We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Like Slot Selection & Couldn't Win” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races

Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races
750 Hollywood Drive, P.O. Box 551, Charles Town, WV 25414
800-795-7001, 304-725-7001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Charles Town
Activities: Gambling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With nearly 5,000 slots, over 100 tables, live thoroughbred racing and 7 delicious dining options, the Hollywood treatment is yours for the taking.
harrisburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Didn't Like Slot Selection & Couldn't Win”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a big casino and they do have plenty of slots, but I just didn't like the type of slots they had there. They hardly had any I actually like and normally play. Some were tall and sat high up and I had to look up and hurt my neck to play them...not all but some. I also noticed that many of the penny slots here start at a higher bet than other casinos. They don't have many with a quarter bet. Many start at $1, or .80 cents, .50 cents etc....to play all the lines. And be careful, there are little rows of nickel machines thrown smack dab in the middle of a penny section. You might end up playing one, betting a lot more than you're realizing, like I did. I was all over the place and tried all sort of slots and couldn't win on anything. It was terrible. I didn't get any fun play on anything and it was so hard to even get a bonus on anything. My mom had a little luck there on the White Orchid, I wasn't as fortunate. They do have several bathroom and free drink machines on the walls which is nice and both smoking and non smokin sections.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    164
    109
    89
    97
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The casino features old style slots as well as MANY of the newer slot machines. Poker machines also. Table games for all tastes. Limits do tend to run a little high on weekends. Live horse racing Wed-Sat nights and when the weather is nice (May-Oct), Sunday afternoon racing. Bring kids on a Sunday afternoon. They will have a blast watching the horses. Hotel on site but have not stayed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“It's not Vegas, but it's a casino”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hollywood Casino has over 100 table games and 3500 slots. We've been there many times, but I noticed on this trip that they are finally updating some of their slots. Any casino that I've been in that has Wizard of Oz machines - you have to wait in line to get to one. Hollywood doesn't have one. They do have the ever popular Alice, Sex and the City and Hangover machines. We were there on a Thursday afternoon/evening, so the casino wasn't very busy. However, before we left, around 9:00 pm, it was very busy. It's not Vegas, but it is a casino.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“S & H green stamps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went on a Saturday, pretty busy in the afternoon. But nice, you could play want you wanted. We watched 7 horse races and enjoyed every single one. But by 11 when we got back out on the floor omg and the smoke is unbeleivable. They should go outside to smoke.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
204 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Lots of smoke, lots of new games”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It has been a couple of years since I was last out at Hollywood Casino in Charlestown. Back then it wsa simply slots and the horses, but now with the addition of table games, it is like a whole new place. The biggest issue for me is the overabundance of smoke, which you find in most casinos. While I appreciate the new games, the old smoke is enough to keep me away for a couple more years.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.