We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi Package
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good Quality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

While travelling, found hotel to be clean, convenient, and worthy of repeat business. Very nice complimentary breakfast. Was also in good location for walking around town and right across from a mall with quality stores and fine restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    118
    53
    34
    19
See reviews for
111
54
22
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ft Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for a high school reunion. Check-in was easy. Most of the staff were very nice and friendly. Housekeeping seems to be the big problem here. The housekeeping staff is only concerned with cleaning rooms at check out. Our bed was not made either day. Both days we were gone most of the day to return to a dirty room. If you are a stay over be prepared for room not to be cleaned. We had to call twice and beg for towels.
My other small complaint was lack of variety at breakfast. Only had watermelon and other melons at the 3 breakfast meals we had. Most have a fruit medley of some kind. Omlettes were good but the rest of the meal was just fair. Cocktail time was very nice and had alright snacks.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with larger area and a window in living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is your one stop shop for a hotel. The manager's reception and cooked to order breakfast are just the tip of the iceberg. The suites are spacious, quiet, and the beds are comfortable. The overall experience is simply wonderful from the time you pull in until the time you pick up your invoice from your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel was nice 1. easy check-in 2. rooms clean and nicely arranged 3. overall hotel apprearance was very good Things to improve 1. Breakfast food was cold 2. homeless couple camping out in 9th floor stairwell 3. didn't tell us about internet connections 4. didn't tell us about honors program benefits

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a college reunion and stayed in Charleston, WVA. We all attended West Virginia Tech. The hotel and their staff was very nice and accommodating. The rooms were nice and clean. the breakfast and happy hour in the evening was just wonderful. The only thing that alot of us didn't like was the that the internet service was not free for guest at least in the lobby. It is very close to the mall you can walk accross the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel was nicely decorated and check-in and check-out staff were very nice. As mentioned in other reviews the cleaning does needs to be better- my husband did notice some dirt in the corner of the room. Otherwise the room was great. Breakfast was good- omelette station and the usual eggs/ bacon/etc, waffle-making station, and fruit. it was very crowded at 9:00 am- they were running out of everything. Allow plenty of time for breakfast if you want an omelette or pancakes- the line was long! There was a sign telling you what the busiest times to come there and how much time to allow but I didnt see this sign until we were there. I would recommend allowing 30-45 minutes for breakfast if you want omelettes or pancakes! The kitchen staff was working very hard but it did look like they needed more help. The pool wasn't available but we knew it ahead of time. It is ridiculous they charge for internet connection! Overall a nice place to say and I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked here because Embassy Suites has been pretty reliable - you know what you are getting -clean, comfortable and safe. The operative word here is tired. The clerk who booked us in seemed tired. Our room was OK but when I moved the nightstand to plug in my phone, the carpet was revealed to be full of debris from peanuts and whatnot - clearly it had not been cleaned thoroughly. When we returned late, we parked in the lot for the first time - the entrance was dark and our room key did not work to let us in. We had to call the front desk and got tired instructions to recite our parking pass number - it's pretty clear that the room key thing rarely works. Most disturbing was the knock on the door at 8 am followed by the door to our room being opened (and then quickly shut when my husband bolted out to the door.) When we complained to the front desk we were told that the "housekeeper starts pretty early." OK but why did she open our door? This seriously creeped me out and I"m glad I wasn't traveling along. I also complained at the website - got a thank you for your complaints and sorry response. Maybe it's me, but in this day and age opening the door to a room at an early hour it's pretty outrageous behavior.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Harrietlou

We truly appreciate your candid feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. I can assure you that your comments have been reviewed by myself and senior management. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and comments like yours help us identify areas that need improvements. We do apologize for falling short of your expectations during your stay and assure your concerns will be addressed. I do hope that you would reconsider staying with us in the future if your travels do bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Charleston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.