We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Holiday Inn Express!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank You Holiday Inn Express!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Due to the recent power outages in WV, my elderly parents stayed in Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center for an entire week. Both of my parents are in their 70's and my father is handicapped from a stroke. The staff at this property are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. They allowed my parents to extend their stay on two different occassions due to the lack of electricity at home. I particularly have to brag on two of the front desk staff - Billie and Sue. They were both incredibly helpful, great to talk with and very easy to deal with on a daily basis.

The handicapped accessible room was large, very clean and very comfortable. My parents bragged each day about the free breakfast and the friendliness of the hotel staff. It was a great relief knowing that my parents (in their late 70's) were in such good company.

This is a great place to stay with a excellent staff. If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay in Charleston, WV with a great location and staff......this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonDOO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind remarks concerning your stay with us! Certainly the recent storms and subsequent power outages were a tough time for us all. We are so happy that you chose us to be your "home away from home" during this difficult time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    86
    51
    33
    12
See reviews for
66
36
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Macy, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Bed: Comfy! Free Breakfast: Fantastic Handicapped Assessble: YES! Clean Rooms: YES!
HD TV: Loved it! Free Parking: YES WIFI: YES!!

Nothing bad to say. Booked this room through Hotwire. Was $59 a night plus tax. Loved it!

Room Tip: Book through Hotwire...Cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful review of our hotel you recently posted on Trip Advisor. Your kind comments are very much appriciated and will be shared with our entire team. I hope you will always consider us your "home away from home" when visiting Charleston WV!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

This was my first time staying here, and I was quite impressed for the price! Comfy rooms, walking distance to dining and recreational activities, and a wonderful continental breakfast! Staff was polite and courteous. Had a wonderful stay here, I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very important not only to our team but the millions of people who depend on this trusted site to make their lodging decisions. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I don't get to travel much, so when I do I'm always looking for a bargain. Initially I was shocked at the price of the room. as I tend to be "a little cheap". But boy was I pleasantly surprised. The desk staff made me feel like a king from the moment I walked in the door. Even though they was busy, with other people waiting and the phone going off every other minute, the lady at the desk was friendly, efficient, kept everybody involved with comments and eye contact and when it was our turn to check in she really showed us what good customer service is supposed to look like. The rooms were nice, new and clean and the free breakfast was good too, but the reason I'm even bothering writing this are the people, one in particular. Bravo !!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
What a great review! Speaking on behalf of our entire Charleston team, THANK YOU! We truly appreciate when our guests take the time to relay to us when we have exceeded their expectations. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Pros and cons to this hotel... it just needs some additional attention in a few areas. PROS: Drivers were friendly as were front desk staff, room is a good size and was quiet, new flatscreen TV's. Breakfast has some items out super early for those of us who are very early risers and this was a definite plus! CONS: Cleanliness in room!!!! Brew basket in coffee maker had perhaps never been cleaned, dry coffee "dust/residue" and the coffee maker did not work after all that anyway! Blow dryer in bathoom was going on and off, and there were water marks on the nightstand next to the bed indicating it had not been cleaned. There were 2 M&M's on the floor in the room (again, tells me it was not vacuumed) and the lampshade was at a 45degree angle when I walked in. The maid certainly does NOT pay attention to detail or do a thorough job! I asked a front desk clerk what was near hotel for a cocktail and perhaps some hors d'oeuvres and she did not have a clue! She had to summon another agent to get the information. How she can work at a hotel front desk and not even know what eateries are within walking distance of her own hotel is kind of mystifying. Bed was an old style mattress (not pillow top) and was very hard, other furnishings in room (lamp, dresser) very old and dated.

They did a nice job of remodeling the 1st floor hallway and some of the public area, but they need to update the rooms, very dated and worn looking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for the review of our hotel that you recently posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your taking the time to make us aware of the service issues you encountered. I have addresed your concerns with the appropriate department managers and corrective action has been taken. It is my sincere hope that you will consider giving us the opportunity to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Charleston WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a very good hotel exceeded my expectations for a small town, rooms large and very comfy very clean and the beds were a delight to sleep in the breakfast surprised me as I was expecting just a continental but they also offered a hot choice. The rooms had all the usual you would expect from a holiday inn flat sceen tv, tea cofee ECT. The front of house staff were very helpfull as our flight out was cancelled due to fog, they came and picked us up from the airport and rebooked us in.In a good location for the town centre and good resteraunts and bars. Only downside the air conditioning is quite noisey at night if you need it on it can however be switched off. I would stay there again if ever I revisit WV.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonDOO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the many postive comments and will certainly look into and correct the issue you mentioned with the noisy air conditioner. Thanks again, and we hope that you will choose us upon your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was greeted with a most cordial welcome after a prompt and courteous shuttle ride from the airport. The room was immaculate, the hot/cold free breakfast buffet was extraordinary, the shuttle service to the capitol area was excellent, and the desk staff was so accommodating with suggestions and directions. Hats off and many thanks to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonDOO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for the great review of our hotel that you recently posted on Trip Advisor! We truly appreciate the wonderful comments about our staff and services. It is our goal to exceed the expectations of our guests and it looks as though we accomplished just that during your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Address: 100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;