We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hillbrook Inn to your Saves list
Hillbrook Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Special
Ranked #2 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
“Relaxing, wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for two nights for a much needed break in our routines. It was quite and relaxing. The grounds are beautifully kept. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast each morning was delicious. One of the best B&B's we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Ann F:

I am glad to hear that you were able to get escape the hectic lives we sometimes lead, it is often needed! Hillbrook offers such a serene atmosphere and we are happy to share it with guests. We are lucky enough to enjoy it every day and it is an honor when someone is here to share it with us! We are ecstatic to hear that we are “one of the best B&B’s you ever stayed at!” That truly means the world to all of us at Hillbrook Inn!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    45
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
234
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derwood, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I decided to get away for a night to celebrate out 17th wedding anniversary. We were greeted at the door like long lost friends. Jeff poured us a glass of wine and then we took a tour of the place. After settling in to our room, my wife went to get a 1 hour massage in the separate spa facility on the grounds. As she was getting a massage, Jeff came to our room and built a fire in our woodburning fireplace. After that we had a intimate dinner.It was just the two of us and we were seated directly in front of the fireplace. The food and service was 5 star. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a special night away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Jeff H:

Thank you for choosing Hillbrook to celebrate your 17th anniversary. It is wonderful to know you felt right at home. I am also glad to hear that the staff was able to accommodate you and your wife and you were able to truly escape!

Most of all I am happy to hear that we created a romantic backdrop to celebrate such an important day! It was an honor to share our Inn with you and look forward to future visits with you both.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My boyfriend brought me here for my birthday as a surprise and cannot rave enough about Hillbrook Inn! It was absolutely perfect! The ground were so beautifully manicured and the perfect setting for a relaxing weekend. We stood in one of the cottages (definitely the way to go) and it included a comfortable and relaxing room, sitting area, fire place, iPad 2, coffee, Jacuzzi tub and private porch. We not only had a great time there but in the surrounding area. We visited the Summit Point Raceway and went racing in some speedy go karts as well as visited the Hollywood Casino. The food at Hillbrook Inn was absolutely wonderful and the staff at Hillbrook were very friendly and met all of our needs. I truly couldn't have asked for a more wonderful Birthday.

Room Tip: The Cottages are perfect for people looking for privacy, specifically the Spring Cottage because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
I am glad to hear the birthday surprise was a success and you enjoyed the private Spring Cottage! Your boyfriend did a wonderful job and appreciate that you enjoyed Hillbrook and all we have to offer. In addition, I am glad to hear that you both explored the area and were able to experience some of the fun things Charles Town has to offer.

Both the Summit Point Speedway and Charles Town Races and Slots can be wonderful places to visit during your stay. On your next visit if we can direct you to more fun things to do such as, kayaking, tubing, zip line or even horseback riding please let us know. We would be happy to assist you both! We enjoy not only sharing the Inn with you but helping you to create a full experience during your visit.

Happy Birthday! We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quantico, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Fall Cottage for our 2nd Wedding Anniversary. Cottage is definitely the way to go. We had some problems getting the jets to work in the hot tub but other than that the stay was great. Breakfast was fantastic. Beautiful grounds. Would recommend this to a friend and would definitely go back for another stay.

Make sure to plan ahead for dinner though as the chef needs sufficient notice to include you in the evening dinner. If you do not want to participate, still plan ahead since you are 4 miles outside of town and there are no other options.

Room Tip: Spring for the cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Luis P:
It was a pleasure to share the Fall Cottage with you! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your second anniversary together at Hillbrook. I am sorry to hear that you had some problems with the jets in the tub. As soon as we heard about this problem it was checked and we deeply apologize for any inconvenience it caused you during your stay. Please advise us of the problem when booking next reservation, so we can make it up to you!

As for dinner reservations, yes we do need notice for dining at Hillbrook because we want the experience to be as delightful as possible for you. We utilize your dietary needs, restrictions and dislikes to create a menu around everyone in the dining room that evening. It is very popular and requires a reservation. I am sorry if we were not able to accommodate you both during your stay, but would love to have you in the dining room on your next visit.

If you need us to make you dining reservations locally we can also do so. We have a few restaurants locally, and some within 20 miles that are worth the drive. If you need assistance in making reservations or need a recommendation in the future, please let us know and we would be happy to assist.

We appreciate your business and enjoyed your stay! We are also looking forward to visiting with you in the future.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for our birthday and it was an unexpected delight! We found this place on Living Social and had no clue what to expect. There are not enough positive adjectives to describe what we found!

First, the staff is more than amazingly friendly, they're knowledgeable and helpful, too! It is clear that you are their number one priority.

The grounds are immaculate and stunning. We especially loved the oversize chess board and hammocks. We brought our dog so there was plenty of space to walk and play--he had a great time!

