We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but sloppy service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Charleston to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean but sloppy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel was clean and decorated pretty nicely for a lower-budget hotel, and it was definitely in a good location (close to shopping area, right across from a JC Penney). The room was also quite large. The biggest problem is the service:
Housekeeping didn't visit/make up my room after my first night
I ordered food--pizza and a bottle of wine. The pizza was good, though since it look about 5 minutes I'm guessing they just heated it up. The wine came in a Bud Light bucket filled with ice and was plopped down on the table with a bottle opener inside it. They said to leave the pizza box outside the door when I was ready - in the morning they still hadn't picked it up. They also marked it up outrageously high--my wine, which retails for about $15 a bottle, was $38. I know it's common practice to mark wine up, but that was excessive. Note that they also add a 18 or 20% tip (don't remember which) and a $2 delivery fee.
Also limited in terms of room service times - no breakfast, and they don't have food available all night (until 9 or 10pm I think?)
Note that there is no laundry service, though they do apparently have coin-operated machines.
I dealt with the same person at the front desk each time, when I checked in and checked out. Not very friendly and didn't know the area (I needed to get somewhere in the morning and asked if it was close and she wasn't sure). However, when I called down to reception in the evening I got someone else and she was very pleasant.
Overall - I wouldn't stay here for pleasure, but I was fine staying here for a short time.

Room Tip: Try to get on a higher floor. All of the rooms face an open area looking down into the lobby (if tha...
See more room tips
Green Features: It appears to be relatively environmentally-friendly--they have the not-uncommon card telling you to leave towels hung up if you don't want them washed. Other than that, I didn't notice anything especially environmentally friendly, I don't think.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I was glad to read from your review that you found our location to be convenient and that you enjoyed your large room. However, I understand that you were not satisfied with the service that was provided for you. I truly regret that you had a disappointing experience with us and that you found some of our staff members to be inattentive towards you. I sincerely apologize for this. I was both surprised and deeply disappointed by your recount of your experience with us. I assure you that it’s contrary to what our customers typically see from us.

Again, I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope that next time you are in town, you give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    134
    62
    35
    20
See reviews for
117
61
24
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel was beautifully decorated, clean, friendly, and easy to access. There are many amenities there that we were, unfortunately, unable to use due to the brevity of our stay. The complimentary breakfast was delicious! The dining area was clean and well tended. I also appreciated being allowed to fill my travel mug with coffee before leaving.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All comments are welcome and help us improve. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Overall stay was very good. Some minor issues with housekeeping which were resolved. Location is easily accessible to Town Center shopping mall and restaurants are within walking distance. Plenty of parking in garage. Continental breakfast is excellent. Good coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your review we will be happy to share your comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The decorations were lovely, the staff was great, the city was easy to move around in. I love the breakfast and Managers reception. Such a good idea, a fun way to get out of your room and meet new friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments we will be sure to share with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

must have been short staffed - room not cleaned, service slow or not at all for housekeeping - other services were good. good location but the charge for parking is high in my opinion. Breakfast was good - no USA Today paper delivered

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you did not get the services you expected and deserve. We did let most of our staff go early to spend time with their family however that is no excuse for not meeting your needs. We do hope you will return to see that we are capable of the servicse you have come to expect for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I loved this hotel. It was my first time in Charleston. My flight was delayed multiple times. When I called the hotel, they came right away to pick me up from the airport. My driver, Butch, gave me a great history lesson of the city and pointed out the sites as we drove to the hotel. When I arrived, staff went out of their way to meet my needs. The evening reception and morning breakfast were phenomenal. This is a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for the review will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass, WV
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here for a state meeting and was tired when I arrived. I had about a four hour drive and was ready to kick back and relax, before participating in the meeting the next morning. I had a very relaxing evening and I loved the walk in shower in the bathroom, which was just what I needed after the long ride. The bed was very comfortable and I got a wonderful night of restful sleep. The meals that I had while I was there were excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling for business or pleasure. The staff were excellent as well and made me feel welcome. The Happy Hour is a plus too, with free drinks and snacks.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are very comfortable and have been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to send us your comments we will be sure to share with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.