We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and in safe location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice and in safe location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is definately in need of updating. So can understand the construction. The state of West Virgina had a major power outage after a freak storm. So we basically hotel hopped trying to get closer to Adventures on the Gorge for a rafting trip. The staff was very helpful. The restaurant was fair but service was excellent. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Griffin 96,

Thank you for the nice review, and I am happy to report that our renovations are now drawing to a close and should be completely wrapped up by mid February. It's been a long journey but the final outcome is a brand new hotel inside and out. We hope that you will stop by upon your next visit to the "capitol city" and allow us to show you our shining new property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    81
    48
    32
    12
See reviews for
65
33
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our last stop back to Toronto from Savannah, GA. The hotel was being renovated when we were there and they were up to the four floor at that time. The breakfast area was beautiful and we enjoyed our free breakfast there with joy. The corridors were all newly decorated and the carpet felt very nice and soft. Our room was large and good for the four of us. Decors in room were very very modern and we simply loved them. It is located right across the Civic Centre and not far at all from the Charleston Town Centre shopping mall. We strolled through the mall at night on a Thursday and found the place to be too quiet for us, but for shopping with ease it was just excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Iasellajai,

On behalf of the entire team at the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center, thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review of our hotel on Trip Advisor! we look forward to being your "home away from home" the next time you travel through our beautiful state.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matewan, West Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the rooms that hadn't been remodeled. Our air conditioner was messed up..so it was a little warm in there as it was in July. They did send someone to check it several times, but there wasn't anything they could do. We went out and bought a fan, and it wasn't too bad. The staff and manager were all great. They felt so bad that they were unable to put us in another room that they gave us a big discount on the first night and didn't even charge us for the second night. That, to me, seems as though they really value their customers. I think the name of the guy that helped us so much..his name was Russell Atlia..not sure on the spelling, but he went the extra mile to help us. You don't find too many people that kind any more. Will I return..YES!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Cathy D,

All I can say is WOW, what a great review! It is our goal to provide only the best of service to our guests and it looks as though we achieved just that. I have shared your comments with our entire team and they too were just as pleased to hear that we truly exceeded your expectations. Thanks so much and we look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hopefully this can be classified as a temporary review but I can't give this hotel a good score for the simple fact that they do not know how to plan their customer arrivals around the construction going on at the motel and that should reflect for a person considering this hotel. The construction was not listed on their national Holiday Inn site so I just want the traveler to be aware and at least check with the hotel to see if the construction has been completed and be able to change their plans if necessary to make their stay more comfortable.

I arrived early and they would not let me check in until after 2:30pm. This was not really a problem because the large Charleston Town Center mall is less than a block away so I just left my car in the parking lot and walked to the mall. Check in was ok even though I had to go back and get my snack they offer for being a Priority Rewards club member because the front desk assistant forgot to offer it to me. What can I say I wanted my cookies.

Overall I will say the front desk people, and housekeeping is usually very good in this hotel and they were the same this time. I did have trouble with the door lock when I first arrived is my only non-construction related issue. I don't know if the door itself was jammed somehow or if it was just in the electronic lock but after 5 minutes and some gentle pressure and persuasion on the door it opened. My room was cleaned and fully prepared when I finally got the door opened. The television was of good size, and worked properly. The remote also worked well (a thing i often can't say with motel remotes). The hotel places the wi-fi signal on the key card holder so that was readily available and I was able to get online quickly. The wi-fi signal worked well in my location. The beds were comfortable and the hotel provides both a firm set of pillows and a soft set of pillows for travelers to pick according to their preference. The bathroom was nice, but he tub was older and had been patched a little bit. Everything functioned properly and the water was warm for my shower. There was no refrigerator or microwave in most rooms if that is a feature you desire. The coffee pot was in the bathroom and the basket was properly stocked with supplies to make the coffee. Noise from other rooms, and the hall was actually pretty low. I was on the side closer to the road and did get a little traffic noise, but even that wasn't as bad as some of the other hotels I have stayed in around Charleston.

I stayed on Friday night with no were I had to be on Saturday early so what's a guy to do but want to sleep in. I got in later from a concert across the street at the Civic Center so by the time I got settled down it was probably about 1:30. I actually did sleep good in the bed so I can say it was comfortable. A little after 9:00am though I was awakened by a construction drill that sounded like it was going to bore through any minute and continued off and on for about 30 minutes. I am a half deaf light sleeper that uses earplugs at hotels when I sleep a lot of the times to drown out everything. I had them in that night so to be awakened from sleep with earplugs in may show you just how loud this thing was. Needless to say being a light sleeper once I am a wake I stay awake so I lazed around a bit and got ready to leave. Again the staff was kind on the way out and checkout was quick. When I got to my car they caution taped much of the area I was parked in. I could not pull forward out of my spot so I had to back my car out of that partitioned off area in order to get out of the parking lot. As I was was pulling onto the interstate I looked at my hood closely and found that there was bits of installation or whatever they were working with all over the hood. How nice of them to work around vehicles.

Overall I still will say this hotel is a nice hotel and normally would have given it a better rating. Right now though I avoid it until their construction is completed because the hotel and construction workers can't coordinate with each other and keep guests away from the construction noise and mess. There are too many comparably priced hotels in that area not under construction that will give you more overall value for your money.

Room Tip: Probably a room on the front of the hotel. It is further from the road so road noise is lessened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Alman 4869,

I would like to thank you for your recent review of our hotel. While we do our best to try and plan and coordinate our renovations during times of the year when it will impact our guests the least, we still sometimes fail to achieve that goal. I am happy to report that our work is now wrapping up and renoavtions should be complete by February 15th. Your kind comments about our staff and services are very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon so that we may show off our finished product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The front desk staff was not real helpful-didn't want to look up my priority reward number-"you know the computer is kind of slow"-really! The location was great for all we wanted to do and the breakfast was fabulous. Our room was a nice size and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Sheryl L,

I would like to thank you for the feedback concerning your recent stay at our hotel. Our Priority Club members are very important to us and retrieving their numbers is indeed not a cumbersome matter. I think we have addressed this issue through additional staff training. Your other kind comments are very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

They are redoing the rooms on all the floors. The room I had was already completed and was great except that the lighting could have been better. They have closed off windows in each room so even in daytime not nearly the light I use to have. They are also redoing the outside so when the project is completed everything will look great ( as if it didn't before they started these upgrades ). I stayed here jan 3th to jan 6. The staff here is ALWAYS so friendly and that goes for the hotel manager down to the maids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Brooks 321,

What a great review! I thank you for taking the time to share this information and we are so happy to hear how pleased you are with our improvements so far! After hearing your comments, as well as others about the guest room lighting, we have added an additional lamp to each room which will hopefully address this concern. Thanks again and we will see you in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our room had been remodeled- except the bathroom. Good space in room. They brought us a roll away at no charge and it fit between the two double beds which was great. The breakfast was very good, lots of variety. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Mary T,

Thanks so much for the review of our hotel you recently posted. Your kind remarks are very much appreciated and will be shared with our entire team. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Address: 100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.