We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel experience we had in awhile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Charleston to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
dc metro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best hotel experience we had in awhile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We always go to the Charleston/Ripley area during Thanksgiving week. Hubby goes hunting with family and the boys and I need to find things to do. We found a great deal at the Embassy Suites Charleston and decided to try it out. We LOVED it. The room was nice and comfortable. The breakfast was amazing! We were truly shocked at the breakfast. The manager's reception in the evening was nice as well (not a meal- popcorn, nuts, etc and practically a full bar). The pool is pretty small, but worked for us, especially since we were able to go in the middle of the day. It is right next to the mall and not far from a Children's Museum that my kids enjoyed. We will be making this our "regular" place to stay from now on when we go to the area. Staff was very nice and quick to address any issues.
You do have to pay to use internet in your room and for parking. Apparantly you have to pay just to park in the mall parking as well (and the museum), so parking must be an issue for the whole city.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    135
    62
    35
    20
See reviews for
117
61
24
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

This stay wasn't horrible, but there are too many negatives to outweigh the positives. As a Hilton Diamond member I have a chance to visit many Embassy properties during the year and this one is not up to the standards of others. First of all I waited 10 minutes to check-in at the front desk. What was so irritating is the fact that two managers dressed in business attire saw the line of guests waiting and decided to walk by ignoring the fact they needed more coverage at the front desk. The clerk was friendly enough, but it just took entirely too long. Parking is $9 and a total nightmare. Not only do you have to pay for it, but depending on how full the garage is, you have to pay the money to hike quite a distance to the hotel. When you get to the room it's a disappointment, very dated interior, old style TV's which are small and the furniture is old and bordering on gross. The chairs around the table were all shaky when you sat down. I'm not a large guy, but the one chair almost collapsed when I sat down. The bathroom was OK, but the tub/shower was very old and showed some mildew in the corners. That's always my test to see how clean things are.......if a hotel (even an older one) can keep the shower clean chances are everything else is pretty good, but this hotel failed that test. Finally, the internet is EXTREMELY slow and you have to pay $9.95. So slow it took several minutes to load basic webpages at peak hours. They need a major upgrade on their wireless internet.

A few positives, the manager's reception and the free breakfast were both great and there are several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (Outback, Chilis, a seafood grill and a steak chophouse). The mall is right next door and easily reached from the hotel.

Overall it wasn't the worst stay I've ever had, but I'd definitely pick somewhere else when I return to Charleston. Or at least until this hotel undergoes some major upgrades.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had stayed at this hotel one prior trip and wanted to try again. Check in was quick and easy, they had all the paperwork done and handed us our keys. We were on an upper floor and close (but not too close) to the elevator. The rooms are suites with a living room and separate bedroom. We had a king size bed room, facing the main street but it was very quiet in the room. The living room had a sleeper sofa, chair and coffee table, a small square table with 2 chairs, large TV small frig, coffee maker and wet bar type set-up. Bathroom was large with everything needed, would have been nice to have a second sink but had lots of counter space. Plenty of towels were provided.
Bed was very comfortable and after a long day of work and then driving 5+ hours, we were ready to get some rest. There is a small closet (which stores the ironing board/iron), a small dresser with a TV on top and an night stand with lamp on each side of the bed. There was an alarm clock although they also offered wake-up calls.
The BEST thing about his hotel is their wonderful breakfast. They have juice, soda, coffee and milk to drink and then you get to the made to order omelet station. One lady was running it the first morning we were there and she was awesome. The offer about a dozen different fillings and you pick what you want/how you want it and she serves it up in a very efficient manner. She also does cooked to order eggs and pancakes. In addition to the omelet bar, there was a hot bar area with scrambled eggs, hash brown potatoes, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, grits and oatmeal. On the cold bar they had an assortment of yogurts and cut-up fruit. Dry cereal was also available as well as a pastry area with bagels, bread for toasting, english muffins and danishes. Think there were a couple more things offered but can't remember off hand. Everything was wonderful.
They also have an evening manager's reception but we never got to attend. WILL do it next time we stay at this hotel.
There is a swimming pool, sports bar and restaurant on site. Plus you are right in the middle of town so everything is just a short walk away.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Parking is in Town Center Parking Garage at $9 per night, they charge $.95 for local calls, $9.95 for 24 hrs internet, poor maid service. Only thing good was their breakfast. I'll stay at the Hampton Inn next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

After traveling from PA, we decided to stop for the night, never staying at an Embassy I was very dissapointed. Nice area, easy access, staff was wonderful; which makes it a shame that the hotel needs $$$ put into it.

The room our teens got, had not been cleaned, toilet was completely dirty. They did give them another room and a free movie rental.

When you walk in the rooms you are greeted with a very old floor model case TV with a new tv in it...The sofas are old and smell old. The carpet is old and smelled as if it needed cleaning... The bathroom tub/shower is old and worn down. I dont' know how old the bed was, but it was comfortable and clean.

It is a shame Embassy remodel this hotel. It was full of families and everyone seemed happy that was there. We were ready to leave, you get what you pay for, the cost was around $100.00 a night. Maybe that is why they have not remodeled.

The breakfast was free and wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI,NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Recently stayed at this hotel while on business. The hotel is clean, well maintained and the staff was polite and attentive. The managers reception and free breakfast were great. Nice pool and great gym. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Let me start by saying the hotel is gorgeous. The seating area in the center is great, staff is very pleasant, and well...it just looks amazing. The rooms are suite style, but I was surprised the TVs weren't flat screen, instead they were rather small.

The walls are thin, I could hear my neighbor's TV through the wall.

It's a typical Hilton in that it's overpriced and they charge for EVERYTHING!! Internet? $10 Parking? $9.

If you're leaving early, park down the street at a meter (you have to pay Monday - Saturday 8am-6pm) they usually ticket around 9:30am, or park at the Town Center ($1.75 all day).

Rooms will run you more than $100 a night.

Word of caution: WATCH YOUR BILL CLOSELY!!!! If you stay Sunday-Thursday night you MUST decline USA Today in person or get charged $.75 for it. Also, if you decline parking, double check with the desk during check out. I declined it twice and STILL got charged for it, even though I never used it!!

As another reviewer noted there are a lot of kids here. I supposed many parents look at this as a decent value since it is suite style, but many of these kids run amok through the hotel. If you hate kids, which I don't, you may not be happy here.

Breakfast was great and free. Cooked to order omelets and pancakes or go for the buffet. There's also a "manager's reception" from 5:30-7:30 with some snacks and free drinks.

Even so, I'd never stay here again. I don't like being nickel and dimed for things, especially when it already costs so much. The hotel subscribes to Priceline, so you may be able to get your room for cheap by naming your own price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.