We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free drinks, free breakfast, comfortable rooms, nice staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi Package
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Free drinks, free breakfast, comfortable rooms, nice staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a very comfortable, pleasant hotel that is conveniently located in a nice area near the riverfront in downtown Charleston. The breakfast buffet has an excellent selection of cold and hot foods (including made-to-order omelets), the evening happy hour provides free wine, beer, and specialty drinks in a relaxing atmosphere, rooms are comfortable, hotel staff are pleasant, and parking is plentiful (though $12/day). Really, there is nothing not to like! Well, the pillows were a little lumpy, but given that this was the "worst" of the stay, I would rate the hotel as overall "excellent," especially given that favorable rates are often available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    120
    53
    34
    19
See reviews for
111
55
22
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh,NC
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My daughter and I arrived around 9pm to check in on a Friday night in August. I was lucky enough to find the last parking space available out front when I arrived. When checking in at the very different almost casino table style check in desks (which I think is brilliant by the way) there were two different sets of bridesmaids and brides checking in. They had coolers in tow and were very loud. I looked at the gal checking us in and said," I am not here for a wedding, we would just like to get a good night's sleep because we are back on the road early in the morning. Is it possible to not be near any of them?" She smiled and said, "I don't think that will be a problem at all." We were put on a very high floor in a corner room (right next to some sort of luxury suite). The room was nicely appointed, like any Embassy Suites. The bedroom seemed a little damp when we walked in. During the night when we had the airconditioning unit on the vent above the bedroom door was dripping condensation and with the air blowing it actually blew water droplets onto the bed. The vent cover was rusting so condensation on it must be an issue. I am a light sleeper but could hear the airconditioning unit for the hotel all the way down on the ground. Plus the police/ambulance noise from the street. Maybe staying on the other side of hotel would have been quieter? But then again, I saw the bridesmaides going into rooms on that side so I was fine with the airconditioning unit. Breakfast was fine the next morning. When checking out I mentioned the condensation/dampness in the bedroom. I asked when Embassy Suites started to allow pets. The lady said "We don't allow pets anymore". I mentioned that the back of the bedroom door had been chewed and clawed by a dog. The corner of the door had been eaten and almost a square foot of the door at the corner had been clawed and chewed. Obviously someone snuck in a dog and then left it in the room for some period of time. She said she had an idea of who that was. She took the $12 parking fee off my bill for the condensation inconvenience and thanked me for telling her about the dog damage on the door. When the door is held open you can't see it. We closed the door at night to add a buffer to the lobby/hallway noise and noticed it. We would stay here again when traveling through Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

this hotel has truly the best staff . everyone was cheery and helpful. the shuttle bus driver offered to ferry us to the state capital so we would not miss our daughter's swearing in, to the maid who came and brought us ice when she noticed the ice machine was not working well to the gentleman singing while he was cleaning tables at the manager's reception. the staff is truly attuned to the guest's needs . there were middle school guests, so the manager opened the soda and juice bar so these young guests could share in the reception.

the morning breakfast bar is wonderful. the hot made to order omelets are amazing.

however, the coffee is truly horrible. dish water would be better. please change your coffee service or open a coffee bar with an outside vendor supplying the coffee. the pool while very nice, has far too much chlorine (bathing suit was striped of colour after one visit). lastly, could you fix the windows so they would at least open a crack to allow for fresh air in the room?

have stayed here many times over the years, and will do so in the future.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, PA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were in town for a wedding/ only stayed 1 night this time but this place is very nice/ has great amenities and is right across from the mall! We love the complimentary breakfast/ the chefs do an awesome omelet. Nice sports bar too along with an adequate fitness center/ indoor pool. Only complaint is with parking they charge you $12 a night to self park in a lot adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, West Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was here for a weeklong conference and I was very impressed. The room was great and the refreshments during the breaks were very good also. I did not eat any meals here other than the complimentary breakfast which I was very impressed with. The omelets made to order were quire good and the chef was very friendly. Some of the other service people working in the breakfast are were not quite as friendly, but overall I was very impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladson, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A very pretty and pleasant place to stay. Service and accommodation were extremely good. The only headache I had was with parking make sure you have your key with you. Plus it is a good walk from were you can park the car in the parking garage and the entrance. Our view of the city was great. Price for a two rm. suite was very reasonable. We had a great stay and plan on going back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I visited Charleston for four nights in late September/early October and stayed at the Embassy Suites. Accommodations were perfect,; breakfasts a treasured part of my day; the amenities thoroughly enjoyable, and the daily Manager's Reception provided a great opportunity to mingle and enjoy the place. It's more than a place to sleep at night, and great for business, vacations, families or anyone in need of a superb place to stay. And by the way, the food in their restaurant is out of this world! If you're going to Charleston, don't even think of booking anywhere else.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms, in the corners of the hotel are larger, and more spacious. Dreamy beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We will be sure to share with the staff and managers to continue to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Charleston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.