We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WV retreat for city folk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hillbrook Inn to your Saves list
Hillbrook Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Savings
Ranked #2 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Taneytown, MD
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“WV retreat for city folk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Nestled back a long gravel driveway off a road that my GPS wouldn't even acknowledge was the 1920 english tudor, Hillbrook Inn and its cottages. The main house felt like a page out of a storybook with its small doorways, winding steps and ivy covered facade.

Our room, the Bamford, located at the end of the main house hosted a queen bed, sitting area with fireplace, itsy bitsy bathroom and patio. The room painted in eggplant purple was filled with antiques, english tolietries, a Keruig coffee machine with samples of coffee / tea and a welcoming dessert plate of brownies and macaroons. The only downside to this room was a slight musty smell, I needed to get water for the Keruig machine from the bathroom (small water bottles would of been nice) and there was no TV. We were told that the cottages had TV's though...

We stayed for the 5 course, $65 a person dinner located in the Main House. We were given the choice of pork or beef. Other than that, dinner was a complete mystery but each entree was a pleasant surprise created by chef Christine who made her appearance at the end of the evening. Breakfast in the morning was another refreshing suprise.

With no morning TV, my husband and I set out to explore the grounds of the Hillbrook. Winding streams, a hammock, tree swing, aglae covered ponds and an epic size chessboard were discovered. All in less than pristine condition and some in need of repair.

All in all the Hillbrook Inn is a perfect retreat for individuals looking to escape from the concrete jungle to the country for some peace & quiet and alone time with your partner. What makes the Hillbrook great is not it's luxury or value priced accomodations or activites, but the friendly, down to earth staff.

Go for: Peace & quiet

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
It was a pleasure to have you at the Hillbrook Inn. I appreciate your honesty and suggestions. We will begin to place water bottle in rooms for guests to utilize for coffee! Our grounds keeper has been working all summer on the property at Hillbrook, with the rough winter and stormy spring he has had his fair share of yard work and repairs. We have been working hard on the grounds itself this month! I appreciate the time you took to write on Trip Advisor, your honesty and suggestions. We have taken them to heart and hope on a future visit you will see the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    43
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
222
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

What a delightful get-away! Hillbrook Inn can proudly boast of having a friendly, professional staff; cozy, comfy accommodations; and meals to delight the palate!

Chef Christine has a knack for cooking the freshest local produce as well as meats and fish to perfection! Each course is a wonderful surprise sure to leave you with memories of how foods ought to be cooked!

The Spring Cottage was warm and welcoming. We’d stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Thank you for enjoying Hillbrook with us! Christine is amazing and truly has a gift that she loves to share with others. I will pass on your kind words to her, because it is always nice to get feedback. It was a pleasure to visit with you and look forward to having you at Hillbrook in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belcamp
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

My fiance and I decided to go to Charles Town for a night away and I couldn't have been happier with our stay at Hill Brook. We stayed in the Summer Cottage which was beautiful. The entire staff at Hill Brook did everything they could to make our stay perfect. My fiance enjoyed the Inn so much, we decided to stay another night. Becky, a staff member, was very helpful arranging another night stay. Since we stayed on a Wednesday night, we had a continental breakfast in our room. The fruit and muffins were delicious. However, we stayed again on Thursday night and woke up on Friday to the most delicious breakfast prepared by Becky. She spoiled my fiance with a yummy breakfast.
Ever since we have left, we can't stop telling our family about the wonderful Inn. We look forward to staying there again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
It was such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hillbrook. We are glad we were able to share this experience with you both and wish you the best! We look forward to your next visit...and Becky says hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Beautiful inn and exceptional meal. We were not going to eat at hotel and then at the last minute changed our minds. The meal was very well done. We stayed in the winter cottage and it was very nice and comfortable. Kind and accomadating staff. Beautiful place for a wedding.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
We are happy that we could share the winter cottage with you and are happy to hear that you enjoyed dinner! Christine is an amazing Chef...but most of all a wonderful person. We hope you have a great day and appreciated your visit to Hillbrook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

