We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Diner

Mountain View Diner
903 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
(304) 728-8522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 50 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Greek !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Mountain View Diner is owned by a Greeks- family, and there is always a Greek special on the menu. When I went there, for example, I was served an enormous plate of the best mousaka I'd ever tasted, for the whopping sum of about ten dollars. And it included salad and home-made bread. The menu is enormous, and varied, It's one of those restaurants where you can order breakfast 24 hours a day, and, if I'm not mistaken, it IS open 24 hours a day. If you want ample, hearty food at a reasonable price, at 4 in the morning, then this is the restaurant for you. It's a great place to bring children.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    46
    17
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Almost heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stopped for breakfast/lunch last weekend. After looking at the impressive menu, I decided on the Chicken Fried steak,Mashed potatoes and sliced beets. Mmmm good. The steak was not ground beef and frozen. My wife had like so many other places, it was hand cut and done just right. The sliced beets again were hand sliced and marinated with onions, very flavorful. What can I say about mashed potatoes and cream gravy. My wife had perfectly done over easy eggs a nice portion of bacon, and delicious home fries. The restaurant is quite large and they do a very good business, for good reason.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranson, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great selection! Awesome experience!! The value of the food exceeds the price that is charged!! Great service and servers!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Diner food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Huge menue so you will find something you like. Not gormet food but you will certainly get your fill.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A lot of food for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is the best deal in town. Nobody else gives you this much food for the price. Even the kids' meals are over-sized. Often when we visit the Mountain View Diner, we find one meal is too much for one person and end up bringing the rest home to enjoy the next day, too. Any time I meet clients for lunch, I always suggest the Mountain View Diner. The staff is friendly and the restaurant is clean. Can't wait to go back!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mountain View Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.