We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problem with room 431” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi Package
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Problem with room 431”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here one night. Room was not at all up to Embassy standards: mold on outside wall, torn wallpaper, mold on shower curtain, empty water bottle and trash on side of bed, stain in toilet. Yuck! Housekeeping really failed. With all these problems we could see, I wonder what else was there that we couldn't detect?? Would have requested room change but didn't discover all these flaws until next morning. Complained to management and immediately received discount, no questions asked. Other than our crappy room, everything else was fine. Hotel is lovely and very conveniently located near civic center. There is a mall across the street with plenty of dining options, both casual and more formal. Breakfast included hot food buffet and omelet station. I would stay here again, but only after thoroughly checking my room upon check-in, and only because management responded to our complaints in a positive way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    124
    54
    35
    19
See reviews for
111
57
23
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wheeling, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Love staying here. I travel alone and as a woman I like to have a place where I feel safe and secure when I stay. I always feel safe at the Embassy plus a feel pampered when I stay here. Whenever I travel if I am able to secure the government rate, I stay at an Embassy Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is the second time in a week my wife and I have stayed at the Embassy Suites in Charleston, South Carolina on Meeting street. First, the hotel is in the historic district of old Charleston. I believe it is situated on the site of the old Citadel academy. As you enter the main lobby area, the beauty of the building hits you immediately. Tall ceilings invite you as cool air envelopes you from the searing outside heat and humidity. There is a beautiful center court and fountain with all rooms located on four levels above the courtyard. The Embassy Suite rooms are famous for their expansive, two-room suites. Quite nice to come home to after lengthy walks around the historic district of Charleston. Restaurants are located nearby but my favorite was Virginia"s on King street with the best Country fried steak I have ever tasted. Enterprise rent a car is just down the street and we used their service to visit Savannah, Georgia for the day.
Great location, great helpful staff and outstanding made-to-order breakfast.

Room Tip: There is some destruction going on at the back of the property right now but otherwise very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I am an Embassy Suites fan and have been for a long time. I disliked this Embassy Suites so much that I canceled both of my upcoming reservations. In my opinion, the hotel is outdated and felt dirty. My room was changed 4 times upon arrival. I am very sensitive to cigarette smoke. I was placed in non-smoking rooms that had clearly been smoked in at some time or another. The staff tried to be accommodating as they could. Parking is an issue as well. Skip it if you can. Expensive for the room quality. Breakfast buffet food was terrible! Food in the warmer was cold - and I was the first in line on one morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I appreciate your candor on your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand that during your stay, the freshness of your room was of concern to you and that there was an unpleasant odor. Unfortunately, as much as we try to monitor this, we sometimes cannot control if a guest chooses to smoke in their room without our knowledge. However, I can very much empathize with your dissatisfaction and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.

Thank you,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIETTA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Charleston, WV Embassy Suites Hotel is a clean and nice enough hotel but over-priced for the location andd offerings. Good downtown Charleston location. Nice breakfast. Ridiculous to have to pay for wi-fi in a small town hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you can stay somewhere else, please do. I think the tone of my stay at this location was set when walking into the hotel. The staff was cleaning the tile floor and stood there talking to another employee blocking the way with a wet floor. As a Hilton Diamond member, I was not offered an upgrade to another room for free, but had to pay extra for the upgrade. The rooms are outdated, and not properly furnished for business. The tile in the bathroom had dark areas resembling mold, but I couldn't be sure. the beds were not soft, nor had they been replaced in quite some time. The breakfast was OK, but the restaurant was the best part of my stay. Great staff and bartenders. The food is great with large portions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Hilton HHonors Member we sincerely appreciate your business. Our main priority is for our guests to feel welcome and have comfortable stay. I do however understand from your review that you were not completely satisfied with our properly and I sincerely apologize if we fell short of your expectations. Please know that your business is incredibly important to us and I sincerely apologize if we feel below your expectations. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

Again I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here on our way home from Florida. Room was nice and very comfortable beds. We had to ask for bedding for pullout which maybe easier for guest to have in room as we arrived late and would of rather not waited. Our breaky was awesome nice fresh food and great made to order eggs. If travelling though again I would for sure stay here. Very pretty lobby and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.