The Hillbrook Inn is such a beautiful place! The staff was wonderful and helpful. We stayed during the week, so unfortunately, we did not get to enjoy the dinner and tavern. The fall cottage was cozy and like our own little getaway. The grounds are amazing and we had a great time. I can't even express how happy we were with our stay and we hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
We are happy that you enjoyed the Hillbrook property during your stay. The fall cottage is a wonderful room, and one of my personal favorites. I look forward to seeing you in the future and hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

The pre-meal reception/dance area is tiny...the bar, seating, cake table, and gift table are all crammed into a room that is about 20'x30'. It would be pretty cramped with over 40 people. The bar drinks are VERY expensive -- $2 for a wine-glass-worth of soda, $5 for a domestic beer, $7 for a glass of wine. The worst part is we were told the soda was free (it was during meal time). The way they talked about their cheese, fruit, and cracker arrangement we thought it would be big and extensive....it was only one bunch of grapes, two chunks of heavily moldy cheese (not for everyone), and a handful of crackers. The worst part is, it cost $300!! They also said a staffer would bring a separate tray out for the people involved in taking photos, but it never happened. We were told someone would be directing parking in the lot, but again...no one there. The meal area is divided by a wall and very cramped, so half of the guests were completely cut off from the other half. Also, the woman who oversees everything is a bit crabby -- not just me either. Multiple family/friends said so for different reasons. If you're wondering why I'd have my wedding there....I'm not the one who got married. The bride and groom were under other impressions and couldn't back out when they found out otherwise (no time, deposit, etc..) I will say, most of the staff were friendly, the photographer they use is nice, the place is in a very beautiful setting, and the food was awesome. I would not recommend this as a wedding venue unless you're wedding is going to be very small (i.e. 20 or less people.) I cannot comment on Hillbrook as an inn, for I did not stay overnight.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you for the review on the Hillbrook Inn wedding in June. I am sorry to hear that it was not a delightful experience for you and some of the other guests. I realize that the Hillbrook Inn architecture is unique and is a different layout for events. This is why we do tours of the Inn before we book events at our venue and spend extensive time with our brides and grooms to explain how their event will be set-up to accommodate their guests. As for the gift table we utilized the cascading shelves in the room to place gifts on display and at this particular event only had one guest out of 34 utilize the space available. If there was miscommunication on where the gifts should be placed, we deeply apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. The Cheese and fruit, was replenished as guests enjoyed the hors d’ oeuvres provided by the bride and groom. I will discuss with my staff items such as not supplying items to the group while taking photographs as well as to the three staff members that were greeting guests as they arrived to Hillbrook on the front terrace to determine what happened with the parking. As for pricing of cocktails and sodas, this was an arrangement made between Hillbrook and the host. If the bride and groom were disappointed on the venue at any point in time, I would have made arrangements or taken into consideration the situation. However, I did not get the impression from either party that they were disappointed in the services and seating that Hillbrook could offer. I will be making a personal phone call to the hosts of the event to ensure they felt the services, establishment, food, ceremony and staffing was everything they dreamed it would be. I appreciate your time and wish the bride and groom the best today and always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

My husband and I are both retired so we often take long drives and enjoy staying at different Bed & Breakfasts and Inns. The Hillbrook Inn has become one of our most favorite places to visit. There are so many wonderful things I can say about the Hillbrook Inn. This is a Romantic hideaway with a touch of class. The rooms were exceptionally clean, beautifully decorated and warm and cozy. Our favorite is the Fall cottage with a king bed and huge bathroom. The Inn is perfect for a quiet weekend getaway. We often just sat outside and enjoyed a cocktail with the peace and tranquility of the grounds. Although the breakfast was exquisitely prepared and delightful you would be remiss if you did not have dinner at the Inn. The dinner consists of 5 courses with a different and specially selected wine for each course. This was an elegant dining experience with food prepared to perfection. The innkeeper and staff are just so helpful and ready to serve. Also, we like to spend a night or two in Charles Town and "contribute" to the local economy through the nearby casino/racetrack. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
It is a pleasure to share Hillbrook with our guests and we are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing experience during your visit. It really means the world to the staff when a guest notices each and every aspect of the Inn…because every part of Hillbrook is important to us. Your business is deeply appreciated and look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Address: 4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. Our West Virginia bed and breakfast is a historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite at our Charles Town hotel with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn in Charles Town that makes us stand apart from any Harpers Ferry B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillbrook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.