We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room! Loved the view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Save Saved
You added Hillbrook Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillbrook Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #2 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Loved the room! Loved the view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We took advantage of a mid week special rate from their website and booked the Winter room for 2 nights. We loved the furnishings, especially the beautiful wood carved king bed, the gas fireplace, and the unique wall treatment. The view from our large window and patio was very peaceful, looking across a large expanse of green lawn with occasional Adirondack chairs, seating by a fire pit, hammocks, a swing, a stream with a small bridge, and the occasional neigh from the horses in the meadow next to us. Breakfast is included, and there is a coffee set-up in the room. A gravel walk connects the cottage containing the summer-fall-winter-spring rooms to the main house where meals are served -- a little tricky walking on it in heels. Breakfast is included. The first day breakfast was a fruit course, juice, scrambled eggs and bacon -- pretty good but something I might serve at home. The three course dinner that night was okay. The 1/2 inch thin steak had a good flavor but I thought a thicker cut of beef would have been much nicer. The second morning we had a fruit course, choice of fruit juices, egg frittata and sausage, and delicious warm raspberry scones -- a much better breakfast than the first day. Our second night, we had the five-course dinner with wine pairing, and the food was much better than the first night. Justin, our chef, came out after the meal to say hello, and he did a great job with the meal. The staff in the restaurant and throughout the inn were all very nice and helpful. We loved it here.

Room Tip: The winter, summer, fall, spring rooms are a 2 minute walk from the main house where you eat meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in the Winter Cottage. That suite most certainly has a wonderful view of Hillbrook's expansive backyard. I am glad you were able to enjoy it as much as we do!

I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed the meals, but I apologize that you did not receive a consistent dining experience on the days you were here. We aim to make sure each and every guest is pleased with the variety of meals we serve, no matter what day of the week they are here. Our culinary team is committed to providing gourmet meals that are a step above the rest.

I appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again the future!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    36
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
203
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I have stayed twice before and had great times and once again, we had a great time. The room (Spring Cottage), the drinks at the Bullskin bar, the food (Friday night Prix fix menu) and breakfast both days were all wonderful. The staff is engaging and happy to serve. The location is serene with wildlife everywhere (geese, turtles, squirrels and deer). We could not ask for more!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Judy,

Thank you for visiting us at Hillbrook once again. It was a pleasure to have you! It’s great to hear that you not only enjoyed your room and an elegant dinner, but also engaging with our staff. We are lucky to have such wonderful people serving our guests. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I came here to celebrate our 4th anniversary and we were not disappointed. The staff was nice, the Inn and grounds are beautiful, and the food is amazing. We also took advantage of the spa and had a couples massage......AWESOME AND RELAXING!!!
The Inn is off the road a bit but that's one of the things we liked about it. It's so peaceful and relaxing. The fire pit is nice and you can easily fall asleep in the hammocks and being so close the wine tour is a huge plus. Looking forward to our next visit and we just left.

Room Tip: The house is old so if you're tall you have to duck to go thru doorways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hillbrook! Our Gatehouse Spa is a wonderful way to unwind and celebrate a romantic occasion, so I’m delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy a couples massage during your stay -- not to mention the grounds, meals, and our wonderful staff. Our location is definitely unique in that we’re a country inn, but we’re also close to many attractions, like the Northern Virginia wine trail and historic sites such as Harpers Ferry.

It was truly a pleasure serving you, and we hope to see you again very soon – perhaps to help you celebrate 5 years!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Quaint, restful, wonderful attentive staff. This is but a portion of what is totally right about Hillbrook Inn and Spa. The staff welcomes you with genuine interest and a drink. We stayed in one of the "weather" cottages. Inviting, peaceful surrounded by a wonderful field and walnut trees. The breakfast was lovely overlooking the back lawn and the rising sun. Renews one's spirit. A must stay! AND should you wish - a mere 8 miles from the casino!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We aim to provide our guests with a relaxing, peaceful experience, so I could not be happier to know that is what you had while staying at Hillbrook! It is a joy to share our beautiful property with our guests and to learn a little bit about each person that walks through our doors.

