We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast With Gen. Grant
Ranked #1 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
“WONDERFUL!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at the Carriage Inn this past weekend and it was the most wonderful B&B we have ever stayed in. Not only is the location perfect, but Don and Maria are the most welcoming hosts. We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
101
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Arm, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this historic B&B! Donn and Maria were the perfect hosts, taking as much time as we wanted to explain the history of the house (Headquarters for General Sheridan and a meeting place for General Grant and Sheridan) and surrounding area. Our room was very comfortable, neat and well appointed... and our breakfast was superb! A great get-away!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Everything that I have read in the other reviews is true of this Bed and Breakfast. The hosts are very welcoming, but never intrusive. My husband was leery of staying in a B&B, but he loved it. What makes this one so special is that is a house that has seen a lot of civil war history, which gives it character. The rooms are beautifully appointed. Even though we only stayed 2 nights, I felt more refreshed from our time there then when we take longer trips and stay in motels. I would recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is quite the B & B. We stayed in the Copper Beech Suite in the back of the first floor. We had a very comfortable King bed & a private porch. Marie & Donn were perfect hosts. They even provided peroxide and bandages to repair my thumb. They history of the house was wonderful. Hot Banana bread scrumptious ! ! ! I can not wait to find an excuse for us to go back.

Room Tip: The two suites get breakfast to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited the Carriage Inn Bed & Breakfast for the first time. We have spent 4 nights at this beautiful and historic place. We stayed at Mary Rutherford room. Our room was beautiful, clean, peaceful and cozy. We felt very welcomed from the time we walked in. Marie gave us a tour of the house and told us the history of this wonderful place. Marie and Donn are great hosts. Every morning we have been served a gourmet breakfast that was absolutely delicious. In the afternoon there were always home baked goodies. Outside of our room there is a refrigerator with drinks and a water cooler. The entire house is stunning and spotless. The house is a short distance from great places to eat and shop and other great attractions. We could not be more satisfied with our choice of staying at the Carriage Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I needed a small getaway/vacation and after looking at several B&Bs, this seemed like the best in the area. Our initial impression online was blown out of the water in person.

The main house is absolutely magnificent, with beautiful decor and rich history. Numerous famous figures in history have left their mark in this house. We had the wonderful pleasure of staying in the suite in the old slave quarters/kitchen, which is detached from the house. When we first arrived, we were warmly greeted and given a small tour and told the history of the house. Snacks and drinks were offered to us and are available all day to guests. The innkeepers, Don and Marie, are some of the nicest people we have ever met. They were willing to help us in any way and made us feel so welcome and comfortable.

The suite itself was beautifully decorated, with a living room, queen sized bed, bathroom with robs waiting for us, fridge stocked with juices and sodas to enjoy complimentary, and a large two person Jacuzzi that we couldn't wait to get into. Upstairs, there are two single beds, perfect for kids.

Needless to say, my husband and I cannot wait to come back. The detached suite is perfect for any couple or family, with plenty of privacy while also being taken care of. Harper's Ferry is only 15 minutes away, old town Charles Town only a minute away, and the casino 2 minutes away.

You won't find this level of comfort and hospitality anywhere else! :)

Room Tip: Choose the detached suite if you want privacy and comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have just spent one night in this beautiful, historic property. Donn and Marie could not have been more welcoming. As Brits it was wonderful to experience US history through this house. Marie gave us a tour and told us about its history. The weather was bad but in warmer months there was a lovely outside porch and large area of garden for relaxation.
The location is perfect for visiting places like Harpers Ferry, Antietam and the local mountains and Charles Town itself has a lot of interesting, old buildings.
The bedrooms are all large and beautifully furnished and equipped and breakfast was a delight

Room Tip: All are beautiful and really spacious and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Charles Town
Carriage Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.