We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Clean! Great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Charleston to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Kanawha Blvd. E., Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Ramada Charleston Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent! Clean! Great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel had to be one of the best I've stayed in. I am a rewards member and I was able to book this the same day of arrival with a website promotional price of $89 for a Saturday night in July. We arrived at the hotel and was greeted by the desk clerk with a very friendly hand shake. The clerk was super! Our room was on the 9th floor ( I think) and it was really clean. The decor was up to date and modern. The beds were really comfortable. The view was beautiful overlooking the river. The only thing bad was the parking. There's no clear view of where to park if the hotel front parking lot is full. I thought my husband got lost when he dropped me off and I stood in the lobby waiting, wondering what happened to him. He said he had to park in the garage somewhere behind the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Amy D,
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and liked our modern and comfortable guest rooms in addition to receiving excellent service from our staff. We apologize for the confusion with parking as we should have had someone to direct where to go. Rest assured, we have shared this with our team to ensure our guests are aware of where to park prior to arriving to our hotel. Thank you again for sharing with us, and we hope you had a wonderful stay in Charleston. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    34
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
31
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My company and I go to Charleston, WV once every two to three months. I have tried a lot of the hotels in the area, and to be quiet honest, this is my favorite for several reasons. It is extremely clean, smells excellent, and the staff is talkative and courteous. The rooms are absolutely the best rooms I have ever stayed in on a business trip. The cleaning staff is amazing and they even put things away for you, how cool is that?! The beds were extremely comfy, firm, with a pillow top cover. TV had literally EVERY channel. The bathrooms were pretty standard but it is the bathroom.

My room had a "living" area in it as well with a pull out couch, second TV, computer desk, and a small kitchen area.

I haven't stayed at any "5 Star" hotels before, but this one is what I would consider to be an affordable, luxurious, "5 Star" hotel in my opinion.

Room Tip: The corner suites on floors 4 and 5 (specifically 427 and 527) are in my opinion the best ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

A beautiful property with such great views. The room was really nice and very clean. The staff was great and we enjoyed our 1 night there. Too bad we could only stay 1 night. We would love to go back and stay longer and explore more. Thanks for a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Lois L,
One way to make a short stay better is to come back! We are so happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us, liked our clean and comfortable guest rooms, and interacted with our welcoming team. Thank you for your kind review, and we hope to see you again. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockland county, ny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We decided to pass through Charleston on our long, slow loop back to NY from New Orleans. Am I ever glad we found this recently-refurbished Four Points online!

The place is simply gorgeous--super clean, super sleekly modern in a zen and restful way, great front desk, terrific bed, and a very spacious suite for not too many dollars. I walked and swam instead of working out, so I can't judge the quality of the gym, but it looked terrific. And the pool was one of the best hotel pools I've ever been in--not too cold, and not too chlorinated. And in a rare stroke of luck, no seven-year-olds playing Marco Polo.

The few blocks around the hotel are pleasant to walk in. There's a good Japanese place a couple of blocks away and a simply outstanding homemade ice cream parlor. I broke down and had a small bowl, and I'm glad, I tell you--glad! Directly across from the hotel is a stage and bleachers for outdoor music, and a lovely place to walk along the river.

We didn't have a river view room, alas--the king-sized ones were not to be had tonight. But even the ones with the view of the parking garage are pretty, and laid out so as to make the most of the wee view they do enjoy.

Water pressure in shower is good. There's an amusing set-up of dispensers for soap and shampoo in the tub. Can't find a thing to complain about. This place would send me back through Charleston if I were driving through the state. Grab a room!

Room Tip: I hear that the river view rooms can be loud if there's a show going on across the street. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is nicely situated on the Kanawha River and within walking distance of some nice restaurants. We were greeted in the parking lot by a lovely sprite who declared herself our hotel parking ambassador and showed us where to park (in the garage) and headed us toward the check-in area. When we checked in the clerk seemed overwhelmed at having a line of 3 parties at once. When we asked for restaurant recommendations we were handed a map of the area which was blurred and unreadable plus it did not show the location of the hotel on the map. Bartender Marina came to our rescue with not only directions but a few good recommendations. The river view from our room was a pleasant surprise as was the room itself. The room was clean and quiet. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The folks at the front desk were helpful. Stayed to see a concert a mile or two away. Front desk does double duty as a shuttle service. They dropped us off when we were ready to roll and picked us up at the venue for the trip back in record time. I think the exact conversation for the trip back went like this:
Me: "Yo... Its us. We ready"
Front desk: " On our way holmes"
Me: " We are the dudes at the thing"
Front desk: " We know"

10 mins later we were back at the hotel...

The sports bar in the back of this place was also top notch. And at 1 a.m. they have the greatest chocolate cake ever.... Ever... For real... Ever

If you need a place downtown choose this one. Trust me on this

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a great experience here. The room was clean, very nice, quite, and great view of river! Staff was very nice - one very nice staff person would not accept a tip for help! Downtown Charleston was charming. We will be staying there again on our way home.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Charleston

Address: 600 Kanawha Blvd. E., Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Ramada Charleston Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in everything that West Virginia’s capital has to offer at the Four Points by Sheraton Charleston. Our riverfront location provides easy access to the State Capitol, the Charleston Civic Center, the University of Charleston, and the Charleston Town Center shopping mall. Take advantage of our free on-demand shuttle service to and from Yeager Airport (CRW), which is 10 minutes away.Admire beautiful Kanawha River or downtown views from one of our 176 guest rooms and suites. Get plenty of free extras, like High Speed Internet Access, bottled water, and a daily newspaper. Take care of business at the spacious work area with an ergonomic chair, or watch your favorite show on the 42-inch flat screen TV. Get a great night’s sleep in one king-size or double Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds™.We have everything you need for a productive business trip or a fun, active vacation. Stay in touch with the office in our lobby’s open business center. Or swim laps in our new indoor heated swimming pool and work out in the expanded fitness center. Watch the game at the family-friendly Recovery Sports Grill, or head to the quieter lobby lounge for grab-and-go breakfast or an evening cocktail.The Four Points by Sheraton Charleston can host a range of events, with nearly 9,000 square feet of total space. Let our professional planning and catering teams help you stage a successful, memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Downtown Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.