We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you leave hungry, it's your own fault!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Diner

Mountain View Diner
903 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
(304) 728-8522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 48 restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you leave hungry, it's your own fault!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Good food with sizable portions. If you love breakfasts, this is the place to go. Ask for the sausage patty which is a little secret of the diner. Service is quick and they are just as friendly at 3am as they are at 3pm. Good food, good price. We eat there every time we are in town. Looking forward to the next time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    23
    37
    16
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced Tasty Basic Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I enjoy playing the slots at Hollywood Casino, but unless you're hungry enough to eat at the buffet, the food choices are less than inspiring. So, today we ate at the Mountain View Diner which is across the street. My husband had the sloppy joe lunch special that included a cup of beef noodle soup, a sizable house salad, a sloppy joe on a huge roll, french fries, and a pickle spear for $6.99. (No kidding.) He washed down what he ate, which was certainly not the entire meal, with a tart lemonade. I had a tuna fish wrap with a pickle spear and choice of soup or french fries. I took the cream of potato soup which didn't contain bacon or ham - finally! Also, I had two mugs of coffee. The meal was eaten in a dining room that looked like the picture of an advertising post card for a 1950's restaurant which is not a bad thing. When I'm not hungry enough for the buffet, Mountain View will be my diner of choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“surprising menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Typical diner food with the bonus of several greek specials. I tried the chicken souvlacki and it was delicious!!! Prices were reasonable and the portions were large as was the menu. Service was good eventhough they were quite busy. I would eat here again on my next trip to Charles Town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lots of diner food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Large servings of food with good service, Katie provided excellent service to our party. We were disappointed with the Yankee pot roast, But the fried porkchops in the country fried steak were good. The strawberry cheesecake was good overall we enjoyed our visit.

Met the expectations of a typical diner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Big diner! Big menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Both the building and the menu at this diner are oversized. You can order almost any cuisine from seafood, Italian, Greek, and good old American fare. Breakfast is served anytime, I think, and it all tastes good. The prices are more than reasonable and the portions are large. This is the place that puts the "comfort" in comfort food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Diner also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
Charles Town, WV

Been to Mountain View Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.