We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Save Saved
You added Hillbrook Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillbrook Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings
Ranked #2 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Great food, Great staff, Fantastic place to stay. Wonderful place to relax and unwind after a hectic week in the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
It was so nice to spend the weekend with you as well! We are happy that you were able to unwind after a hectic week. It is a wonderful thing to escap and we are happy to be a part of making that happen! ~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    36
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
203
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

1.5 hours away from DC area, 20 minutes from Harpers Ferry--a nice anniversary get-a-way. Amazing 5-course dinner with wine included is a must! Very nice innkeepers and talented chef. No central air-conditioning/room controls and rooms have one small a/c window unit which does not adequately keep bedroom/suite/home cool in humid weather. Bedroom ceiling fans with lighting would be nice to have. High-end toilteries, thick bath towels and top notch in-room coffee service. Beautiful landscaping. Calm and tranquil setting. We didn't know what to expect when visiting Charles Town, WV known for gambling/racing, etc. but we took a chance and were nicely surprised.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed at the Hillbrook Inn over Memorial Day weekend. We had a fantastic time! We stayed in the Summer Cottage for 2 nights and experienced the 5 course dinner, as well as massages in the gatehouse - Wonderful! The expansive grounds & lush trees all around just oozed relaxation - especially the hammocks! Morning breakfasts were outstanding and the close proximity to Harpers Ferry hiking was key. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
It was a pleasure to spend Memorial Day Weekend with you as well! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the summer cottage, a sumptuous dinner as well as a massage in the new spa service area. It is our pleasure to make your stay as special as possible and it sounds like you were able to relax as we all need so often. Thank you for sharing your time with us and we look forward to future visits as well! ~ Sincerely Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We felt very fortunate to find such a great accommodation that was pet friendly. The Inn is charming and our room very nicely appointed. There were even treats for our dog! Hillbrook is located on 17 acres and the grounds are beautifully kept. The Innkeeper met us upon arrival and gave us a tour of the house and a bit of its interesting history. Prior to arriving, she had recommended a good restaurant downtown which we enjoyed. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and beautifully served on the glassed dining porch. We would certainly stay here again should we be in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
We are happy that our accommodations were pet friendly, and could accommodate your specific need. We love our furry friends visits and are happy to hear the treats were enjoyed! Our visit with you was appreciated and are happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of the Inn; the land, the dining and the local area. We look forward to visiting with you in the future! ~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The service at Hillbrook Inn is top-notch: friendly, sincere, personal - from the owners to the wait staff, you feel at home and respected. Our room - the Snuggery (what an apt name!!) was quaint and comfortable, tucked up under the eaves of the Tudor-style mansion house, with all of the things you need for a romantic getaway. NOTE: No TV but iPads are available in each room. Located outside of historic Charles Town, WV there are lovely rural drives and beautiful Victorian architecture to enjoy along with a number of nearby vineyards and the historic town of Harper's Ferry. Dinner at the Inn was fantastic - that alone was well worth the trip!! Least to like - access to our room was outside and up some stairs - not ideal in poor weather.

Room Tip: Any room is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
I appreciate the fact that you talked about our service and will make sure I tell my staff about your comment. They are all wonderful people and special to my husband and me so, when a guest notices how special they are it means the world to us. I am glad to see you enjoyed the snuggery; it is such a quaint room! I know exactly what you mean about the exterior entrance in bad weather, since we do have a rainy spring this year. However, the view from the deck helps make up for it a little! I even went out and bought a ton of new umbrellas this week to help off-set some of this, but I personally can’t wait for a little break and a beautiful day! I am also happy that you got to enhance your stay with an elegant dinner created by Executive Chef Christine Hale. She is amazing…and gets me in trouble…especially with desserts. We look forward to spending time with you in the future and appreciate the time you spent with us! ~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

If you are looking for a romantic getaway to a charming bed and breakfast, look no further. Hillbrook Inn is a place where no detail goes un-noticed. From the homemade cookies awaiting us in our room to the picturesque scenery to the perfectly cooked filet, our stay could not have been better. The staff is so attentive to every detail and really cares about making your stay a perfect one. Chris, one of the owners, served us homemade Limonchello at the bar and chatted with us about the history of Hillbrook -- he made us feel right at home. I am a very discerning customer and I would go back to Hillbrook Inn in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Spring Cottage is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for the "Amazing" review. Your feedback is deeply appreciated and we couldn't be happier that you felt right at home. It was our pleasure to share the Inn with you and we are happy that you enjoyed the Limoncello (Italian lemon liqueur). It is fun to try new and fun things with the guests! We look forward to seeing you in the future. ~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The Inn itself as well as the grounds are lovely. Both are well maintained. The owners and staff are friendly and actively engage visitors in conversation as well as make sure each person's needs are met. The food was very tasty and the portions were right-sized. We must say that what we enjoyed most was the whole experience. Separating out the parts of our stay--room, food, service is very hard to do since it all blended together so well, with each aspect of our experience being superlative.

We have traveled frequently and stayed at inns and b&bs on occasion. The Hillbrook Inn is at the top of our list.

Room Tip: The Bamford Suite was very very sweet indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
It was wonderful to share the Inn with you! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of the Inn from the dining, the rooms and most of all the people. We enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to visiting with you in the future! ~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Address: 4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. Our West Virginia bed and breakfast is a historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite at our Charles Town hotel with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn in Charles Town that makes us stand apart from any Harpers Ferry B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillbrook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.