We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
"I love you" Chocolates!
Ranked #1 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I would highly recommend the Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast if you are staying in Charles Town, WV. Donn and Marie are wonderful hosts, the historic inn is beautiful, the location is great for anyone who needs to access the town hall, library, historic cemeteries, and, finally, the breakfasts are to die for. Donn and Marie were extremely kind and helpful as my husband and I pursued research on my husband's ancestors who were from the area. The Shenandoah Room was absolutely delightful with a beautiful porch attached for relaxing. The historic inn is located close enough to down town restaurants to making walking to these establishments very easy. Lastly, the breakfasts were well prepared and delicious. The welcoming cookies that were available when we arrived were a delightful surprise. All in all, a wonderful experience. If you are traveling to Charles Town, don't pass up the chance to stay at the Carriage Inn. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: The Shenandoah Room had a wonderful porch attached. It was large and had great windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
95
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Inn is wonderfully historic and each room is absolutely beautiful. My husband and I just returned from our second stay at the Inn and we look forward to returning. The Innkeepers, Donn and Marie, are warm, welcoming and generally nice to be around. I added a surprise "birthday cake package" to our reservation and we enjoyed the most amazing homemade chocolate cake. The Charles Town area is charming and a perfect get-away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohnton, Pennsylvania, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had no prior experience or recommendations for The Carriage Inn but were pleased the moment we arrived. The setting was perfect for us: rural yet close to Harpers Ferry, Antietam Battlefield and a range of great places to eat. Of all the B&B's we've visited, the hosts and also owners, Donn and Marie, were among if not the best we've had the pleasure of meeting. Marie provided a detailed history of the home and was so personable and concerned for our comfort. We arrived on the 10th of April when the temprature surged to 92 degrees. Several times we were asked if the rooms were comfortable. Food was superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took a night away from our kids and found the Carriage Inn B&B. We stayed at the Sunrise Room and found the overall experience to be excellent. Our hosts welcomed us with a brief but jaw-dropping overview of the history of the property, and pointed out the amenities others have mentioned (drinks, tea, cookies) available at all times, and gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants. The Inn is very well located, within walking distance of both the Casino (although we didn't care for that) and the restaurants and shops of the historic district. The railway is 4 blocks away, but we weren't bothered at all by it. Breakfast was great, and our hosts were very accommodating and courteous, giving us just the right balance of pleasant conversation and privacy. The room itself was very nice, comfortable, tastefully decorated and in immaculate condition. This is definitely a place to come back to! We are very thankful for Donn and Marie's hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

What gems -- both the Carriage Inn B and B, and Marie and Donn, the inn keepers! We are regular B and B goers and knew the minute we walked in the Carriage Inn that we had selected another winner. Marie greeted us warmly, toured us around, offered us THE BEST POUNDCAKE I HAVE EVER EATEN, and showed us our room. Since the other guests had not yet arrived, she let us peek in the guestrooms. We had booked the Shenandoah Suite which was nothing short of amazing! It has a sunporch, with a daybed, rocker, wingback chair, coffee table, table for games or eating, electric fireplace and lots of light which we so enjoyed. All the rooms we saw were spacious, but this one really suited us for relaxing and enjoying just "being." The gas fireplace, quilts, and terry robes made it really homey. Up a few steps from our suite was a drink station with an amazing variety of teas, hot chocolate, bottled water (hot and cold options) and a refrigerator with a variety of sodas and juices. Hot drinks, including brewed coffee were available in the dining room until late evening and starting early in the morning. Donn was pleasant as well and what a chef! Breakfasts were outstanding, as well as the sweets each day in the dining room. Marie enthused about everything, is a great conversationalist, and informed about places to eat and things to do. They are an awesome pair and terrific at what they do. Charles Town is lucky to have them! If/when we venture back that way, we are sure to make a repeat visit to this terrific B and B!

Room Tip: The sun porch made it for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I took our first trip here and had a fantastic time. Don and Marie were warm and welcoming, and always had an afternoon pastry/snack out that kept my forever hungry boyfriend satisfied. We stayed in the suite next to the house, which was very clean and well-kept. Every morning Don and Marie served us a delicious breakfast (my favorite was the blueberry french toast). The bathroom was big and the bed was comfortable...what more could a could ask for!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Carriage Inn for his 40th birthday. Donn and Marie are the sweetest people and great cooks! We enjoyed learning about the historic house from Donn upon our arrival, the atmosphere was extremely relaxing and the inn was very clean. This trip was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and the bar is set high after this trip, we look forward to another B&B stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary Rutherford room and the bed was very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Charles Town
Carriage Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.