We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ACCOMODATIONS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Charleston to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fisher, WV, United States
1 review
“GREAT ACCOMODATIONS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great place to stay. Evening Cocktails and snacks a must. Located right next to the mall. Very safe. I have stayed at other places in Charleston and it is not safe to leave the hotel, but the location of Embassy Suites is safe to go to the mall. Food was very good for lunch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Donna B,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. Your comments are most appreciated and I am very happy that you had such a wonderful stay and experience.
I hope that your travels will return you to Charleston in the near future and we will once again have the pleasure of your staying.
Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    144
    67
    40
    21
See reviews for
135
70
25
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for a night and wish I had been able to stay longer. The hotel lobby is beautiful, the staff is welcoming and the rooms were spotless! Loved the location downtown as well. The breakfast in the morning was great (as most Embassy Suites are). Hope to stay at this wonderful hotel in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Hannahlore,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Your kind remarks are most appreciated and I will share them with the staff.
I hope you will return soon to further enjoy the hotel

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here many times. It is an older property and has some wear but they have redone most of the suites and they are nice. Free Daily Happy hour and snacks are super. Breakfast is good, but get there early so there's no line for the cooked to order food. The hot buffet is average...but free!
Staff is helpful, especially Micah at the front desk. Will definitely be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear JamaJive,

Thank you for your kind comments concerning your stay. They are most appreciated as is the advice you offer fellow travelers about getting to breakfast early, sometimes there are a lot of people who all come down at once.
I hope we will see you again soon for a return visit
Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel was dirty, from the guest room/suite to the pool facility. I was in fear for my children's safety in the pool as the rules were severely being broken with no hotel staff rectifying the situation. The food is horrible and not prepared well at all. The housekeeping staff are horrible at preparing the rooms for guests, not only was my room an issue, I overheard another couple complaining about a dirty room when they checked in as well. I would not recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Jason C
I am terribly sorry that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

I would very much like the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconveniences that you went through during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our first suite smelled like smoke. One phone call and we were quickly moved to another suite that was fine.

Manager's reception was very nice with fresh fruit, nut mixes chips & salsa, popcorn, hummus, fresh veggies, pita bread, etc. If you are a light eater you will not need supper after this.

The pool area was a little over run by unsupervised tweens, but this seems to be the case at many Embassy Suites.

Room is a little dated but was clean and quiet. We had a corner suite.

Breakfast was good overall, although the muffins and pastries were below average.

Room Tip: Corner suite rooms are larger and have more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Caroline D
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay and that we were able to accommodate you in a pleasant room, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us.

I truly apologize if you found our rooms to be outdated. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I sincerely apologize if we were not able to deliver this for you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that I will take your comments into consideration to improve our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town; you consider staying with us again.

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stay here often when we are in town, and it is pretty nice but there are a few issues that need to be worked out.

The hotel is in need of an update but our rooms are always clean. However the restaurant/bar always seems to have service issues. We complained this time because the service was very poor and the manager of the hotel was very nice and made it right.

If you want to stay in town you can't beat their location and the manager's reception and breakfast are always a value for families.

Room Tip: Make sure you try to get a room at the end of each hall, it cuts down on the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear LoriMacc,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience. I am sorry that you experienced service issues in the restaurant but I do want to thank you for telling the manager and I am very happy that the issue was made right for you.
We will use your comments to improve our operation and I hope that we will see you again in the future

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrows, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here recently and have done so for the last 3 years for my daughter's dance competitions. I encountered no major problems. Room and suite was of average cleanliness. We slept well and were not bothered by any noise. We ate breakfast and it was good overall. I have no complaints. I really like being able to walk across the street to the Charleston Towncenter Mall. That is really nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear CK228,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay, I am glad that you had a pleasant experience and we will use your comments to improve the guest experience for everyone.
I hope we will see you again in the near future if your travels return you to the area

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.