We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Charleston to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Kanawha Blvd. E., Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Ramada Charleston Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Burnsville, West Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very welcoming and helpful staff. Beautiful view of the river. Located close to everything in downtown Charleston. Very clean motel. A little noisy - from outside and other rooms. There is a $10 charge for parking.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    38
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
31
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at this hotel for one night with our daughters. It was a last minute decision as we had tickets for a show at the Civic Center for the next morning and a winter storm was on its way to hit our area that night. This hotel was reasonably close to the civic center, we actually ended up taking the free hotel shuttle as it was pouring rain by then, but could have walked it pretty easily too with better weather and sidewalk conditions. The covered parking garage was a plus so we didn't have to dig our car out of sheets of ice that morning, not such a nice surprise that they charge $10 for it.

The hotel reception area and staff was nice and accommodating.
The room was surprisingly small, there was only a little bit more than an estimated 3-4 feet between the beds and the desk. Only a small wardrobe which got easily filled with our 4 jackets. No room to hang up anything else. One arm chair, one desk chair and an ottoman. We haven't stayed in a room this small in a while but I guess we usually don't stay in downtown hotels either.

All riverview rooms were taken, so we got a city view which was nice from the 10th floor. It was quiet, no issues at all. Despite the fact that the hotel seemed to host many other families with young children holding tickets for the same show the next morning. This hotel only has rooms with either 2 double beds or a king sized bed. We usually prefer 2 queen sized beds when travelling with the kids, but this was priced reasonably (actually found it for $99 plus tax on every website but the hotel booking site, it was $13 more there, even with a AAA discount, but when I called, they matched the price).

Everything was clean and in excellent condition. The bathroom was rather small too, but very functional. I like hotels that have a lot of space next to the sink to put down your toiletries etc. This one did.

I was positively surprised about the size of the fitness center. It was very nice. They had 3 treadmills (one seemed out of order though), 2 ellipticals, 2 bikes and plus weights, exercise balls etc. It was rather warm in there at 68 degrees though. The indoor pool was small for a hotel this size. It was not very warm, perfect if you wanted to swim laps (not the easiest to do due to the small size) but I had to keep the kids moving so they wouldn't get too cold too soon. No hot tub, that would have been a nice touch.

We had a coffee maker in the room, no fridge. Not sure if other rooms have one. The free Wifi in the room worked great and we had two (small/ regular size) water bottles in the room which is a nice touch. For our purposes the hotel was fine: reasonably priced and close to the civic center and downtown mall. If we had been travelling with all three kids, the room would have been too small.

Room Tip: If you get city view, try to get an upper floor room, otherwise you'll only see the parking gara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLHospitality, Owner at Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Our Four Points by Sheraton Charleston team appreciates you letting us know about your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide this important feedback. Your comments and concerns have been passed along to the necessary management team members. We always love hearing back from our guests as we can continue to improve the overall guest experience using the information provided to us.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Four Points Charleston and our team looks forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms are spacious and functional albeit a bit dark. Great Southern hospitality by the good folks in West Virginia. My only complaint - and this is now the third time - is the shower never seems to be clean. This time around - errant hairs left in the shower.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLHospitality, Owner at Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Our Four Points by Sheraton Charleston team would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us with your valuable feedback. The shower matter has been reported to the necessary management team members and will be addressed immediately. We love hearing back from our guests and with information like this we can continue to always improve the overall guest experience here. Thank you for your loyalty and for choosing to once again stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this newly remodeled downtown location offers very good views of the river running through downtown chalreston,west virginia. this hotel offers completely remodeled rooms with excptionally clean and modern baths and an up-to-date feel and ambiance. the staff from the front desk, to servers in the restaurant to the driver of the courtesy van, is exceptionally friendly and helpful. the nightly rates for this hotel are very reasonable and they offer many types of rates such as aarp,and aaa auto club

the morning buffet is a treat and the beds and linens are new and very comfortable. this is the only starwood property in west virginia, and is a welcome addition to those travelling to charleston or in need of a very clean, safe, reasonable hotel to stop at when travelling along I77 ...i would highly reccomend this hotel...it is near shopping...many restaurants...and recreation areas, and offers easy access to I 77.

