We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Diner

Mountain View Diner
903 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
(304) 728-8522
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #11 of 48 restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Almost heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stopped for breakfast/lunch last weekend. After looking at the impressive menu, I decided on the Chicken Fried steak,Mashed potatoes and sliced beets. Mmmm good. The steak was not ground beef and frozen. My wife had like so many other places, it was hand cut and done just right. The sliced beets again were hand sliced and marinated with onions, very flavorful. What can I say about mashed potatoes and cream gravy. My wife had perfectly done over easy eggs a nice portion of bacon, and delicious home fries. The restaurant is quite large and they do a very good business, for good reason.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    18
    32
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ranson, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great selection! Awesome experience!! The value of the food exceeds the price that is charged!! Great service and servers!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Diner food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Huge menue so you will find something you like. Not gormet food but you will certainly get your fill.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lot of food for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is the best deal in town. Nobody else gives you this much food for the price. Even the kids' meals are over-sized. Often when we visit the Mountain View Diner, we find one meal is too much for one person and end up bringing the rest home to enjoy the next day, too. Any time I meet clients for lunch, I always suggest the Mountain View Diner. The staff is friendly and the restaurant is clean. Can't wait to go back!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“oh the agony”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Have visited here three times now for dinner or late evening meal. Three times fail and they are now off the list -not even an option.

The menu has everything under the sun. EVERYTHING! It's like 20 pages long with two pages of SPECIALS. Really?? The specially prepared for today SPECIALS and there is enough variety for 2 pages??

(visit #2) it was raining outside and a roof leak inside. Well, that happens. We sat for dinner about 2 tables away from the roof leak, they had a bucket under it. Eating our dinners, and about four acoustic ceiling tiles collapsed in from the water leak. They were all soaked and splashed 4 to 6 tables of dinners AND their food. The management's response?? oh, oops.
um no, we are not replacing your food.... We left without eating any more.

Visit # 3 - yes we were that hungry we gave them another try and it was late - little else is open at that hour.

Salads arrived at the table soaked. The lettuce was rinsed and that's it. Thrown in a bowl, there ya go. Ever heard of drying?? spin dry?? air dry?? Wow, there was enough water on my plate for the soup. And it may well have been the soup....

Steak was cooked about right for medium and tasted like last years beef, maybe it was freezer burned?? I can't explain how.... off... it tasted.

Well, at least no ceiling tiles fell in on us. Oh, the pies are good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Diner also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to Mountain View Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.