We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This house was so beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
"I love you" Chocolates!
Ranked #1 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Reynoldsburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This house was so beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This house is gorgeously refurbished. We got there late, but since the other guests were later, I got to explore all the rooms. So pretty! Neat little 6-inch deep closets (extra storage is provided for modern guests). The third floor is awesome. Our Jacuzzi was just the thing we needed after a day on a motorcycle. Charles Town itself is very pretty, with lots of history. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The blue room (Sunrise) was the prettiest. The Shenandoah suite with the attached porch was awesome...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
97
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Donn and Marie are wonderful hosts and have a gift for hospitality. Since I was on a business trip, I was working late in the main dinning room one night on my laptop. To my surprise, Donn and Marie came in with fresh strawberry shortcake for me at 10:00 PM. Not only was it delicious, it was classy. A nice touch to my stay. The breakfast is outstanding, my room was well appointed and comfortable, and the location is great. Hats off to this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I spent a beautiful sunny weekend here when one of us received a gift certificate to the inn and wow! What a hidden treasure just blocks away from Charles Town Races and Slots! Donn and Marie have a natural gift for hospitality and inject all those special touches that make for an outstanding experience. We appreciated their thoughtful suggestions for places to eat and things to see.
When we arrived, Donn introduced himself and gave us a tour of some of the key historical parts of the house, and that established a weekend with a different vibe than we had anticipated -- mainly because we had only known the town as a casino town. We were pleasantly surprised to learn about the civil war history associated with the house and the connection to George and Charles Washington, as well as dozens of other Washingtons buried in a cemetery just up the street. As others have written, Marie and Donn are warm, gracious, and friendly, and truly treat their guests like family.
We loved our room, the Garden View; it was immaculate and provided a quiet retreat for an afternoon nap and good night's sleep, and the spaciousness of the room felt luxurious. Breakfasts were traditionally sized American feasts- we especially enjoyed the first course of fruit, and on our second day, the vegetable quiche and carrot and raisin muffin. Yum! We noticed that Donn and Marie went out of their way to prepare a hot individual dish for a guest with special food requests.
We definitely plan to return again when we have time to do some additional exploring of the WV panhandle. A real find!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Tony & I were looking for somewhere that we could slow down a bit, relax and enjoy, and that's exactly what we found. Donn and Marie were gracious and sensitive hosts to the needs of their guests. The accommodations were wonderful, the house steeped in history and
Donn was a great historian. The breakfast venue was yummy and the personal conversation refreshing. Finally, they gave us some very helpful direction in exploring the area and the restaurants to check out. Thank you for making us feel at home away from home. We would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wish that we can give this B&B a better rating that five stars. Marie & Don are the greatest innkeepers. We left their B&B, after only a two night stay, feeling like we were leaving two old friends. Every suggestion that they made was great. We really enjoyed Alfredo's. The room was large & clean. We felt so "at home". We wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: From what se saw, all of the rooms were large & clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our first time in W. Virginia and we found the BEST B&B! Only 3 1/2 hours from home, it's a B&B we will visit again and again. The innkeepers, Don and Marie were just wonderful hosts from beginning to end. The house is beautiful with lots of Civil War history.

We were pampered with all the special touches. Our room was beautiful and very clean, not a thing out of place. The breakfasts were just delicious and we were waited on hand and foot. Tea and coffee with the fixings were set out all day and night long. And each afternoon was a treat waiting for guests in the dining room - homemade cookies one day and scones the next. Both were mouth watering! We looked forward to that each day.

The inn is located on a main road but it's set back so it's quiet. The main road goes right into the quaint downtown. Room prices are very reasonable and there is a detached carriage house where a family with children can stay. About 5 blocks away is a nice park with pavillions, walking trail, tennis courts and even a swimming pool which I'm not sure if it's for the public or not.

Don and Marie are such a lovely couple who love what they do which is to make all their guests feel relaxed, at ease and at home. We are looking forward to our next visit and to seeing them again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We found this B & B while planning a rafting trip! I Paula wasnt much interested in History until my trip here! Marie explained the history of the home and I was so excited to learn more aout the area as well! We enjoyed our stay with Don and Marie and they made our stay very comfortable! Breakfast was delish as were the yummy afternoon/ evening homemade snacks left out for us! We rafted with River Riders and enjoyed Harpers Ferry! The restaurant reccomendation were great as well! We will def stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriageinn, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We appreciate the kind words of our guests! Your experience is our primary concern! Thanks for the feedback! We want everyone's stay at The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to be all that they hoped for when they booked their stay with us! Thanks for your words of encouragement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Charles Town
Carriage Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.