We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Baltimore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went with my girlfriend for a weekend getaway to visit Harpers Ferry. The innkeepers were fantastic and very accommodating. The breakfasts were great and the stay excellent. We go again and recommend the place in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
106
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The owners of this quaint bed and breakfast go out of their way to assure the comfort and satisfaction of their guests. They are very friendly and have a high standard of customer service. The food is excellent. I'm very pleased that my husband chose this place. It's a great location with very nice rooms.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thanks for your kind thoughts! They are VERY MUCH appreciated! We know how we would want to be treated! We strive to do the same for others! Thanks for noticing! ALL THE BEST!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Donn and Marie's B&B really is really a haven of tranquillity in a delightful historic building. They are very caring and genuinely friendly hosts and happy to give of their time in helping to sort out guests problems! We cannot recommend them highly enough.

Helen and John Walker October 2014

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and each was as good as the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
We hope you enjoyed DC on your last day in the States! When you walked out the door, both of us were ready to back our bags to visit the UK! Getting to know you both raised our planned visit to England a two notches higher on our "Fun List"! Your kind words are much appreciated! We look forward to another visit with you - here or there!! All the BEST!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

From the moment Donn and Marie greet you at the door you know that you have found a great place to stay. The house has a long history which Donn is happy to share. The living room is well appointed, comfortable and a great place to sit and visit with friends bot old and new. The bedrooms are spacious, well appointed with very comfortable beds and private baths. Breakfast was excellent, all prepared by Donn and served piping hot straight from the kitchen. We will make up a reason to return to Charles Town just to return to this lovely and welcoming inn.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the building might be quieter but there was no problem sleeping in our room whi...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
We appreciate your sharing your experience! Your kind words refill our tanks with energy to prepare for our next guests! Thank! As we WILL be looking for you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of a two night stay at the Carriage Inn. We enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing time at this historic B&B. We loved visiting nearby Harpers Ferry and Shepherdstown, and Donn and Marie, the innkeepers, saw to our every need. The room itself, the Garden Room, was spotless, spacious, and the bed luxurious. Donn's breakfasts were a culinary feast; (especially the orange stuffed French toast!)
We'll certainly make it a point to return for their Southern hospitality.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
We love to see our guests enjoy themselves and are so glad you accomplished that!! The food we serve is the food we love! We're glad you enjoyed it! Thanks,too, for recognizing that Southern Hospitality is NOT dead!! Return SOON! Thanks for your encouraging words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Spent a weekend at this lovely bed and breakfast to celebrate my wife's 55th birthday. The accommodations were wonderful, the service was fantastic and the breakfasts were delicious (not to mention the evening cookies and brownies). Our room included a screened in porch where a private breakfast was served. This historic inn was well appointed and nicely updated. Donn and Marie were gracious hosts and truly made their home our home. We would highly recommend and hope we can get back to this charming gem soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
We loved having you guys and your review is so important to future guests! And we cherish your expression of approval!! DC area folks are pretty discriminating, so your opinion means so much to us! We wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This B&B was the nicest we have stayed in this year, and we just spent 10 days in Ireland this summer! We stayed in the sunrise room (highly recommend!) and we had the softest sheets we've ever felt. Don and Marie were unbelievable hosts, and Don made us fantastic orange stuffed french toast in the morning. After breakfast we had coffee for half an hour on the porch swing. We will definitely be back this fall with friends!

Room Tip: The Sunrise room was very nice. We peeked in a few others and were happy with our selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for these kind words! We just try to treat people the way we want to be treated! It is nice to be able to give people a relaxing experience and see you all enjoy yourselves! We look forward to seeing you on the front porch swing in the Fall! All the VERY best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Inn b&b
Carriage Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.