We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Motel Rib Room

Turf Motel Rib Room
741 East Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
304-725-2081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 48 restaurants in Charles Town
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Description: The Turf Motel and Rib Room has been serving some of America’s favorite dishes since 1955. Hence the name, Rib Room, the Turf has been well known and liked for its succulent Prime Rib, often titled “Area’s Best” with many consecutive year awards. Open for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner, the Turf serves fresh hand-cut USDA Choice Beef, tender baby-back ribs, fresh pulled pork, homemade soups and salads, delicious appetizers and sandwiches as well as fantastic Daily Specials. Large Gatherings and private parties are welcome. Special late night menu is available in our lounge.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The service a little slow and if you want bread with your meal ask when ordering. Quiet and slow, so do not be in a hurry.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    13
    4
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great food and staff! Had a fun time and can't wait to go back! Very accomodating with our large party!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Prime rib a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went for the signature Prime Rib, since this is the Rib Room. We asked the waitress about it and she was quite clueless.

A prime rib is supposed to be a slow roasted hunk of Ribeye cut from the whole roast. Instead, we were served a plain rib eye on a sizzling plate.

Seriously education needed on the Prime Rib.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great home cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very nice menu plus many optional specials were available for dinner. Be sure to check their hours before heading out to the casino if you plan to return for dinner. Prices are more reasonable than Casino and the meal we had was wonderful! (Ribs..a specialty of theirs; Crab soup in local bakery bread bowl; crisp, freshly made salad (not bagged salad) along with home made dressings). Even if we don't stay at Turf Motel next time, we may just take the shuttle from the casino to the motel for dinner! It was really that good. Gracious service also.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rib Room Cooks may need some training”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I had dinner there on New years Eve. The staff and waitress were very friendly and accomodating but steaks were a little bit over done. I wouldn't have thought to bad of this and maybe it was just a one time mistake but my girlfriend saw the people next to us swap steaks between them and from the conversation were offered a free appetizer to try to make up for the steaks being over cooked. It was extremely hot in the restaurant which also added to our discomfort. We did not complain but had oredered them rare and they were past medium to almost well done. I may give them a try again to be fair but wil emphasize rare or I will send them back. The rest of the food was very good and the price was reasonable but the cooks may need some training.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turf Motel Rib Room also viewed

 

Been to Turf Motel Rib Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Motel Rib Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.