We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprising menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Diner

Mountain View Diner
903 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
(304) 728-8522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 50 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“surprising menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Typical diner food with the bonus of several greek specials. I tried the chicken souvlacki and it was delicious!!! Prices were reasonable and the portions were large as was the menu. Service was good eventhough they were quite busy. I would eat here again on my next trip to Charles Town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    44
    17
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lots of diner food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Large servings of food with good service, Katie provided excellent service to our party. We were disappointed with the Yankee pot roast, But the fried porkchops in the country fried steak were good. The strawberry cheesecake was good overall we enjoyed our visit.

Met the expectations of a typical diner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Big diner! Big menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Both the building and the menu at this diner are oversized. You can order almost any cuisine from seafood, Italian, Greek, and good old American fare. Breakfast is served anytime, I think, and it all tastes good. The prices are more than reasonable and the portions are large. This is the place that puts the "comfort" in comfort food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Legitimately good diner food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We werent expecting much, but this hole in the wall serves up an amazing breakfast, great greek food and is a surprisingly good value. Not just good by west virginia standards, but good by any standard.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overfed - Too Much Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The food at this restaurant is delicious. The portions are huge. I ordered prime rib and got a platter of meat, a cup of cole slaw, mashed potatoes, house salad, soup, lemonade and dessert for just over $20.00. I was ready to pop when I left the restaurant.

A suggestion - come very hungry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Diner also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to Mountain View Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.