We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate - best place to stay in West Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Falls Church, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First rate - best place to stay in West Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very comfortable inn with lots of civil war history both at the inn and in the surrounding environment.
Banana bread was a welcome treat on checking in. The hosts were very helpful about getting us oriented about places to visit and dine. The copper beech suite was immaculate and we particularly enjoyed sitting in the enclosed porch. The jacuzzi was wonderful! Thank you Donn and Marie.
Just a little note to future guests that you may occasionally hear a train in the background during the night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
WOW! Thanks for taking the time to reflect on your stay! You input is so important to us! We're always looking to do what our guests need to make their stay as special as they expect it to be! We treasure your friendship!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
104
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

What a gem...! My fiancé and I didn't know what to expect when we arrived and boy were we pleasantly surprised! From the warm coffee cake (right out of the oven!) upon arrival to the impeccable room, lovely hosts, this was truly a trip we will never forget...! Thank you Donn and Marie...we will be back! (Christmas time maybe?) :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Our guests are SO great!! We love it when we are able to make them happy, relaxed and in a very short time, friends! Thanks so much for your very kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I had previously read the reviews of the Carriage Inn and now I know why the customers are raving about it. We just got back from a 2 night stay, and just going to add to the accolades. Hosts Marie and Donn are wonderful, friendly, and helpful without being intrusive, they truly make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. The Inn is within walking distance to restaurants along a quaint Main Street, or even fast food if that is what you are looking for. But you won't want to miss the breakfast, its fresh hot and waiting for you when you pick your time! The Inn has a wonderful history, which the hosts are well versed in, and great scenery and attractions nearby. We particularly liked Harpers Ferry, which is only 6 miles away. And the Skyline Drive is about an hours drive to enter this wonderful scenic drive and National Park. Marie was gracious enough to show us the entire Inn, and its all lovely and the rooms are all large and spacious. We stayed in the Garden Room. All rooms have private baths. You can't go wrong with this Inn. I am craving Donn's scones, muffins and cookies! There are lovely touches in their hospitality and charm throughout.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We SO appreciate these reviews! Your kind words encourage us to keep on doing what we love! We LOVE our guests and want them to have a GREAT time while they are with us! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at the Carriage Inn this past weekend and it was the most wonderful B&B we have ever stayed in. Not only is the location perfect, but Don and Maria are the most welcoming hosts. We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Arm, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this historic B&B! Donn and Maria were the perfect hosts, taking as much time as we wanted to explain the history of the house (Headquarters for General Sheridan and a meeting place for General Grant and Sheridan) and surrounding area. Our room was very comfortable, neat and well appointed... and our breakfast was superb! A great get-away!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Everything that I have read in the other reviews is true of this Bed and Breakfast. The hosts are very welcoming, but never intrusive. My husband was leery of staying in a B&B, but he loved it. What makes this one so special is that is a house that has seen a lot of civil war history, which gives it character. The rooms are beautifully appointed. Even though we only stayed 2 nights, I felt more refreshed from our time there then when we take longer trips and stay in motels. I would recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is quite the B & B. We stayed in the Copper Beech Suite in the back of the first floor. We had a very comfortable King bed & a private porch. Marie & Donn were perfect hosts. They even provided peroxide and bandages to repair my thumb. They history of the house was wonderful. Hot Banana bread scrumptious ! ! ! I can not wait to find an excuse for us to go back.

Room Tip: The two suites get breakfast to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Charles Town
Carriage Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.