We started our stay with a massage at the Gatehouse Spa and that was the best decision ever! Lisa, our massage therapist, had hands like an angel. She knew exactly which spots to hit with the perfect amount of pressure to relax you and relieve your tension! A+++

We ended our evening with the renowned five-course candlelit dinner. Words cannot describe how scrumptious everything was. We had never dined like this before so, again, we had no idea what to expect. What we were served was incredible! Each course kept getting better--we were thrilled! First, we had a spanakopita that was out of this world! Then an onion soup that was to die for (and I don't even LIKE onions!)!! Next we ate a light pasta with spicy tomato sauce. For our main dish we had fillet mignon that was so moist it melted in your mouth. Last, we had a chocolate decadence that was drizzled in a strawberry puree sauce. Yum, yum, YUM! I would highly recommend the five-course meal.

The only sour note we had was with the groundskeeper. Our dog ran out of our room when he saw a goose in the yard and the groundskeeper was not too pleased/pretty rude about getting our dog back on leash.

Overall, the stay was magical, memorable and money well spent!

Room Tip: Keep your dog on leash when the groundskeeper is around :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Ryan D:
Thank you for the kind words. We are ecstatic that you thought so highly of the Hillbrook Inn. It was an honor to share your birthdays with you both and will be happy to share your review with my staff. I appreciate your acknowledgement about the spa and Lisa. She is pretty amazing both at her job as well as a person! We are lucky to have such a wonderful staff at our spa and Inn. I am sorry to hear about your sour note about the groundskeeper. He is actually a really great person and I will talk to him about the incident. I know sometimes things happen and all our dogs have a mind of their own sometimes!
Although, I am glad to hear that overall the stay “was magical, memorable and money well spent!” We hope to see you in the future!
Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

So I decided to surprise my wife & took her here for the night. It's only an hour & a half from DC so it was an easy trip on a Saturday evening. We stayed in the Overlook & the view was amazing! The staff was all super friendly, accommodating & genuine. We went out to dinner & a little Italian cafe then returned to our room where we played an antique mismatched game of scrabble! We then watched a movie on the iPad. We had a fantastic weekend!!! There's tons of stuff to do near by. We spent the morning at a flea market & the afternoon at the casino. Can't wait to go back!!! These people have thought of literally any need or want you could have. I promise you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
It was refreshing to read your review today, so thank you! We work hard to make our guests feel comfortable, at home and most of all relaxed. We are happy to hear you enjoyed each other and a simple game while visiting. Connecting and having fun is what it is all about and we are honored to be a part of making that happen! In addition, it was nice to hear you enjoyed the antiques as well as modern amenities, we do take time blending the two!

We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the area as well! There is so much to offer guests in our area and love to hear when a guest takes advantage of it during their stay. Let us know if we can ever point you in a direction! We hope to see you in the future!

Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Came to the Hillbrook with my husband and yorkie puppy to escape the hustle and bustle of NY for some peace, quiet and tranqulity and that's exactly what we got and then some. What a wonderful place to escape to. I have been to several B&B's and am not a fan of them and the victorian theme that is typical of most B&B's, but the Hillbrook Inn is in a class by itself and is the best B&B that we have been to. The country setting, beautiful and spacious grounds and english tudor style inn make this B&B five stars. We thoroughly enjoyed walking around the grounds listening to the sounds of birds, crickets and frogs. Our dog also loved running and rolling around in the grass. As for the accomodations, we stayed in the Fall cottage for 3 nights which I highly recommend. Our room was spacious, clean and the bed was so comfy that we had a hard time getting out of it. The only suggesstion that we have which would make the room an A+ would be to replace the small 12 inch tv with vhs for a bigger tv and a DVD player. The inn itself is a short drive to town and the casino. The breakfast was delicious and very satisfying and the staff was friendly and accomodating. We liked that we didn't have to pay for anything including tips until we settled the bill at check out. I hate to say this, but the only disappointment for us was the five course dinner. Other than for the main course, the other courses were served on saucer sized dishes so we thought that the dinner was a bit overpriced for what we got and think that for $65 per person that a glass of wine could be included. Overall, the Hillbrook Inn is a wonderful romantic getaway for couples and their pets and we are defintely going to return next fall and in future years to come.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Thank you for naming us "the best bed and breakfast you have ever been to"! It is truly an honor to hear that. It is nice to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the property from the wildlife and land to tint aim house. When guests stay for an extended time, they are able to enjoy the different facets of Hillbrook and we are proud to be a part of that, so thank you! We also appreciate your feedback and appreciate suggestions! We have replace the tv in the room to a flat screen this week, we have been in the process of a lot of upgrades to the inn this year, only feel badly you were not able to take advantage of it on this visit. We agree with the DVD player as well, but we do hope you were able to enjoy the extended dish network we offer guests.

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with dinner. I will discuss it with our Executive Chef, to see what we can do to make sure guests are getting the full experience, a meal that they expect and more. We hope that we will have another opportunity to change your dining experience to match the rest of your visit! We look forward to the future and sharing Hillbrook with you again!

Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Address: 4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. Our West Virginia bed and breakfast is a historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite at our Charles Town hotel with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn in Charles Town that makes us stand apart from any Harpers Ferry B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillbrook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.