We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, comfort, service - with locally sourced food to boot! Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hillbrook Inn to your Saves list
Hillbrook Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Special
Ranked #2 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
“Luxury, comfort, service - with locally sourced food to boot! Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

My husband and I loved our overnight stay at Hillbrook Inn. (Not sure if links are allowed, but I blogged about it here: http://dishragdiaries.com/uncategorized/virginia-is-for-lovers-and-so-is-west-virginia/)

We stayed in the Bamford Suite, and we loved everything about it: the decor, the comfy, bed, the fireplace... The grounds are gorgeous, as is the house. We enjoyed the library and the tavern room. The service was impeccable, and everyone seemed so eager to please.

We ate dinner and breakfast there, as well as enjoying some cocktails and sweet treats, and everything was delicious and satisfying. It is very important to me to support small businesses that source locally, and the Inn certainly fits that bill.

We loved the history of the house, and Charles Town itself, and had a great time at the nearby Hollywood Casino.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
It was truly an honor to have you both stay at the Hillbrook Inn. We enjoyed reading your blog and appreciate the time you took to write about your stay and experience. This beautiful place is truly dear to each of us that work here, and we are blessed to be able to share it with so many wonderful people.
Thank you for noticing all the details and my staff. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the Bamford Suite; it is one of my favorite rooms, the sumptuous food prepared by both our Executive Chef and Breakfast Chef and even the breakfast cocktail!
Each aspect of Hillbrook is important to us and we create this atmosphere in hopes that each of our guests is able to take part in everything we offer. Our staff works so hard to make it comfortable for guests and I will be sure to share your review and blog with each of them. You are a beautiful writer and I look forward to visiting your blog again soon. We also look forward to visiting again with the both of you in the future and hope that you enjoy your summer! ~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    45
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
234
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Lovely quiet setting, excellent service and extremely well-appointed and comfortable rooms. Generous and very tasty breakfast. Lots of well considered little touches add to the comfort and appeal, including luxurious robes and slippers, little snacks in the room, interesting antiques and art, cozy fires. A gracious, old-school Inn without stuffiness or pretention. The place to stay near Charles Town!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our quiet setting. Our goal is to create an atmosphere where guests can escape the hectic lives we all lead sometimes. It is wonderful to see guests enjoying the warm fires, talking amongst themselves or meeting new friends. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our plush robes in the rooms, the home-made treats and more. We do try to create an atmosphere that is “sophisticated yet unpretentious. Elegant and eclectic!” So, thank you for noticing, it is deeply appreciated. ~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We were looking for a place to get the heck out of Dodge one weekend and came across this bed and breakfast. We never heard of it but took the chance because they also were dog friendly. We were very pleased with our stay and found several things to do in the area. We wish it were warmer to walk around more with our dog but it was also a nice stay indoors in the lounge, dining room (good food!!), and in our room. Our room square footage is comparable to other places but felt much bigger with the high ceilings. The fireplace, hot tub, and a little nook created for a our dog's food and water bowls made it really cozy. We would definitely go back. And I would recommend this place for a local destination wedding because the site is pretty and you can rent out the whole place (10 bedrooms) for just your party. And the casino is just 10 minutes away, if you like to do that.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for visiting us for the Valentine's Holiday Weekend. It was our pleasure to share the Hillbrook Inn with you both. I am happy to hear that you had a delightful dining experience and enjoyed the guest room! In addition, thank you for noticing that we do events at Hillbrook! We are particularly appropriate for small intimate events and it is truly an honor to create these types of memories for our guests! We hope to see you in the future and hope you have a wonderful day! ~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