Thank you for writing. We sure hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg,WV
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here one night to celebrate my husband's birthday. We were looking for a place close to us and pet friendly, as we were traveling with our 60lb dog. We cannot say enough about how welcoming they were to both the 2 legged and 4 legged members of our family!!!! Upon arrival we were greeted with welcome drinks and given the tour and history of the main house (originally was part of a property owned by George Washington). We were then met at the summer cottage which is one of four rooms located at the back of the property. Our room was beautiful and supplied with bowls, a bed, a towel and treats for our dog, Hope! We had a large, amazingly comfortable king size bed, large 2 person jetted tub and a large 2 person shower. We also had a refrigerator and microwave available as well as an iPad. The grounds are well maintained, wooded and very quiet....perfect place to walk and play with Hope. We did not eat dinner there that evening, but have in the past and it was excellent. Breakfast was included and oh my, was it delicious!! The first course was a small cheese omelet with fruit and some fantastic canadian bacon. The main course, however, was one of the best breakfast items I have EVER enjoyed... red velvet pancakes with fresh blueberries and strawberries, homemade blueberry syrup and cream cheese whipped cream. Phenomenal! Coffee, tea and juice also provided. We did not have the pleasure of using the spa this trip. We will definitely be returning and highly recommend for pet owners as they are one of the few place that openly welcomes big dogs!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for writing such a glowing review! I’m so glad you were able to stay with us again and that your dog, Hope, got to come along this time. It’s a pleasure for us to welcome well-behaved dogs on our property, so it’s great to hear that your furry friend was able to enjoy Hillbrook as much as you did!

It’s also wonderful to hear that you appreciated the room amenities in the Summer Cottage and the scrumptious gourmet breakfast. Our Cottage Suites are a great option for guests looking for upgraded features while remaining on the Main Estate.

I do hope you can stay with us again soon and take advantage of our relaxing spa treatments!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchellville, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I discovered the Hillbrook Inn last August (2012) and opted to make it a portion of our honeymoon getaway. We returned again this August (2013) for an Anniversary stay and it was even more awesome and amazing. In addition to the endless amenities, the team of professionals that manage the Hillbrook Inn provide outstanding customer service and provide each of their guest with exceptional pampering. This is a "must stay" for all who enjoy quiet getaways with beautiful views!

Room Tip: The cottages on the main property are very nice - as well as the Hawthorne, which is one of their ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear JaylaD:

We are so happy that you discovered us last August for your honeymoon! More importantly we are excited that you returned for your anniversary. It was an honor to share the Hawthorn Estate with you and great conversation! It truly means to the world to us to share our establishment with such wonderful guests. We also enjoy building a personal relationship with the people that stay at our facility. Thank you for being an important part of making Hillbrook special by continuing to visit with us! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We can't say enough glowing things about the Hillbrook Inn. When we booked, we knew we were arriving late, and had made plans to be able to get in and up to our room, but upon arrival, at 1:20am, Becky was waiting for us - totally above and beyond the call of duty! Their wait staff at breakfast, Ricardo and Kathy were wonderful, and Jim (the chef) created a fantastic meal for us. We were at Hillbrook for two nights, enjoyed their 5 course dinner with matching wine flights. It's a beautiful location with fantastic staff and we'd definitely come back! (Only negative was we stayed in the Locke's Nest - gorgeous room, but they could definitely use a new mattress - we kept rolling into the middle!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Our staff is truly amazing, so I’m glad you were able to experience that during your stay at Hillbrook. They consistently go above and beyond to make sure our guests’ needs are met.

Thank you for telling us about the issue with the bed. We will fix it immediately so that other guests do no have that experience.

We hope you will return soon, and we certainly appreciate you sharing your feedback!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Address: 4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. Our West Virginia bed and breakfast is a historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite at our Charles Town hotel with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn in Charles Town that makes us stand apart from any Harpers Ferry B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillbrook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.