We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Epic Buffet

Epic Buffet
750 Hollywood Dr, Hollywood Casino At Charles Town Races, Charles Town, WV 25414
1-800-795-7001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 56 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, American, Pizza, International, Asian, Korean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
149 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were recently in Washington DC on a short trip, and drove out to rural Virginia/West Virginia to explore the countryside. We found ourselves at the Shenandoah River around lunchtime, and the road took us past the Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. We decided to pop in for a quick flutter.

The buffet looked the best option for a quick meal, and was very reasonable at about $15 per person. We weren't expecting much at all, so were very pleasantly surprised at the sheer size and variety on offer. None of the cooking was world-class, but all very competently executed and presented. Dizzying selection of desserts.

It's all serve yourself, except for drinks (mostly complimentary). Our server was absolutely lovely. Very friendly, and kept our glasses topped up. She threw in a couple of suggestions for food, meaning that we were pretty bloated when leaving!

The Epic Buffet has restored our faith in casino buffets as an option for uncomplicated meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My family enjoyed the Epic Buffet lunch. The price was a good value for the amount of choices that you get. What a vast variety...something for everyone...there were taco makings, carved turkey or beef, even Pho! Desserts were yummy too. It was clean and the staff was friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

For years, we've enjoyed the Epic Buffet at Charles Town but the latest visit was even better than before. More variety, cooked just right and super staff. I can't imagine how it could be improved on. Try the new "Homestyle Buffet" on Sundays- the fare is mixed but a tremendous assortment. Don't miss the peach carrots! Topping it off is a fantastic desert selection! This buffet rivals any in Vegas!
And the best tip is to ask for Elizabeth for your server! She has GOT to be the best in the business. Super-attentive and fun to talk to. She, alone, makes the visit to the Epic worth the trip! Sometimes We visit the Epic Buffet just for the meal and service- nevermind the casino.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“2 day history vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This buffett was the only good thing happening at the Casino. By the way - it is situated in the very tiny non-smoking section

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've eaten here a few times- lunch and dinner- went recently for lunch on a Saturday- not cheap - they used to have shrimp- where is it- food sits and does not look fresh- they are slow to replace items- the last time I went there with my brother from NYC and he was critical of the food just sitting out not looking fresh- now I agree with him- I will pass it by in the future even if I am gambling at the casino.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epic Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Epic Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epic Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.