We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Remodeling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi Package
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Needs Remodeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

After traveling from PA, we decided to stop for the night, never staying at an Embassy I was very dissapointed. Nice area, easy access, staff was wonderful; which makes it a shame that the hotel needs $$$ put into it.

The room our teens got, had not been cleaned, toilet was completely dirty. They did give them another room and a free movie rental.

When you walk in the rooms you are greeted with a very old floor model case TV with a new tv in it...The sofas are old and smell old. The carpet is old and smelled as if it needed cleaning... The bathroom tub/shower is old and worn down. I dont' know how old the bed was, but it was comfortable and clean.

It is a shame Embassy remodel this hotel. It was full of families and everyone seemed happy that was there. We were ready to leave, you get what you pay for, the cost was around $100.00 a night. Maybe that is why they have not remodeled.

The breakfast was free and wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    115
    53
    33
    19
See reviews for
107
52
22
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LI,NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Recently stayed at this hotel while on business. The hotel is clean, well maintained and the staff was polite and attentive. The managers reception and free breakfast were great. Nice pool and great gym. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Let me start by saying the hotel is gorgeous. The seating area in the center is great, staff is very pleasant, and well...it just looks amazing. The rooms are suite style, but I was surprised the TVs weren't flat screen, instead they were rather small.

The walls are thin, I could hear my neighbor's TV through the wall.

It's a typical Hilton in that it's overpriced and they charge for EVERYTHING!! Internet? $10 Parking? $9.

If you're leaving early, park down the street at a meter (you have to pay Monday - Saturday 8am-6pm) they usually ticket around 9:30am, or park at the Town Center ($1.75 all day).

Rooms will run you more than $100 a night.

Word of caution: WATCH YOUR BILL CLOSELY!!!! If you stay Sunday-Thursday night you MUST decline USA Today in person or get charged $.75 for it. Also, if you decline parking, double check with the desk during check out. I declined it twice and STILL got charged for it, even though I never used it!!

As another reviewer noted there are a lot of kids here. I supposed many parents look at this as a decent value since it is suite style, but many of these kids run amok through the hotel. If you hate kids, which I don't, you may not be happy here.

Breakfast was great and free. Cooked to order omelets and pancakes or go for the buffet. There's also a "manager's reception" from 5:30-7:30 with some snacks and free drinks.

Even so, I'd never stay here again. I don't like being nickel and dimed for things, especially when it already costs so much. The hotel subscribes to Priceline, so you may be able to get your room for cheap by naming your own price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

The Good:
-Parking is plentiful in the garage
-The atrium is very welcoming and something I wouldn't expect in Charleston
-Public areas of the hotel were top-notch
-Free breakfast
-The cooked to order part of the breakfast was delicious
-The suite was large with a living room area and a bedroom
-The room seemed clean
-The bed was extremely comfortable
-Elevators were fast and I never waited more than 15 seconds for one

The Bad:
-If you have a lot of bags, it can be a hike from the parking garage to the front desk
-Parking is $9 a night
-The atrium comes at the cost of the noise it creates that can be heard quite clearly in the living area of the suite
-Carpet outside of suites needed replaced
-The buffet part of the breakfast was pretty lousy
-The lines for breakfast were long (we stayed on a Saturday night)
-Internet was not free
-The suite was in need of a renovation as the furniture and overall decor made it feel like I was stuck in the 1990's (This would be my biggest complaint)

Overall, I would stay here again because it actually was nice. All of the negatives I can overlook because they really are just picky things. Through Priceline I only paid a fraction of the $139 rate they were asking on their website, so I shouldn't be complaining.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

The lobby is nice, but that is about it... The room we stayed in had hair and stains on the bathroom floor, looks like the grout had never been cleaned, was actually black in many places. The water glasses had not been run through a dishwasher but rather washed down with what looked like a rag(left cotton particles inside the glass)! There were stains on the carpet, furniture needed much updating. One member of the staff was cordial, she was a bartender. The rest, ecspecially the front desk staff ,certainly needed some training in customer service, many were downright rude. The sauna had chewed bubble gum stuck to the floor and many particles of food on the floor. I felt as if this hotel needed a major cleaning overhaul as I was sickened by their cleanliness standards. We will never stay at this hotel again, but rather try the Marriott. I wish I would have only listened to the other negative reviews prior to staying here...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Breakfast Great -Made to order omelets & hot foods
Room was new and clean - very quiet for the middle of town.
Great location - civic ctr & mall across the street

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We have stayed at other Embassy Suites and loved them, but this hotel was filthy. Even accounting for New Years Eve parties, the dirt was more than one year thick. The air vents are covered in dust and the shower has mold growing in it. Dust and dirt everywhere. This was our first stay in Charleston. If we ever return it will not be here!

Also, be wary of their reservation rules. We arrived before the rest of our family, and because the reservation was made as a group, we had to pay cash up front for the room (could not swipe the card the reservation was made under). Was not expecting the additional "deposit" required for a cash payment either.

  • Liked — Walking distance to Mall for shopping and dining
  • Disliked — Rude front desk and dirty accomidations
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmCharleston_WV, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, February 21, 2009
Good Afternoon,

I had an opportunity to review your posting back in January following your stay at our Hotel on what appears to be NYE. I thank you for your comments and will share with our staff your thoughts of cleanliness while a guest of our hotel. The entire Hotel was full due to the festivities and while the majority of our customers expressed a high level of satisfaction, we apologize if your experience was less that satisfactory. Should your travel plans bring you back to the Charleston area in the future, we hope you will provide us with another opportunity to demonstrate our hospitality. Thank you for taking time to advise us of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Charleston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.