We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally pleased with my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi Package
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally pleased with my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice suites, free breakfast n managers evening, next to Charleston shopping mall.I would really appreciate if they had a walkway passage or covered link between the parking and hotel because in our 3 day stay it was raining most of the time and with two kids I have to walk in rain every time to get the car or go back to hotel.For future renovations they should keep this in mind, overall we had a nice stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write a comment we will be sure to share with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    119
    53
    34
    19
See reviews for
111
54
22
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed at this location twice in July.

2nd stay was far from what I expected from this brand. Cigarette burns on the Couch(hidden by cushion) Out of Date Items in Gift basket in the room.

Wake up call never given. Luckily, the agent at Delta was able to get me on stand by and I was able to catch the next flight out.

In house restaurant left a lot to be desired on flavor and less hair in the food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed at this conveniently located hotel one weekend a year, every year for several years and hope to continue. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, the staff is always pleasant and the surroundings are restful and pleasing. The breakfast buffet is very good and the evening cocktail hour is acceptable. The desk is very responsive to any requests, complaints, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT PETERSBURG
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Large 2 room suite, great place to stay for business or pleasure. Room rate includes a wonderful breakfast buffet and manager's happy hour. The gift shop was closed but staff were able to accommodate requests for extra amenities. Business center is convenient and easy to use if you need to print a few documents. When making reservation, requested a quiet room. Was at the end of the hallway, perfect location. Couldn't hear anything from the lobby or any other guest room. Room was perfect for business traveler, lots of outlets, good lighting. Comfortable bed. Large vanity in bathroom. Single serve coffee maker in room, also microwave and mini-fridge. Would definitely return. They have a shuttle to and from the airport so no need to take a cab!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I were treated incredibly rude by the bar tender on the evening of Oct 26. We had dinner at The Chop House, but wanted to bring our dessert back to the hotel in order to have a few drinks at the bar. The bar tender berated us multiple times for eating an outside dessert at the bar, although we were ordering multiple drinks. She accused us of "taking McDonalds to Outback". She did this over and over again, even after we tried to explain and apologize. She even went so far as to over charge me for my drinks, by charging me for doubles when I only ordered singles. I brought this to the hotel management's attention and to my knowledge, nothing was done. Also, the next morning, my bill remained unchanged. This is the worse service experience I have ever had at any Hilton property in all my travels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a very comfortable, pleasant hotel that is conveniently located in a nice area near the riverfront in downtown Charleston. The breakfast buffet has an excellent selection of cold and hot foods (including made-to-order omelets), the evening happy hour provides free wine, beer, and specialty drinks in a relaxing atmosphere, rooms are comfortable, hotel staff are pleasant, and parking is plentiful (though $12/day). Really, there is nothing not to like! Well, the pillows were a little lumpy, but given that this was the "worst" of the stay, I would rate the hotel as overall "excellent," especially given that favorable rates are often available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My daughter and I arrived around 9pm to check in on a Friday night in August. I was lucky enough to find the last parking space available out front when I arrived. When checking in at the very different almost casino table style check in desks (which I think is brilliant by the way) there were two different sets of bridesmaids and brides checking in. They had coolers in tow and were very loud. I looked at the gal checking us in and said," I am not here for a wedding, we would just like to get a good night's sleep because we are back on the road early in the morning. Is it possible to not be near any of them?" She smiled and said, "I don't think that will be a problem at all." We were put on a very high floor in a corner room (right next to some sort of luxury suite). The room was nicely appointed, like any Embassy Suites. The bedroom seemed a little damp when we walked in. During the night when we had the airconditioning unit on the vent above the bedroom door was dripping condensation and with the air blowing it actually blew water droplets onto the bed. The vent cover was rusting so condensation on it must be an issue. I am a light sleeper but could hear the airconditioning unit for the hotel all the way down on the ground. Plus the police/ambulance noise from the street. Maybe staying on the other side of hotel would have been quieter? But then again, I saw the bridesmaides going into rooms on that side so I was fine with the airconditioning unit. Breakfast was fine the next morning. When checking out I mentioned the condensation/dampness in the bedroom. I asked when Embassy Suites started to allow pets. The lady said "We don't allow pets anymore". I mentioned that the back of the bedroom door had been chewed and clawed by a dog. The corner of the door had been eaten and almost a square foot of the door at the corner had been clawed and chewed. Obviously someone snuck in a dog and then left it in the room for some period of time. She said she had an idea of who that was. She took the $12 parking fee off my bill for the condensation inconvenience and thanked me for telling her about the dog damage on the door. When the door is held open you can't see it. We closed the door at night to add a buffer to the lobby/hallway noise and noticed it. We would stay here again when traveling through Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Charleston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.