We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
MID-WEEK 10% Off Room
Ranked #1 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I needed a small getaway/vacation and after looking at several B&Bs, this seemed like the best in the area. Our initial impression online was blown out of the water in person.

The main house is absolutely magnificent, with beautiful decor and rich history. Numerous famous figures in history have left their mark in this house. We had the wonderful pleasure of staying in the suite in the old slave quarters/kitchen, which is detached from the house. When we first arrived, we were warmly greeted and given a small tour and told the history of the house. Snacks and drinks were offered to us and are available all day to guests. The innkeepers, Don and Marie, are some of the nicest people we have ever met. They were willing to help us in any way and made us feel so welcome and comfortable.

The suite itself was beautifully decorated, with a living room, queen sized bed, bathroom with robs waiting for us, fridge stocked with juices and sodas to enjoy complimentary, and a large two person Jacuzzi that we couldn't wait to get into. Upstairs, there are two single beds, perfect for kids.

Needless to say, my husband and I cannot wait to come back. The detached suite is perfect for any couple or family, with plenty of privacy while also being taken care of. Harper's Ferry is only 15 minutes away, old town Charles Town only a minute away, and the casino 2 minutes away.

You won't find this level of comfort and hospitality anywhere else! :)

Room Tip: Choose the detached suite if you want privacy and comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
117
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have just spent one night in this beautiful, historic property. Donn and Marie could not have been more welcoming. As Brits it was wonderful to experience US history through this house. Marie gave us a tour and told us about its history. The weather was bad but in warmer months there was a lovely outside porch and large area of garden for relaxation.
The location is perfect for visiting places like Harpers Ferry, Antietam and the local mountains and Charles Town itself has a lot of interesting, old buildings.
The bedrooms are all large and beautifully furnished and equipped and breakfast was a delight

Room Tip: All are beautiful and really spacious and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I just spend our second weekend at the Carriage Inn. It is absolutely gorgeous inside and has many little facets that keep the history and warmth in the building. Our hosts, Marie and Donnie were amazing. They are so friendly and make you feel like you have known them for years. We always feel comfortable and never have anything less than an exceptional time. Breakfast is served every morning and is delicious. Make sure to ask for the French bread French toast, you will be amazed with the heavenly caramelized apples that are smothering them. I could write forever about this place but the best way to experience it is to check it out yourself. They even have a little cottage if you have a small family.

Room Tip: Check out Vivo spa in Harpers Ferry, they are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We loved our stay at the Carriage Inn. Marie greeted us when we arrived and could not have been sweeter. She was so lovely, showed us around, and gave us history on the house (which was really interesting!) We stayed just 1 night but really enjoyed ourselves and our room was very nice and comfy! We stayed in the Garden View Room and our only complaint was that it was right next to the stairs so it got a little loud in the morning, but that's expected and it wasn't terrible. At night we walked down to the horse races (less than a 10 minute walk) and had a lot of fun celebrating my husband's birthday. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our first B&B and Donn and Marie set the bar high. The house was very nice and quiet. Complimentary refreshments outside our bedroom and VHS tapes if you wanted to watch a movie. Breakfast was delicious. You could tell it was made with love:)
The house is central to Charels Town.

Thank you for a wonderful stay Donn and Marie, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Donn and Marie are probably the best hosts you could ever hope to have. The rooms were beautiful and very comfy. Donn always has some great evening snacks waiting for you when you return in the evening. I don't think we could have spent our anniversary at a better BnB. Well worth the money and the history of the house is fantastic. Donn even went to the trouble to look up some family history for me after we left.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Carriage Inn while visiting Harpers Ferry and we truly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and comfortable, the hosts were very friendly and the food was delicious. You would have to search for a long time to find accommodations as nice as the Carriage Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Conference Center
Quality Hotel Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hillbrook Inn
Hillbrook Inn
#2 of 7 in Charles Town
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Inn b&b
Carriage Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.