We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large proportions, diner food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Diner

Mountain View Diner
903 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
(304) 728-8522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 50 restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Large proportions, diner food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Food is worth the price and the service was fast. Stays busy on a regular basis to the locals and vistors. I orderd the bacon omlette and a friend orderd chocolate chip pancakes. Food was great! The prices for drinks are ridiculous especially a small oj whicj is a shot for 2 dollars or so from what i recall and extra for refills. I enjoyed and would go back pleasant staff and food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    23
    39
    16
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eat Great ....Even Late”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Large portions and awesome choices are evident throughout the menu. Food is great (not gourmet but it is a diner). Deserts are a winner. Excellent service. Great stop after an evening of gambling at the casino.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Greek !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Mountain View Diner is owned by a Greeks- family, and there is always a Greek special on the menu. When I went there, for example, I was served an enormous plate of the best mousaka I'd ever tasted, for the whopping sum of about ten dollars. And it included salad and home-made bread. The menu is enormous, and varied, It's one of those restaurants where you can order breakfast 24 hours a day, and, if I'm not mistaken, it IS open 24 hours a day. If you want ample, hearty food at a reasonable price, at 4 in the morning, then this is the restaurant for you. It's a great place to bring children.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Almost heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stopped for breakfast/lunch last weekend. After looking at the impressive menu, I decided on the Chicken Fried steak,Mashed potatoes and sliced beets. Mmmm good. The steak was not ground beef and frozen. My wife had like so many other places, it was hand cut and done just right. The sliced beets again were hand sliced and marinated with onions, very flavorful. What can I say about mashed potatoes and cream gravy. My wife had perfectly done over easy eggs a nice portion of bacon, and delicious home fries. The restaurant is quite large and they do a very good business, for good reason.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranson, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great selection! Awesome experience!! The value of the food exceeds the price that is charged!! Great service and servers!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mountain View Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.