We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated, very nice Embassy Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Charleston to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Updated, very nice Embassy Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I travel a lot on business and have stayed at some Embassy Suites that were still comfortable but a little shabby around the edges. So, I have to say up front that the Charleston Embassy Suites was very nice. Everything felt clean and up to date. They have recently renovated their bathrooms.

As with any Embassy Suites, it was great having a sitting room, kitchen amenities, free breakfast....... The beds were VERY comfortable - slept like a dream. The fitness room provided everything I needed - cardio equipment and free weights.

You can walk to an Outback and another chain restaurant (Chilis maybe) so there are places closeby if you don't want to venture out too far. There is also a mall nearby as well.

The parking is in a facility adjacent to the property - not ideal but -eh- what are you gonna do? Some hotels are like that....

I have to add that they serve Douwe Eggbert coffee which I think is the most wonderful coffee around :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Carnation400,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us in November. I appreciate your comments and feedback and hope that you will stay with us again in the future if your travels return you to the area.

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    135
    62
    35
    20
See reviews for
117
61
24
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed at the Embassy Suites in Charleston for business. The room was dirty- the furniture very worn and discolored, marks and stains on the walls, lampshades off-placed, and the carpet in need of replacement. Internet in the rooms was 10 dollars per day with no option of using a cat 5 cable and charges were added to my bill for parking fees when I didn't have a vehicle. Upon check-in, I was told I'd be getting a different room than what I had booked because they had overbooked. The front desk associate was rude, short with me, and unpleasant- despite the fact that overbooking is the hotel's fault and not mine. Very unsatisfied with the hotel AND staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Cate H,

I am very sorry for the problems you encountered, I have sent an e-mail directly to you through tripadvisor so I can better understand your stay and make it right for you. However is you do not receive that email I would appreciate it if you would contact me directly.
Sincerely

Mark Cherry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed one night October 23rd. Check in was very smooth, staff was very nice & efficient. The hotel was quiet and clean. Our suite was great! The managers reception was one of the best I have had and breakfast was great too! Very convenient to the mall across the street. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear MCCLJAW,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the nightly manager’s reception; Embassy Suites offers that 2 hour reception nightly with the complimentary beer, wine and mixed drinks and that is a unique feature that is guaranteed to start your stay on the right foot.

We hope to see you again when your travels return you to the area

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This was one of the nicest Embassy Suites we stayed in. Clean, friendly, quiet in a beautiful city. It was worth the 30,000 HIlton points we used. Breakfast is fantastic and the gal making the omelets is incredible. Really all the staff is very professional. You'll love the selection of drinks at the manager's reception.

Room Tip: We were above the food court and it was still very quiet. I think all the rooms would be good. Elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear WHW,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our great hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary cocktails and cooked to order breakfast. These and the fact that all our rooms are true suites are the items that set Embassy Suites apart from other hotels.

Thanks again for the kind words

Sincerely

Mark Cherry
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyer Michigan
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Right across from the mall. Walking distance to good steak house, italian, seafood.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best. Shuttle service to airport or Open Market area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear John C,

Thank you for taking time to write about our fine hotel. On behalf of myself and the staff we thank you for your comments and hope to see you back in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed overnight late September 2011; would have loved to have stayed longer. Wonderful suite, totally user-friendly in design/functionality. Very clean. Super comfortable bed and pillows. A/C not noisy or blowing full force in one place. Front desk service was exceptional. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear LadyinMot,

Thank you for your kind words concerning our hotel. We always appreciate our guest’s feedback and hope that your travels return you to Charleston in the near future

Sincerely

Mark Cherry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed here July 28, 2011-July 31, 2011. When I checked in they upgraded me (w/o me asking) to a corner room suite. It was VERY large. Check-in experience was excellent. Very fast, friendly, and efficient. They had 3 separate check in desks so that process worked smoothly for everyone. The corner room ste had a huge livingroom area with chair, couch, end tables, table & chairs for eating, big TV, Wet bar area w/refrig, micro, sink. The frig was nice but desparately needed the little freezer defrosted. Bathroom was nice size..curved shower rod..wasn't real fond of the shower head..not the high power kind as in other hotels but OK. Tub was a little grungy around the edges & corners and there was hair in the corners of the bathroom but overall it was surface clean. Bedroom area was very large with alot of room for people & luggage. Beds were comfortable and room temp pleasant. Pool area was very nice but there were so many people in it each evening that the noise was deafening so we did not utilize the pool but one night. Now....Breakfast...that's another story. VERY NICE buffet breakfast and a made-to-order egg/omelet bar that was run very smoothly and efficiently. The buffet had scrambled eggs, crisp bacon, sausage, potatoes, pancakes, fresh fruit, homemade biscuits & sausage gravy, and some other items maybe oatmeal, cream of wheat ? Nice selections of breads, pastries, and drinks. Huge area in the lobby/atrium with plenty of tables to sit and eat. Food was all very good and fresh and good temperature. The lobby area is gorgeous at this hotel..open all the way to the top. Lots of plants, greenery, waterfalls with fish, and areas to sit & relax. I absolutely loved this hotel and can't wait to return to Charleston to stay here again. My son got food from the restaurant in the lobby and was pleased with it for quality and price. Just two Cons: parking is inconvenient (price was incl. in our rate) but it was difficult for taking luggage esp. on checkout. Parking lot was very small & crowded so coming out of the garage to just load luggage was not really a good option. So we all toted the stuff to the parking garage. The other con...do not walk around your room in your bare feet...the carpet needs some good deep cleaning! Overall.....A+++

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Lyn60,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel. I thank you for your kind words and constructive comments. We will use your feedback to improve our operations and your comments as "Top Notch" mean a great deal to me and the staff.
Thank You
Mark Cherry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.