We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Save Saved
You added Hillbrook Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillbrook Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings
Ranked #2 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I spent New Years Eve here. The location was quiet and beautiful. The staff kind and attentive. The room "The Look Out" was cozy and wonderfully fun! The rooms all come with an iPad that you can use for concierge service, watching Netflix, or looking up a map before you hit Charles Town. I would definitely recommend this place, especially to those who like a good gourmet breakfast in the morning! :)

Room Tip: I had no problem with a claw foot tub, but if you need an actual shower, look for a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Happy New Year to you both! We are happy you were here to ring in the New Year with us in 2013. Our location is quiet and beautiful and we are blessed to share it with others. Not many people can say they work at a “park like setting”. I enjoy sharing all aspects of Hillbrook with our guests and I am glad to see that you enjoyed the concierge services, antiques mixed with a little innovation with iPads and other amenities. We appreciate that you want to share our facility with your friends and family. We also agree that a great breakfast in the morning is fantastic…thank you for sharing it with us! Best wishes in this coming year…may it offer you many laughs, lots of love and kindness.
Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    37
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
208
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent New Year's Eve and New Year's day at this lovely B&B. With 1 Jan being our anniversary too, we were ready for a special stay here. We had a very nice couple's massage and also joined the New Year's Eve gala that was hosted at the Hillbrooke Inn. Overall,however, we were left unimpressed. We encountered a polite staff but we did not encounter any special or personal touches as so many have mentioned in their reviews. All were good, none were exceptional. The owners try to meet the very high standards they set and their effort is obvious but in the end, I believe they fall short in the value consideration. We spent over $800 for one night that included lodging (The Snuggery), a couple's massage, a 5 course New Year's Eve dinner and an included breakfast in the morning.
To be clear, overall we enjoyed our stay but will not be returning nor will we recommend the place to our friends because we simply do not feel tht what we received is worth the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Happy New Year! We are honored that you shared the Hillbrook with us for the holiday. I am sorry to hear that you did not feel there were personal touches for you to enjoy. I will take your comments into consideration for the future. I hope that you did enjoy the individual note on the dining table that evening, cookies in the room and champagne. I will look into adding more value to the guests stay for the future as you have stated. Although, I do appreciate that you stated that you noticed the obvious efforts and enjoyed the polite staff. Next year we are planning a special event for New Year’s Eve. We will have champagne, heavy hors d’ oeuvres, musicians at either end of the house, dancing and more. We are excited to add to the already exciting night because every New Year brings new adventures. It allows us to grow as individuals and share another year with the people that we care so deeply about. I am truly blessed and I am happy that you were here to celebrate a new year with us!
Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently returned from a Christmas stay at Hillbrook. It was magical. The highlight was a private dinner with our own chef and waiter. The food is exquisite - fresh, local and prepared perfectly to your liking. The spa is world class. The staff is most attentive and are dedicated to making your stay perfect in every way.

Room Tip: The Bamford Suite is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing Hillbrook with us at Christmas! We feel it is pretty magical here too and are happy to hear that we could accommodate a private dinner for you both to enjoy! I will advise the staff about your visit and how it made you feel. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to future visits.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I returned to Hillbrook for our 20th anniversary after having gone there for a very romantic weekend just before we got engaged (so maybe that visit had some role is us getting here.) It being a weekday in early December we had the place entirely to ourselves and received first-class warm and personal service. My wife had the spa package that included a 45-minute massage, facial and manicure for a reasonable price, and we had the excellent 5-course dinner in the very warm and cozy dining room in front of the fire. Plus, the inn was decorated in a very tasteful and traditional way for Christmas. The many passages and different types of rooms were part of charm, and as a tech junkie I loved the touch of having an iPad and iHome dock in the room amidst the antiques. We are already making plans to come back for our 25th, perhaps with a larger contingent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are so happy that you returned to Hillbrook to celebrate such a special occasion! It was a pleasure to share the Inn with you and create a unique experience that was private and intimate. I also appreciate that you enjoyed the iPad and iHome in the rooms. We are looking forward to your future visits and more importantly wish you many more years filled with love and laughter.
Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We enjoyed an escape evening to Hillbrook. The staff is very nice and attentive. We stayed in the Snuggery, which is exactly as you may suspect in size. However, it was nice and cozy and we enjoyed the Roman Bathtub much more than we would have guessed prior. Our favorite time was playing checkers in the great room prior to dinner, then enjoying some fireplace time after dinner. The dinner itself was very good but the room is a bit tight and does not allow for much ambiance. It may have been due to a full restaurant at the seating that evening. Breakfast the next morning was quite tasty. The grounds are enjoyable to walk around and they are well kept.

