We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charles Town Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charles Town Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

What gems -- both the Carriage Inn B and B, and Marie and Donn, the inn keepers! We are regular B and B goers and knew the minute we walked in the Carriage Inn that we had selected another winner. Marie greeted us warmly, toured us around, offered us THE BEST POUNDCAKE I HAVE EVER EATEN, and showed us our room. Since the other guests had not yet arrived, she let us peek in the guestrooms. We had booked the Shenandoah Suite which was nothing short of amazing! It has a sunporch, with a daybed, rocker, wingback chair, coffee table, table for games or eating, electric fireplace and lots of light which we so enjoyed. All the rooms we saw were spacious, but this one really suited us for relaxing and enjoying just "being." The gas fireplace, quilts, and terry robes made it really homey. Up a few steps from our suite was a drink station with an amazing variety of teas, hot chocolate, bottled water (hot and cold options) and a refrigerator with a variety of sodas and juices. Hot drinks, including brewed coffee were available in the dining room until late evening and starting early in the morning. Donn was pleasant as well and what a chef! Breakfasts were outstanding, as well as the sweets each day in the dining room. Marie enthused about everything, is a great conversationalist, and informed about places to eat and things to do. They are an awesome pair and terrific at what they do. Charles Town is lucky to have them! If/when we venture back that way, we are sure to make a repeat visit to this terrific B and B!

Room Tip: The sun porch made it for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
110
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I took our first trip here and had a fantastic time. Don and Marie were warm and welcoming, and always had an afternoon pastry/snack out that kept my forever hungry boyfriend satisfied. We stayed in the suite next to the house, which was very clean and well-kept. Every morning Don and Marie served us a delicious breakfast (my favorite was the blueberry french toast). The bathroom was big and the bed was comfortable...what more could a could ask for!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Carriage Inn for his 40th birthday. Donn and Marie are the sweetest people and great cooks! We enjoyed learning about the historic house from Donn upon our arrival, the atmosphere was extremely relaxing and the inn was very clean. This trip was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and the bar is set high after this trip, we look forward to another B&B stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary Rutherford room and the bed was very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyds, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My fiance and I had a wonderful time staying that Carriage Inn. We went for his birthday weekend and we had a great time. Donn baked an amazing birhday cake and it was absolutely De-Li-Cious!!
Marie & Donn are great people!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful old, historic home, surrounded by history, attended by wonderful host and hostess, Donn and Marie. Lovely stay in the Copper Beech suite, plan to return in warmer weather to enjoy the screened in porch. Very comfy bed and I love a shower with water pressure, which is often hard to find in these old homes.

Great home cooked breakfast of crustless ham quiche, and fabulous carrot muffins.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to stay at the Carriage Inn for our 1 year anniversary. What a perfect decision! We stayed in The Copper Beech Suite. It was SO nice and romantic! The flowers and chocolates were perfect additions for the occasion as well as the jacuzzi and fireplace. The innkeepers were so nice and friendly. They really went out of their way to make sure you had a great stay! Breakfast in bed was amazing as well as the complementary banana nut bread when we first arrived. We would definitely love to stay here again soon for another occasion. You are missing out if you don't consider this Bed and Breakfast for your next stay. Everything was perfect about this stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Carriage Inn B&B - we wanted to celebrate our anniversary and relax away from the bustle of DC, and this really was perfect for that! Donn and Marie are really great - so nice and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The house is beautiful and the rooms are lovely, and various refreshments are provided, including a great selection of teas and hot chocolates - which we really enjoyed while sitting by the fireplace in our room. It was so relaxing!! The food was also excellent - delicious homemade banana bread when we arrived, and an amazing breakfast the next day, including caramel apple french toast which was awesome.

We also enjoyed a walking tour of Charles Town - and we appreciated Marie telling us some of the local history, including about the house. It was very interesting! We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend The Carriage Inn B&B.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden View room and it was very nice - we really enjoyed the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Inn b&b
Carriage Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.