We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel to stay at in Charleston!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Charleston

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Kanawha Blvd. E., Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Ramada Charleston Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best hotel to stay at in Charleston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel for my family reunion stay during Labor Day weekend. I booked this hotel for a few reasons 1. I wanted to see how it had been renovated since it was previously an outdated Holiday Inn 2. It's 5 minutes from my mother's apartment. 3. I'm a Starwood preferred guest and lastly, I got an amazing rate. I walked into the hotel and was immediately impressed! Charleston only has a hand full of hotels and none of them are modern and impeccable as Four Points! I know this because I am from Charleston and have stayed at the major chain hotels. One really good asset of the hotel is an employee named Brian, he was friendly, helpful and full of energy at midnight when we arrived. For being a Starwood guest, he upgraded our room to a suite that faced the boulevard, the room was wonderful! I would suggest this room to other guests--#800 or #804 would be just as good. If I had one thing to complain about, I would say it was the thermostat, it had a mind of it's own. No matter what temperature we chose, it returned to a different temperature leaving us a bit hot since they use a large comforter, plus a down blanket, plus a sheet. Other than the thermostat, it was a very pleasant 2 nights stay, the renovations are awesome! I will probably stay here every time I return home to WV. Keep up the good work Brian, you deserve a raise!...lol

Room Tip: Try to get room 800 or 804
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    24
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
23
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You may find it strange that I would give place 4 stars and tell you to smell the room before buying it. Since the hotel has only been fully non smoking for 8 months, the upper floor rooms still have lingering odors of cigarettes and cigars when only the fan is on in the air conditioning system. The only other little glitch at this property is that not all the front desk employees are up to speed on a new computer system in the hotel. Barbara checked us in and out and was very competent. Be sure to ask for a downtown map at checkin. It would have been helpful to have one at checkin instead of noticing them at checkout. All of that being said, STAY AT THIS HOTEL BECAUSE IT HAS MANY PLUSSES! Clean and lovely rooms, best beds and pillows ever, super shower with great shampoo and conditioner and gel soap dispensers, and soft and thick towels. The room was quiet, but I think the river view rooms are greatly overrated in the other reviews I've read. The view is not that great so don't be upset if you have the city view. It's also $10 cheaper for city view, which brings me to cost. I will stay at this property again )this time 5th floor or below with city view) because it is the best value downtown for the quality. We did not try the restaurant. We looked at Trip Adviser and chose the #1 rated Charleston restaurant, and that's how we met GINA, the extraordinary shuttle driver employed by the Sheraton to transport guests any where in a 5 mile area. She drove us to dinner and gave us her card with the number to call when we wanted to come back. She also drove us to the Capitol Market. She would have taken and picked us up CHEERFULLY anywhere. Seriously, I'm not her relative, but the Sheraton management should give her a bonus! She is a big reason we would return. Competent, pleasant employees and great service can lessen the memory of poor air quality in our room. She helped us remember the plusses of staying at this 4 Points by Sheraton. We definitely will return.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived late, around 10:30pm, and the staff were very welcoming. We travelled with a trailer and had no issues parking in the covered garage.
Room was clean- however very loud air conditioner turns off and on all night. Also if you are in a room facing the river be prepared to hear a freight train throughout the night. We did not sleep well and would try another hotel if we return to Charleston.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very, very clean. Beautiful view overlooking the river. Quiet. Easy access to restaurants, shopping. We would recommend if you are visiting the Charleston area, or just looking for a romantic weekend....This is your hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the beautiful river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Valley, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for a night while passing through West Virginia, staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. Rooms were very clean and spacious. We had a room that over looked the river. We were on the 10th floor, very quiet. Area was accessible to restaurants, shopping and even a great walking path outside the hotel doors. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and this stay was as good as the first. I am a SPG Plat who logs over 100 nights a year in SPG hotels and I can say that the service was top-notch. I was upgraded to a top floor suite, front desk staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, and when I ran into staff around the hotel, all asked me how my day was going. Service like this is what will keep me coming back.

The hotel itself is probably the nicest Four Points that I have stayed at. The lobby has a trendy, cool design and the rooms were well appointed and comfortable. This is definitely not your average Four Points... It's much more.

The only thing I can mention that could use a little improvement is the breakfast service. It was a little slow. When you're in business, you want to get in-and-out pretty quick. In this case, ordering was prompt but it took a while to get our food. A minor inconvenience that did not impact the quality of the stay.

Keep up the good service Four Points... I will be back.

Room Tip: If you want a view, face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got this hotel through an opaque discount site. The hotel is recently-remodeled (2013) and the lobby has that "trendy" look. Check in was fast and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Our room has a river view (well, it's the Kanawha, but what the heck). Computers in the business center worked well, which was important to us. The free wifi was good, too, for my son's iPod. The location is pretty central in downtown Charleston. We had stayed in another Sheraton on our trip and while it was also nice, this one was nicer.

Only minor complaints:
1) $10 charge for parking. Yeah, I know, it's out of the hotel's control, but I still hate the extra charge.
2) Double beds instead of queen beds. When you have larger beds at home you tend to feel cramped in the doubles. Please get with the program like other hotels and put queen-sized beds in the rooms. Maybe it's a Sheraton thing?

Room Tip: If you use an opaque site but are traveling with kids, make sure you call ahead to specify the type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Charleston

Address: 600 Kanawha Blvd. E., Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Ramada Charleston Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Charleston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in everything that West Virginia’s capital has to offer at the Four Points by Sheraton Charleston. Our riverfront location provides easy access to the State Capitol, the Charleston Civic Center, the University of Charleston, and the Charleston Town Center shopping mall. Take advantage of our free on-demand shuttle service to and from Yeager Airport (CRW), which is 10 minutes away.Admire beautiful Kanawha River or downtown views from one of our 176 guest rooms and suites. Get plenty of free extras, like High Speed Internet Access, bottled water, and a daily newspaper. Take care of business at the spacious work area with an ergonomic chair, or watch your favorite show on the 42-inch flat screen TV. Get a great night’s sleep in one king-size or double Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds™.We have everything you need for a productive business trip or a fun, active vacation. Stay in touch with the office in our lobby’s open business center. Or swim laps in our new indoor heated swimming pool and work out in the expanded fitness center. Watch the game at the family-friendly Recovery Sports Grill, or head to the quieter lobby lounge for grab-and-go breakfast or an evening cocktail.The Four Points by Sheraton Charleston can host a range of events, with nearly 9,000 square feet of total space. Let our professional planning and catering teams help you stage a successful, memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Downtown Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.