We have stayed in some better B&Bs a short drive to the south, but we have no complaints and it was nice to try a new place. I would definitely stay in a suite next time or one of the cottages. They are pricey but probably worth it.

Room Tip: Go for a Suite or cottage, the small rooms are cozy but very tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed the Hillbrook and that our staff was attentive to your needs. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the snuggery, the checkers, and the fireplaces! I appreciate your comments about the dining room. We are currently looking into options in for the dining room area in the next year in helping to enhance the ambiance during dinner. It was an honor to have you at our inn and hope to visit with you in the future…maybe in a cottage or one of our new properties!
Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Staying at Hillbrook in for two nights was one of the best decisions my husband and I have ever made! The staff was friendly and helpful, the concierge services and spa were amazing, and the room was perfect. We stayed in the Spring cottage where it included a double whirlpool bath, ipad 2, homemade cookies upon arrival, wine bottle and glasses (for a fee), Keurig coffee maker, and other great amenities. Also you can bring your pets for an additional fee. The Appalachian Trail, Harper's Ferry, and wineries are nearby, so there is enough to keep you busy for day trips. We will definitely be coming back every year for a short getaway from reality. I only wish we had discovered this B&B sooner.

Room Tip: The cottages have the most amenities and are in a separate location than the rooms in the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBInn, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
“One of the best decisions” is a very kind compliment and deeply appreciated! I will be sharing that with all of our staff. We are happy that we helped you to escape reality and enjoy one another and the area. We look forward to your future visits.
Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived on Election Day to spend two nights celebrating my husband's birthday. We had prebooked dinner for the second evening, but after learning that dining options in Charles Town were limited for Mon night, we took the hostess' suggestion that we dine in-house the first night also. As we were the only guests, the chef, Marshall Hubbard, made a special trip to prepare our meal, and the owner, Carissa served us herself. We enjoyed a delicious chicken/pasta soup and sausage stuffed pork with green beans and mashed potatoes. We ended our meal with a tasty pumpkin pie.
We stayed in the Summer Cottage along with our dog and were all most comfortable, enjoying
the cookies/brownies left for us by the warmth of the gas fireplace. In addition to the jacuzzi tub, we had also had his/hers showers. We appreciated the microwave, mini frig & Keurig
coffeemaker.
Our dog appreciated the treats, bowls and paw towel as well as the gorgeous grounds.
We enjoyed both of our breakfasts on the sunny glass porch. One morning we had fruit, blueberry pancakes and bacon and the next an egg frittata with sausage and yoghurt and
fruit/granola.
Our second dinner started with a tomato caprese salad, followed by filet mignon with asparagus and ended with an apple pie a la mode. We enjoyed meeting Chef Marshall Hubbard & dinner and breakfast server, Lori.
We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing get away, the iPad in the room and the two wineries we visited in the area. Breaux was our favorite!
We certainly felt well cared for and would definitely like to return with friends for cooking lessons.

Room Tip: The cozy cottages offer a lot of privacy for you (and your dog...).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBInn, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We are happy to hear that you vote for Hillbrook! We enjoyed celebrating your husband’s birthday with you both! In addition, I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your culinary requests and make it very personal for you both to enjoy. We are also happy to hear that the iPad in the room was beneficial to finding local wineries to visit during your stay. We thank you for your kind review and look forward to a future visit with you both and your furry friend!
Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Address: 4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. Our West Virginia bed and breakfast is a historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite at our Charles Town hotel with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn in Charles Town that makes us stand apart from any Harpers Ferry B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillbrook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.