My husband and I stumbled upon The Hillbrook Inn two years ago for our anniversary. We have been back now 5 times to celebrate birthdays and to just relax and regroup. Each time we stay, we have a wonderful meal, are greeted by the most hospitable staff, and enjoy five-star accomidations. This past visit, my husband and I decided to have a driver to tour the local vineyards and Carissa was more than happy to set our trip up for us,as well as recommend her favorites! Our dinners are always fantastic and Bobby has always been a pleasure. Not only do we enjoy her service, but also catching up on our families and life in general. I can say one thing with great confidence, You will not be disappointed if you choose a nice leisurely vacation to the Hillbrook Inn.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
It was so wonderful to hear all your feedback! It is always our pleasure to spend our time with the guests! We are delighted that you are a frequent visitor to the Hillbrook; enjoy the food and most of all enjoy our staff. We always enjoy catching up with you both as well! We are so happy that you enjoyed the wine tour in Virginia and your driver. It is always nice to take a little time and do something special together, so thank you for choosing Hillbrook to make that happen! Best wishes in this new year and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We throroughly enjoyed the comfort and charm of the Hillbrook Inn. The entire staff was so friendly and focused on making our visit to the Inn an experience to remember! The food was fabulous - a real experience in itself! We look forward to returning to the Hillbrook Inn to celebrate our anniversary every year!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
It was so nice to share your anniversary with you both! We appreciate the time you took to write such wonderful words about the Hillbrook...it truly means a lot to each of us! Have a wonderful day and great new year! We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We loved our relaxing weekend at Hillbrook - it was the perfect escape from the city and daily life. Things we loved included:
- Our room was TV-free, but did have wireless internet
- Complimentary brownies/blondies, chocolates, in-room coffee
- Amazing linens: the sheets, feather duvets, quilts, and incredible robes
- Loved the claw-foot tub in our room...who has time for baths these days otherwise?
- Attentive, super-friendly staff
- Piano in the main sitting room
- Incredibly filling delicious breakfast
- Great recommendations for local restaurants (Mezzaluna, Dish)
Things to be aware of:
- Winter is a quiet time to visit - we did Harper's Ferry in a day, but didn't find much else to do but relax, read, sleep and eat incredible meals...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We recently spent an overnight at Hillbrook. It is all of what the other reviewers have commented. A charming, lovely B & B with an excellent, welcoming and caring staff. Our room & bathroom were a nice size, especially the shower. We did the 5 course dinner, had a wonderful filet as the main course, and felt it was a good value for the money. Breakfast, while delicious (fruit, blueberry pancakes, and sausage), my husband was still hungry when we left. The 3 small pancakes were as light as air (a good thing) but not very filling. In retrospect to other B & Bs we have stayed in of the same caliber, there has always been muffins or pastries in addition to quite substantial breakfasts.

The rest of this review is based on other B & Bs we have stayed at throughout the east coast and most recently Carmel, California. We stay in upscale places, with costs typically ranging between $230 to $300, so I am comparing apples to apples. Our room was the Locke’s Nest and the cost was $299/night. In other B & Bs where we stayed, included in the cost, there has always been a late afternoon complimentary wine and cheese gathering or something like tea and pastries. Hillbrook did not offer this. In Carmel, and, in fairness, this is not something we have had anywhere else on the east coast, there was a chilled bottle of champagne waiting in our room when we got there and a small box of gourmet chocolates. All rooms got this – complimentary! Our absolutely gorgeous room, with fireplace, king bed, refrigerator, tv, etc. was about $40 more than Hillbrook and overlooking the cliffs and ocean. Included in the stay was a really nice spread of wine, various types of cheeses & crackers and a quite substantial breakfast the next morning. So, compared to what we received in Carmel & other B & Bs, we feel our room at Hillbrook was quite overpriced. Hillbrook had a small plate of cookies, sparkling water, and 2 chocolates waiting in our room. What a nice touch it would have been, while we were socializing with the other guests before dinner, in the inns lovely living room in front of the roaring fire, to have been offered something like complimentary wine and cheese. Had we stayed in one of the cheaper rooms at Hillbrook, I would not be making these comparisons. But for $299, I do not feel we got a good value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
It was a pleasure to hear all your feedback and appreciate the time you shared in reviewing the Hillbrook Inn. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the wonderful shower, the roaring fire in one of my favorite spots in the inn and the other guests! As the owner of the establishment, I hope to use the information you supplied to better the Inn! I apologize that our staff did not ask if you had enough to eat. They are trained to ask you about your stay, if there was anything we could have done to make it more special and if breakfast was enjoyed. They are also trained to ask the question, "can we get you anything else this morning?". I will reiterate to the staff that they need to be clear, and ask if the guests are full and satisfied with the breakfast. We do not want anyone walking away hungry, and deeply apologize for this! We do hope to see you in the future and ask that you contact me direct when you call...because I want to make your next stay more memorable and valuable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Address: 4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. Our West Virginia bed and breakfast is a historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite at our Charles Town hotel with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn in Charles Town that makes us stand apart from any Harpers Ferry B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillbrook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.