiday Inn where I know the beds are newer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Donna B,

Thank you for the recent review of our hotel. I am so sorry that the mattress in your room failed to meet your expectations. Our mattresses are actually quite new, but stains on a mattress are not acceptable. It is also standard procedure to utilize fitted mattress pads that completely cover the mattresses. If this was not the case with your particular room I only wish that you would have notified our management team and we would have gladly corrected the issue or moved you to more suitable quarters. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience, and we hope to see you again on a future trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Most Holiday Inn's are "nice" but it is the people that make the difference! If you are in the Charleston WV area, make this your stop and ask for "Cassie" at the front desk. She will assist you and make sure your stay is GREAT. Thank you Cassie for going above and beyond what most front desk people will do! Gary B

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I’m not sick often; but when I am, I either want to be at home or in your hotel. I was scheduled to stay with you from October 6th through October 9th. I started having major problems with vertigo when I awoke on Monday morning (the 7th) but still got up and went to work. Randy helped me get to the van and into it. He also alerted someone to help me so that I could get into my building and to my office. Of course I shouldn’t have even tried to go to work; my supervisor had to take me back to the hotel at noon. When I got there Cassie and Nyla were amazing. By this time I was also having problems with my stomach and thought that food might help. Cassie went to the kitchen and got me a bowl of cheerios and milk and made arrangements for my daughter to have a key for my room. Then she contacted Nyla, who helped me get to my room, got my cereal ready to eat and set the tissues beside me. I had a doctor’s appointment that afternoon and had to have my husband come down and spend the night to help me get back to the doctor the next day. And, when I couldn’t get ready early the next morning and breakfast was already over, Jean went into the kitchen and got each of us a bowl of cheerios and milk. I also want to mention Russell, Joey and Becky who were also very helpful. Overall, you have a great staff and I sincerely appreciate all their assistance on a daily basis. However, when I’m so sick and they go the extra mile, they become my angels/heros. Please relay my sincere appreciation to them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed one night driving from Louisville to Gettysburg....very clean, excellent room, great free breakfast....quick on/off the freeway, free Internet. Staff very friendly when we checked in about 8pm...gave us water and snacks fir being club members.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip. Every employee was friendly and helpful. The front desk people went out of their way to make us happy. The sales manager allowed us to use her office and computer to scan some business documents. My business partner and I were very impressed. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

service , people, cleanliness all good. reception staff were pleasant, and breakfast was good, one day the bananas ran out, and another the bananas were a bit old, but other thanthat the stay was good

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Address: 100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.