We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful anniversary treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Save Saved
You added Hillbrook Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hillbrook Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
md
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful anniversary treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Hillbrook is such a lovely location, we can't wait to return! We stayed in the Snuggery room, which was a small room, but for a one night stay was more than adequate. We also had the 7 course dinner that they offered and this was just delicious and a wonderful treat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner/ Innkeeper at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
We are happy that we were able to share an anniversary with you both! It is truly an honor when guests choose Hillbrook and appreciate the time you spent at Hillbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    36
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
192
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Have stayed here a few times and I always enjoyed my stay. I usually do one of the deals like the procrastinator. I prefer one of the rooms in the cottage building. The rooms are very large and have a small refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker. I love to walk around the grounds and wander through the common rooms of the inn. It's a very unique place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Innkeeper/ Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
It is a pleasure to share the Hillbrook Inn with our guests and are glad to hear you enjoyed the grounds and main house. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

From the outside, the hotel is the most charming looking place, as is it from inside the main establishment. However, we unwittingley reserved a room in a satellite building. This wasn't really a big deal though because the room was large and we were very happy with the fireplace and jacuzzi.

We also signed up for dinner which was admittedly very tasty. The only thing that got to me was they invited us to "join them for a pre-dinner drink" so we had a drink or two and received a hefty charge for them when we went to check out. I found that strange considering all the wine you could drink was included with dinner.

The facility itself was very large and includes extensive hiking grounds. Its a great retreat for couples or others. I don't have any specific complaints about my stay, in fact it was quite lovely, I'm just not sure the price matched my experience.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner/ Innkeeper at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
Thank you for your review! I wanted to say I apologize for my staff not informing you that drinks are additional before dinner. They are trained to tell guests that the meal does include wine, if you would like to join us for a cocktail before dinner you are more than welcome, but it is additional cost. We do appreciate your business and hope you will return to Hillbrook in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

My sister and I and our two children stayed here to break up our trip home from vacation. We called late, at about 9 p.m. and they were able to cheerfully accommodate us. Although we missed the dinner, we were provided with the most amazing cookies ever. The setting was peaceful and we saw two fawns as we drove onto the property. We were thrilled with the house, which was beautifully constructed and full of character. The room was pristine and the bed was truly one of the more comfortable ones I've slept in in a while. The next morning we walked around the beautiful grounds and checked out the chess board, hammocks, swing and horseshoes. The breakfast was delicious--although our kids did not care for the pecan pancakes. I would definitely come back, especially so that I can try the dinner. It would be a great place to go with a few couples.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner/ Innkeeper at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry the kids did not enjoy the pecan pancakes...I can understand though. We do look forward to your future visits and welcome the opportunity to create a child friendly menu for the children if they return with you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2005

My sister and I set out for our annual Girls Memorial Weekend Getaway. We had no reservations but called my husband in Ellicott City who found their reviews and website online, said it looked great, contacted them for us, and we went for it sight unseen. What an excellent surprise! Driving through Charles Town then back a winding road to find this big Inn in the woods. The grounds are gorgeous. The furnishings and ambiance of the inn were warm and luxurious. It is a very romantic little place.....but great for sisters too. Breakfast was delicious. Our room was small but cozy (The Lookout). Very accommodating staff (even saving us some dessert past the usual time since we were going to be out). The only problem we had during our stay....wasps nesting under the step outside our room door. We had the groundskeeper spray....didn't help. They left the can but I'm afraid of bees...and it was just scary every time we had to leave or enter the room. For many, this would not have been a bother. We hope to return sometime soon. I would imagine the place is beautiful in the winter with a little snow (and am tempted to revisit now).

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner/ Innkeeper at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
Thank you for your visit to the Hillbrook Inn. I apologize for the wasps nesting under the steps. Although, I appreciate your honesty and feedback allowing us to correct situations. Sometimes we don't have control over nature in the country, but we will try our best. We are aware of this occurrence and have been taking additional steps to eliminate these types of problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2005

We had the most wonderful dining experience at Hillbrook Inn in Charles Town. Seven wonderful courses served at a very leisurely pace; each course delicious and proportioned so that you were not "stuffed" when you left the table. We will return soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner/ Innkeeper at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
Thank you for sharing your dining experience! It is a delight to see our customers enjoy what we do at Hillbrook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2004

This place is nice, but a bit overpriced. The grounds are in excellent shape, and it really is a very relaxing, peaceful setting. But, for $275 a night I expected the rooms to be cleaner and the rooms to be a bit more comfortable. Dinner was excellent, and well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner/ Innkeeper at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
I appreciate your review of the Hillbrook Inn. We are sorry to hear that your visit was not as good as expected. I am the new owner and took ownership on October 18, 2004...just days after your visit! We have spent the last five years making several changes and updates from your last visit to bring the Inn up to a new standard. We hope that in the future you will consider visiting Hillbrook again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town
Address: 4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. Our West Virginia bed and breakfast is a historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite at our Charles Town hotel with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn in Charles Town that makes us stand apart from any Harpers Ferry B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillbrook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.