We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Diner

Mountain View Diner
903 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
(304) 728-8522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 55 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Charles Town, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tremendous breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Just had breakfast here after a trip to urgent care. It was cozy, clean, and just what I needed. The breakfast was enormous...omelet, potatoes, toast....wow.. and very reasonable. The staff is extra friendly.....and I will go back again...
The menu is huge so I tend to order things that have to be cooked just for me. Think it is real fresh...that way.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    50
    19
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Diner is Temporary Closed for Renovation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant serves good, generous portions and the wait staff is awesome, but the diner needed updating. Good news is the restaurant is temporarily closed for renovations! The outside looks terrific! Once they complete their renovation, you'll find me there munching on their awesome breakfasts, Ruebens, soups, and cheesecakes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good diner for breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a catch all diner open 24 hours. Had dinner and breakfast here while visiting Charles Town. Dinner was better than breakfast for me. Lots of variety on menu. Kids liked their food. Would probably go back but wouldn't order the same food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breath of fresh air in an area going down hill.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We go as a family to area restaurants for breakfast on the weekends. I have to say that this Diner has come a long way. When we are here the first time it was okay with so so service. This time around my whole family, even the pickiest ones, had only good things to say about the food, price, and service. It was a pleasant surprise as we had started losing hope for our area restaurants. I won't get on that soap box, but I will say many places leave much to e desired in this area (very sad).
On the up side, we will definitely be visiting the Diner again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Love. This. Place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

You just can't go wrong. The food. The friendliness. It's just such good diner food.
The eggs and grits are excellent. Forget your hotel breakfast and go here. So much better!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mountain View Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.