We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Splendor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Historical Splendor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Charlestown and Harpers Ferry. We stayed at the historic Carriage Inn B&B and it was a delight for history fans like us. Donn and Marie are delightful and warm hosts and the house is full of Civil War history ( I won't tell you more so I don't ruin the history surprises). The breakfast is served on beautiful china and includes fresh fruit, homemade muffins, quiche and breakfast meats, etc. Coffee is great too. Homemade treats are set out on the dinning room table in the afternoon too! The walk into Charlestown is about 3 blocks with sidewalks the entire way. We enjoyed our trip and chatted about the B&B on our way home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
106
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zephyrhills, Florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just got back from a whirlwind hiking trip, and we discovered Donn and Marie's (no relation to the Osmonds) "home" for us. We loved it and them. You will have to look long and hard to find better accommodationsand food and innkeepers at such an affordable price. Be sure to have Donn's crustless quiche. It is to die for. We just can't say enough about the place and people. You should treat yourself and visit them. I miss them already.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This house is gorgeously refurbished. We got there late, but since the other guests were later, I got to explore all the rooms. So pretty! Neat little 6-inch deep closets (extra storage is provided for modern guests). The third floor is awesome. Our Jacuzzi was just the thing we needed after a day on a motorcycle. Charles Town itself is very pretty, with lots of history. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The blue room (Sunrise) was the prettiest. The Shenandoah suite with the attached porch was awesome...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Donn and Marie are wonderful hosts and have a gift for hospitality. Since I was on a business trip, I was working late in the main dinning room one night on my laptop. To my surprise, Donn and Marie came in with fresh strawberry shortcake for me at 10:00 PM. Not only was it delicious, it was classy. A nice touch to my stay. The breakfast is outstanding, my room was well appointed and comfortable, and the location is great. Hats off to this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I spent a beautiful sunny weekend here when one of us received a gift certificate to the inn and wow! What a hidden treasure just blocks away from Charles Town Races and Slots! Donn and Marie have a natural gift for hospitality and inject all those special touches that make for an outstanding experience. We appreciated their thoughtful suggestions for places to eat and things to see.
When we arrived, Donn introduced himself and gave us a tour of some of the key historical parts of the house, and that established a weekend with a different vibe than we had anticipated -- mainly because we had only known the town as a casino town. We were pleasantly surprised to learn about the civil war history associated with the house and the connection to George and Charles Washington, as well as dozens of other Washingtons buried in a cemetery just up the street. As others have written, Marie and Donn are warm, gracious, and friendly, and truly treat their guests like family.
We loved our room, the Garden View; it was immaculate and provided a quiet retreat for an afternoon nap and good night's sleep, and the spaciousness of the room felt luxurious. Breakfasts were traditionally sized American feasts- we especially enjoyed the first course of fruit, and on our second day, the vegetable quiche and carrot and raisin muffin. Yum! We noticed that Donn and Marie went out of their way to prepare a hot individual dish for a guest with special food requests.
We definitely plan to return again when we have time to do some additional exploring of the WV panhandle. A real find!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Tony & I were looking for somewhere that we could slow down a bit, relax and enjoy, and that's exactly what we found. Donn and Marie were gracious and sensitive hosts to the needs of their guests. The accommodations were wonderful, the house steeped in history and
Donn was a great historian. The breakfast venue was yummy and the personal conversation refreshing. Finally, they gave us some very helpful direction in exploring the area and the restaurants to check out. Thank you for making us feel at home away from home. We would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wish that we can give this B&B a better rating that five stars. Marie & Don are the greatest innkeepers. We left their B&B, after only a two night stay, feeling like we were leaving two old friends. Every suggestion that they made was great. We really enjoyed Alfredo's. The room was large & clean. We felt so "at home". We wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: From what se saw, all of the rooms were large & clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Inn b&b
Carriage Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.