We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy. Hilton should revoke their license.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Charleston to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
cleveland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Filthy. Hilton should revoke their license.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visit annually for business and were surprised by the lack of maintenance at this property. As you walk in, you cannot help but notice the dirty floors. The room was not very clean and we told front desk. When we returned to our room at 5:00 it was untouched.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Misspenne
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I appreciate you selecting our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed with some issues at our hotel specifically regarding the cleanliness of our hotel. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. We strive on providing our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that this issue does not occur again. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience and I will keep your review in mind.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    135
    62
    35
    20
See reviews for
117
61
24
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the suite bathrooms have been updated and are decent, but the rooms are dated. They are kind of a let down after seeing the nice lobby. In my opinion, the rooms really need to be renovated soon. The resturant / bar downstairs has good food and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Benjamin B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel from your recent visit. I appreciate your comments and we will use them as we plan for the future

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Was there with Marshall University Baseball Team. Everything was just fine location, Food, Hospitality, Cleanliness, Beds very comfortable and the services we used where good. The only problem i would say was trying to hook up to internet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Mark K,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I will check on the internet issue you experienced and hope that you will return again in the near future

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The welcoming atmosphere of this hotel coupled with its proximity to restaurants, shopping and many business and government locations makes it the ideal place to stay. The staff is professional and courteous. We enjoy the spacious lobby area for visiting with family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Mary C,

Thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review our hotel.

Thank You

Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owenton, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We took our 4 kids here for a weekend getaway. First of all, the staff were exceptional. They were in the midst of dealing with a large group when we arrived on Friday night, but the man who checked us in, Ryan, was very considerate, taking the time to address my concerns and also joking with me to get me to smile (the ride had been a bit stressful and he could most likely tell). Every staff member that we met was kind, courteous, and smiling. They were all friendly to my kids, which makes a huge impression on me as a parent. I was willing to overlook a few things that concerned me, such as the cleanliness of the room (my daughter found a fake mustache on the bathroom floor when we arrived) and the overpriced parking ($12 a night) because of the great service we received. The breakfast (with a fabulous bar and an awesome chef creating made-to-order omelets) as well as the evening manager's reception (with cocktails for adults, mocktails for kids, and snacks for everyone) were another highlight. Another great thing was very reasonably-priced, quick, and tasty room service (the portions were large, too). And, the hotel is gorgeous. When we walked in, my 7-year-old said "I feel like we're in New York!" Also, the suites are very roomy. With a family of 6, that's important to us and rare to find! Thanks Embassy Suites, for a great weekend! We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Beth G,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am very happy that you experienced our welcoming staff and that your stay was pleasant.

I thank you for the feedback and I shall share it with our staff. We look forward to your return in the future

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg WV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is always a pleasure to stay here. The evening reception is really nice. The staff make you feel like a valued guest. The parking is the only proglem i have with it. $12.00 and I didn't park in the garage I parked out front.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear ReniW,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from our valued guests and I will share your comments with our staff.
We will endeavor to improve the parking situation but the hotel does lease space for our guests from the mall which is not the perfect situation.

Thank you

Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My business stay at the Embassy Suites in Charleston, WV exceeded my expectations in all aspects. The room was quite, clean and gave me the opportunity to conduct business while still enjoying many comforts of home. The staff was attentive and professional but not overbearing or rude. The location is excellent with many fine dining establishments within walking distance. Having experienced several other facilities in the area, many of which were quite nice, this is where I will continue to stay for future trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear JKJangia,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay and for your kind words concerning the hotel. I will share your comments with the staff and I hope that we will see you again in the near future

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.