We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Distillery, Fantastic Product” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloomery Plantation Distillery

Bloomery Plantation Distillery
16357 Charles Town Rd, Charles Town, WV
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Charles Town
Type: Distilleries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Charles Town, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quirky Distillery, Fantastic Product”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stopped here on our way back down to Virginia. (It's just inside the WV line before you cross the Potomac River to Virginia.) Please make the effort (or, rather, your car's effort) to make it up that little hill to the distillery. You'll be glad you did.

When we arrived we sat at the tasting bar that was all set upp & ready to go for sampling their wares. About 7 bottles were lined up & we had the opportunity to taste a wee bit of each. The commentary by the taste-master & his assistant was informative as well as humorous. (And that's not the spirits talking here.) We got to taste each cordial they produce as well as some "recipes" (e.g., adding some to sparkling water, serving over sherbet, etc.) using each type.

The distillery is in an old plantation building and is kept as it is. The kitchen is visible from the tasting room, which is kinda neat. When we were there (late-summer 2013), their Limoncello products utilized the lemons they grew on site.

The cordials and other products are sold on site. The have live music on weekends during warmer months.

This is definitely a place I will take visitors. I will be headed there to purchase some Christmas gifts as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting us, and such a great review. We try to make every customer visit special so when we get to read such a cool write up it gives us affirmation that the experience was special!
Hope to see you again soon up on our hill! Cheers, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smoooooooth!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The smoothest lemon cello you will ever have!! Unique ambiance, lively crew and never ending tasting that make you want to take a bottle of each home!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are very pleased that you find our limoncello smooth, that special finish was the whole reason for us starting up the Bloomery. Our mission to build special cordials and mixers from our fruits,roots and nuts has been a fun ride. Certainly one of the best moments is reading that you our customers appreciate what we do! Thank you. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stopped by yesterday with some of our friends and had a blast here! The staff was super friendly and fun to chat with. The tasting was as much as you could want and all for free! They even include some samples of their products in different recipes which were also amazing! It is very laid back and an all around great time. We will definitely be back with others that come to visit us!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit. Hoping to see you back "up on our hill again soon!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stopped at the distillery on the way to the racetrack.
Virtually unlimited free tasting of various limoncellos (plus all the pistachios you can eat).
What made the tasting even more enjoyable is that they presented different varieties, of which some were mixed with our ingredients. For example, our favorite, the cremma limoncello was mixed with orange juice, which tasted like a creamsicle.

Definitely a worthwhile stop if you are headed to the track.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting and sharing such a great review! We are very appreciative of your business and so happy that you had a great visit with us up on our hill. We hope to see you again soon when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stopped in at the Bloomery on our way to a bed and breakfast in Charles Town, WV and had a great time. The folks here are very laid back and fun to hang out with and their products are really tasty. Allison was our host for the tasting (which was free by the way) and did a really wonderful job! We'll definitely be back when are supplies run low. This would also make a great stop for anyone doing winery tours in Northern Virginia.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting and sharing such a great review! We are very appreciative of your business and so happy that you had a great visit with us up on our hill. We hope to see you again soon when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloomery Plantation Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Bloomery Plantation Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloomery Plantation Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.