We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, Maryland, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beyond pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I just spent the weekend there and it was very very nice. First the house itself is beautiful. It has a very rich history and several important historical events transpired on the actual property, as well as the surrounding areas. Donn and Marie the owners are very very friendly and they were truly sincere in wanting to make your trip to the area and more importantly to their home one you wouldn't forget. Donn's cooking is great. He makes incredible pound cake, and his breakfasts were greatly appreciated. I simply just can't say enough nice things about the owning couple or the property itself. I guess the most important thing I can say is that whenever my wife and I return to this area we have now found the place where we will be staying at from now on. Donn and Marie will definitely see our faces again.

Room Tip: The Copper Beech Suite was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
90
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Inn is beautiful and Donn & Marie are such warm, welcoming and passionate hosts. From the moment we walked through the front door we were made to feel comfortable. We arrived early and were able to tour all of the rooms in the house, hear of it's deep history and see some of the articles found there. It was close to all of the areas that we wanted to visit and the dining suggestions we were given were wonderful. We enjoyed being greeted by Marie's smile in the morning as she served up Donn's wonderful breakfasts. We will definitely be visiting again ...... thanks guys.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spacious and whichever you choose, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were travelling around some of the Southern States on a trip from UK. This B&B was a tremendous find. The hosts are so welcoming and gracious. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious. Our room was beautifully decorated and the house itself has a very historic and dramatic back ground. What more could you want!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed every moment at the Carriage Inn. Donn and Marie were fabulous hosts and made us feel very much at home. The history of their Inn was so great and their desire to share it with us was very much appreciated. Their hospitality and food were the best of any B&B we have ever stayed in! We will return because we just did not stay long enough!!!

Room Tip: Copper Beech Suite was GREAT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were warmly greeted by the owners on arrival, and received a thorough briefing on the regional attractions, as well as a fascinating history of the house itself (built in 1840s). Both Robert E Lee and Ulysses S Grant made use of the accomodations as the Union and Confederate armies struggled back and forth to control the area during the Civil War. The room was large and the double bed was comfortable; the bathroom was spotless and the shower had plenty of hot water. We stayed four nights, and each evening on return we found a fresh baked surprise on the dining room table, including apple pie, brownies, and pound cake. The breakfast offerings included fresh fruit, a variety of juices, eggs, french toast....something different each morning. Donn and Marie Davis made us feel like their home was our home and we intend to return the next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a beautiful historic house and a wonderful B&B that clearly deserves its five star rating. The interior is lovely with crystal chandeliers, and soft music playing in the background. Each room is tastefully decorated with flowered wall paper, fireplaces, four poster beds, etc.

PROS: Excellent location. Easy to find. Walking distance into Historic Charles Town. Yard is filled with huge shade trees and kept very neat and clean. Large front porch for sitting with a cup of coffee or tea after a long day of site-seeing. Breakfast was way beyond the norm. Very elegant and clearly shows the effort of the proprietors...exceptional! (Napkin rings, linen napkins, fruit in martini glasses, china plates, whipped eggs with asparagus tips, blueberry pancakes, freshly baked muffins, juice of you choice, 2 inch thick maple french toast with apple slices.) Coffee and tea in the afternoons with a homemade goodie. Soda, juices and hot/cold water available 24/7 in the second floor hallway. Wine glasses, too. HOT water for showers and plenty of it. Free parking off of the street. Marie and Don are WONDERFUL! They really go the extra mile into assuring that their guests have a 5 star stay!

Robin's Nest: Encompasses the entire third floor. VERY Private. Two rooms in one. Sitting room with day bed on one side of the chimney. Queen size bed, closet and bathroom on the other side. Two dormer and one side window gives you plenty of light. You feel like you are in the trees. Air conditioner works great. Electric fireplace stove will take off a chill. Decor pleasing and kept very clean and tidy.

CONS: Pillows are a bit flat. (in the Robin's Nest)

We have stayed in B&Bs from Alaska to Key West and can truly say that this place was amazing in every aspect. It has to rank as the best in every category.

Room Tip: Every room was lovely. It is your choice in regards to size, price and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I arrived at the Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast and the owners welcomed us right in with a tour of the house and it's historical background. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and there was a refrigerator right down the hall with all sorts of beverages which I greatly appreciated. The breakfast was excellent and the owners went out of their way to accommodate the schedule and preferences of all guests. One couple was racing cars and had to be at the track very early in the morning. They sent them off with a to-go box! Very gracious hosts, we really enjoyed meeting them and getting to know them. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Charles Town
Carriage Inn b&b
Carriage Hotel
Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.