We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overfed - Too Much Food”
Review of Mountain View Diner

903 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
(304) 728-8522
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #11 of 48 restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    18
    32
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Diner
See the most recent reviews
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overfed - Too Much Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The food at this restaurant is delicious. The portions are huge. I ordered prime rib and got a platter of meat, a cup of cole slaw, mashed potatoes, house salad, soup, lemonade and dessert for just over $20.00. I was ready to pop when I left the restaurant.

A suggestion - come very hungry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Classic American Diner food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I'm a native of Charles Town but I'm married to a Malaysian. When my Malaysian family visited WV, I wanted to give them an authentic American food experience and the Mountain View was the first thing to come to mind.

Huge portions, great prices, and friendly staff. My family wasn't disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Large proportions, diner food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Food is worth the price and the service was fast. Stays busy on a regular basis to the locals and vistors. I orderd the bacon omlette and a friend orderd chocolate chip pancakes. Food was great! The prices for drinks are ridiculous especially a small oj whicj is a shot for 2 dollars or so from what i recall and extra for refills. I enjoyed and would go back pleasant staff and food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Eat Great ....Even Late”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Large portions and awesome choices are evident throughout the menu. Food is great (not gourmet but it is a diner). Deserts are a winner. Excellent service. Great stop after an evening of gambling at the casino.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Greek !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Mountain View Diner is owned by a Greeks- family, and there is always a Greek special on the menu. When I went there, for example, I was served an enormous plate of the best mousaka I'd ever tasted, for the whopping sum of about ten dollars. And it included salad and home-made bread. The menu is enormous, and varied, It's one of those restaurants where you can order breakfast 24 hours a day, and, if I'm not mistaken, it IS open 24 hours a day. If you want ample, hearty food at a reasonable price, at 4 in the morning, then this is the restaurant for you. It's a great place to bring children.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Diner also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to Mountain View Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.