We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greate place to relax on a business trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Charleston to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi Package
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Greate place to relax on a business trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was my first trip in years to Charleston. Embassy suites is one of my favorite places to stay when on business. The mangers reception in the evening is nice and it cut down on your liquer bill. and the cook to order breakfast helps with the expenses. Besides that It just a nice place to relax. This Embassy is clean and well managed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    126
    59
    35
    19
See reviews for
112
59
24
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Commerce, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel was clean and neat the staff was great, but the restaurant attached to the hotel is awful. The food is less than sub par and the wait staff is just plain horrible. It is a good thing the hotel is in downtown Charleston so there are many other places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I apologize for the poor experience you received in the restaurant. We will discuss your comments with the management team. We do hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The décor was nice and the staff was friendly, but please do not eat at the restaurant and check your bathroom for mold/mildew!!!! In the restaurant it took 10 minutes to be seated and then another 25 to get a drink!! It's not like they were busy...Only 5 tables were seated when we arrived and 3 left while we were waiting on drinks! When appetizer arrived it was terrible! How can you mess up potato skins?!?!?!? The top of the cheese was melted, but under that the other cheese had not melted but it was hard! After that I told them to cancel the remainder of our order. Take my advice, just stay in your room and order pizza or eat at the Outback across the street. Definitely will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and do apologize for any inconveniences. We will discuss the issues you addressed with the management team and make the necessary adjustments. I hope you do decide to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Embassy Suites, Charleston, WV - A great hotel, conveniently located in downtown Charleston. Easy walking distance to many amenities. The food is excellent and the evening reception is a great added feature to the visit. If your planning an event - they take all the worry out of the planning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We will be sure to share with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I am very understanding when it comes to customer service but this hotel was below even my standards. My fiancé and I arrived very late (12:30am) and being our first time at an Embassy we did not know what to expect. It took about 10 min for someone to come out to the desk to check us in. This gentleman was rather nice, but did not give us any information about the hotel. We tried our best to find our (nonsmoking room) which had ash trays in it. He was very good at switching room and the next one was much better. The room was decent but was a little out of date. The bathroom has been remodeled but I did not enjoy the open shower. Water seemed to go everywhere. I was disappointed in no complementary Wi-Fi but for one night it was ok. I also was not happy with the $12 charge for parking. I have stayed at hotels in downtown Miami that had complementary self parking. To sum it up- it is okay for an overnight stay if needed but not my first pick.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and please rest assured efforts have been put into place to ensure this level of service does not occur again. Should your travels bring you back to the area, I hope you will give our Hotel another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was very pleased. I have stayed in this hotel a couple times and I am always very pleased. I love the big suites with the LR and separated bedroom. Very clean. I will continue to stay at this hotel on business trips to Charleston and I will look for Embassy Suites in other areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We will be sure to share with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimball, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great place to stay. Very beautiful. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was great! Drinks were Great! And location was excellent for shopping, being right across the highway from the mall. Parking was 12 dollars a day but the garage was close to the hotel so the walk was not bad. Amenities were excellent for a hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.