We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civil War History and fresh baked apple pie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
MID-WEEK 10% Off Room
Ranked #1 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Smithfield, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Civil War History and fresh baked apple pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were warmly greeted by the owners on arrival, and received a thorough briefing on the regional attractions, as well as a fascinating history of the house itself (built in 1840s). Both Robert E Lee and Ulysses S Grant made use of the accomodations as the Union and Confederate armies struggled back and forth to control the area during the Civil War. The room was large and the double bed was comfortable; the bathroom was spotless and the shower had plenty of hot water. We stayed four nights, and each evening on return we found a fresh baked surprise on the dining room table, including apple pie, brownies, and pound cake. The breakfast offerings included fresh fruit, a variety of juices, eggs, french toast....something different each morning. Donn and Marie Davis made us feel like their home was our home and we intend to return the next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
116
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a beautiful historic house and a wonderful B&B that clearly deserves its five star rating. The interior is lovely with crystal chandeliers, and soft music playing in the background. Each room is tastefully decorated with flowered wall paper, fireplaces, four poster beds, etc.

PROS: Excellent location. Easy to find. Walking distance into Historic Charles Town. Yard is filled with huge shade trees and kept very neat and clean. Large front porch for sitting with a cup of coffee or tea after a long day of site-seeing. Breakfast was way beyond the norm. Very elegant and clearly shows the effort of the proprietors...exceptional! (Napkin rings, linen napkins, fruit in martini glasses, china plates, whipped eggs with asparagus tips, blueberry pancakes, freshly baked muffins, juice of you choice, 2 inch thick maple french toast with apple slices.) Coffee and tea in the afternoons with a homemade goodie. Soda, juices and hot/cold water available 24/7 in the second floor hallway. Wine glasses, too. HOT water for showers and plenty of it. Free parking off of the street. Marie and Don are WONDERFUL! They really go the extra mile into assuring that their guests have a 5 star stay!

Robin's Nest: Encompasses the entire third floor. VERY Private. Two rooms in one. Sitting room with day bed on one side of the chimney. Queen size bed, closet and bathroom on the other side. Two dormer and one side window gives you plenty of light. You feel like you are in the trees. Air conditioner works great. Electric fireplace stove will take off a chill. Decor pleasing and kept very clean and tidy.

CONS: Pillows are a bit flat. (in the Robin's Nest)

We have stayed in B&Bs from Alaska to Key West and can truly say that this place was amazing in every aspect. It has to rank as the best in every category.

Room Tip: Every room was lovely. It is your choice in regards to size, price and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I arrived at the Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast and the owners welcomed us right in with a tour of the house and it's historical background. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and there was a refrigerator right down the hall with all sorts of beverages which I greatly appreciated. The breakfast was excellent and the owners went out of their way to accommodate the schedule and preferences of all guests. One couple was racing cars and had to be at the track very early in the morning. They sent them off with a to-go box! Very gracious hosts, we really enjoyed meeting them and getting to know them. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My hubby and I love going to bed and breakfast ... Carriage Inn at Charles Town is one of the BEST! Lots of history in this house and the town itself.

The owners were gracious and friendly. The house is well kept. Breakfast is AWESOME!

I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We arrived at the Carriage Inn after several days visiting Frederick MD, Gettysburg PA and Harpers Ferry WV. We had been immersed in history, visited welcome centers and taken private tours of the battlefields. Imagine our surprise when we learned that we would be sleeping a house that held several generals and important civil war meetings.
The B&B is artfully decorated with period furniture, historical books & history books to read, civil war prints on the walls, and beautiful arrangements of flowers and other memorabilia.
Beyond this wonderful feeling of being in a southern mansion during that time period, the welcoming warmth of the managers made our short stay a special one. From the smile that greeted us at the door, the beautiful room we slept in, and the complimentary tea and soda, to the delicious breakfast, we felt like cherished guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Carriage Inn was a wonderful place to stay. We had no idea when we booked this property that we would be so thoroughly pampered!

The rooms are beautiful, the hosts are friendly and full of information to help you make the best use of your time, and the house itself is full of history to fit right with the surrounding area. And then there's the breakfast!

When we arrived, Marie greeted us with the history of the house. We did not realize the house played such an important part in the history of the Civil War. Since touring some of the sites of the War was the reason we were visiting the area, we were thrilled to hear all about it.

Because we were among the first guests to arrive that afternoon, we were able to peak at many of the as yet unoccupied guest rooms. Each room we saw is spacious and beautifully decorated.

We stayed in the the Carriage House Suite in the 'old slave quarters' which is in a separate building. There is a sitting room, bedroom and hot tub down stairs, and another bedroom upstairs. The rooms come equipped with juices and sodas, and in the dining room each afternoon, there is a yummy snack awaiting your arrival. We rarely have the opportunity to stay in such elegant settings, which made this all the more special.

Marie and Donn were the most gracious of hosts. They are very knowledgeable and eager to share the history of the house and surrounding area. We had many questions and they were always ready to help with anything we wanted. We enjoyed our chats with them throughout our stay.

The breakfasts were WONDERFUL! At home, I often don't eat in the morning. However, there was nothing they served I could pass up. Also, we had interesting conversations with other guests at the table in the mornings so it was good we were not on a schedule that required we head out quickly each day.

The Carriage Inn was a perfect place from which to tour Civil War sites as it is close to Harper's Ferry, Antietam, and many more... Even Gettysburg is only an hour away... (During that hour's drive, we traveled through 4 states. That's difficult to imagine coming from California.)

It's not an inexpensive place to stay, but the Carriage Inn is worth every cent. Having such a wonderful breakfast adds great value to the room, and being a part of the history makes the experience 'priceless'.

Room Tip: There are some rooms where the bathroom is down a short set of stairs. It's a private bath, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I wanted to surprise my Boyfriend with a Birthday getaway! We were pleasantly surprised! We had a late check & felt as if the Inn Keepers were waiting for us all along! We were Very welcomed! Our diet needs were specifically meet,Breakfast was delicious. The whole house was immaculately spotless! Every detail was managed, & nothing over looked. They were very accommodating with an ample variety of refreshments & home made baked goods. We also enjoyed all the rich history in the house & the area! While leaving I had no idea I had left my water canteen, along with my travel guides,Don (one of the Inn Keepers) went out of his way to bring it to me,while I was about to get in car! We defiantly will be staying here again in the near future! We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Conference Center
Quality Hotel Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hillbrook Inn
Hillbrook Inn
#2 of 7 in Charles Town
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Inn b&b
Carriage Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.