We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful old, historic home, surrounded by history, attended by wonderful host and hostess, Donn and Marie. Lovely stay in the Copper Beech suite, plan to return in warmer weather to enjoy the screened in porch. Very comfy bed and I love a shower with water pressure, which is often hard to find in these old homes.

Great home cooked breakfast of crustless ham quiche, and fabulous carrot muffins.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
105
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to stay at the Carriage Inn for our 1 year anniversary. What a perfect decision! We stayed in The Copper Beech Suite. It was SO nice and romantic! The flowers and chocolates were perfect additions for the occasion as well as the jacuzzi and fireplace. The innkeepers were so nice and friendly. They really went out of their way to make sure you had a great stay! Breakfast in bed was amazing as well as the complementary banana nut bread when we first arrived. We would definitely love to stay here again soon for another occasion. You are missing out if you don't consider this Bed and Breakfast for your next stay. Everything was perfect about this stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Carriage Inn B&B - we wanted to celebrate our anniversary and relax away from the bustle of DC, and this really was perfect for that! Donn and Marie are really great - so nice and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The house is beautiful and the rooms are lovely, and various refreshments are provided, including a great selection of teas and hot chocolates - which we really enjoyed while sitting by the fireplace in our room. It was so relaxing!! The food was also excellent - delicious homemade banana bread when we arrived, and an amazing breakfast the next day, including caramel apple french toast which was awesome.

We also enjoyed a walking tour of Charles Town - and we appreciated Marie telling us some of the local history, including about the house. It was very interesting! We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend The Carriage Inn B&B.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden View room and it was very nice - we really enjoyed the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've stayed at many B&Bs over the past 20 years, and this is probably the most enjoyable and best value. Our room was large, comfortable, and historic. Don and Marie were excellent hosts. Our trip was planned with only one night there and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband an I have stayed at many B&Bs, but none have compared to the charm of The Carriage Inn. Don & Marie take pride in this beautiful historic home, and it shows. I honestly can't think of anything they could have done to make our time with them any better. You just can't go wrong selecting this B&B. Oh the food...excellent and so beautifully presented.

Room Tip: We had a tour of most of the rooms and I honestly couldn't pick one over the other. They were al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and it was very nice. The Innkeepers are very nice and helpful. Great food, cozy quarters, and great nearby attractions. A majority of my large family visit every year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I just spent the weekend there and it was very very nice. First the house itself is beautiful. It has a very rich history and several important historical events transpired on the actual property, as well as the surrounding areas. Donn and Marie the owners are very very friendly and they were truly sincere in wanting to make your trip to the area and more importantly to their home one you wouldn't forget. Donn's cooking is great. He makes incredible pound cake, and his breakfasts were greatly appreciated. I simply just can't say enough nice things about the owning couple or the property itself. I guess the most important thing I can say is that whenever my wife and I return to this area we have now found the place where we will be staying at from now on. Donn and Marie will definitely see our faces again.

Room Tip: The Copper Beech Suite was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Inn b&b
Carriage Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.