Room Tip: the charleston downtown mall is just three walking blocks from the hotel and offers many types of re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLHospitality, Owner at Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Ken for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Four Points by Sheraton Charleston. Our team truly appreciates your kind words and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Four Points Charleston and we look forward to seeing you again soon the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros:
Convenient to downtown. Parking was easy.

Cons:
On check-in, the bathroom floor was dirty and contained, for example, long black woman's hair. The shower rod fell down with a gentle pull of the curtain. There is no ice machine on even floors. A metal nail protruding from the arm of one of the chairs gashed me twice before I figured out what was going on. Unless I just missed them, there are no outlets by the beds, meaning that if you want to plug something in, you can't have your alarm clock or bed lamp. The A/C unit cycled constantly and was very loud. Do not even think about sleeping in or working from your room: All morning, from 7:30 until at least lunch, the maids allow the large room doors to crash full speed into the deadbolts as they work in and out of the rooms, with the result that every 30 seconds, it sounds like a troll from Harry Potter is trying to tear the hotel down with a sledge hammer. And the fact that there is a 1" gap under the door into the hallway means that every peep of sound from the hall comes into my room (and, I presume, vice versa). Finally, on the night before I am to check out, the elevator to the parking garage is broken. When I attempted to ask if it was going to be fixed by morning, the front desk was unattended. After 5 minutes, someone finally came out of the office and answered my question with a head shake and a scowl. I can only assume that this means that I will have to go walk up to my car, park it out front, go up to my room, get my things, take them down to and place them into my car, and checkout while my things sit unguarded in my car.

Overall, worth $65 or maybe $75 a night, but not what they get.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLHospitality, Owner at Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Our Four Points by Sheraton Charleston team would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us with your valuable feedback. The matters you have addressed have been brought to the attention of the necessary members of our management team. These issues will certainly be corrected immediately. We do apologize as this of course is not up to our standards of guest service.

With information like that of which you have provided us with, we can continue to improve the guest experience at the Four Points Charleston. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 via mobile

Very clean rooms friendly staff shuttle was perfect runs 24/7 only issue was loud AC/ heat unit in room woke me up a few times but overall very nice stay ...........…….........................Did not try the food but it smelled good free water bottle in room was a nice touch

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Becki41101,
We’re glad you had a great stay and experienced attentive service from our friendly team. Thank you for taking the time to share with us, and we hope to host you again for your next Charleston trip. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

The room prices were reasonable. Free parking. Tia at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The views of the river were lovely. So many restaurants and landmarks within walking distance. Only complaint is no free breakfast, but overall, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Charleston

Address: 600 Kanawha Blvd. E., Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Ramada Charleston Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in everything that West Virginia’s capital has to offer at the Four Points by Sheraton Charleston. Our riverfront location provides easy access to the State Capitol, the Charleston Civic Center, the University of Charleston, and the Charleston Town Center shopping mall. Take advantage of our free on-demand shuttle service to and from Yeager Airport (CRW), which is 10 minutes away.Admire beautiful Kanawha River or downtown views from one of our 176 guest rooms and suites. Get plenty of free extras, like High Speed Internet Access, bottled water, and a daily newspaper. Take care of business at the spacious work area with an ergonomic chair, or watch your favorite show on the 42-inch flat screen TV. Get a great night’s sleep in one king-size or double Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds™.We have everything you need for a productive business trip or a fun, active vacation. Stay in touch with the office in our lobby’s open business center. Or swim laps in our new indoor heated swimming pool and work out in the expanded fitness center. Watch the game at the family-friendly Recovery Sports Grill, or head to the quieter lobby lounge for grab-and-go breakfast or an evening cocktail.The Four Points by Sheraton Charleston can host a range of events, with nearly 9,000 square feet of total space. Let our professional planning and catering teams help you stage a successful, memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Downtown Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.