We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Irish Pub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paddy's

Paddy's
210 East Liberty Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
304-725-4999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 54 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Middletown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Irish Pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Paddy's is the real deal, serving the best pint of Guinness this side of the pond (that I've found). They have fabulous fish & chips - fresh Cod flown in twice a week, and hand cut chips. Their Shepherd's Pie is really fine, and their hamburgers are as good as you can find anywhere. Also really enjoyed the Jameson Chicken, served with your choice of vegetables and potatoes. Tried a couple of deserts (usually don't have room), and they were delicious, and not too large a portion. The Pub can get noisy, but this is a charming place in an historic building (the old Charles Washington Inn). If you are lucky, on a chilly evening the fire will be roaring.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
1 review
“Dinner with the Irish for St. Paddy's Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

You have to know that this restaurant/pub is LOUD just like it says on their web page. If you go into it understanding that, you will be better prepared. But hey, its a pub! I had the fried oysters and they were as good as anywhere I have ever eaten. It came with a beautifully fresh salad and baked potato. Very good!! My husband had the corn beef and cabbage and was somewhat disappointed. The corn beef was not good quality looking more like a hunk steak than tender breaking apart beef that you might hope for. We thought the corn beef and cabbage would be better if cooked together to season both, but then, we are not the chef. Yet!
Ben was our server and though appeared green, he did is very best to please and we were certainly satisfied with his service. We both enjoyed green beer to finish off the celebration. Very cold...perfect!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cold beer, pub food, good music.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ben is a great server, he insures his customers are getting treated right. Nice selection of cold beer and real pub food. Bangers and mash, shepherds pie, fish and chips and real good burgers. Steak nite is fun, chef comes out with the meat and slices raw at the table per your order then returns a few min later with your meal cooked just right. Local music plays here often in a big room. Acoustics could be better but the musicians are great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bar Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had corned beef and cabbage which included a bowl of cabbage with a thinly sliced piece of Corned Eye of round beef. Something you would buy at the local grocery store to make a sandwich......I did really like the Poppers as they seemed to be homemade and not the frozen kind served in most bar type places. Most likely a great place to go after work, have some drinks and appetizers..........Certainly been to worse!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Va
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“started ok-now only trying to sell red bull and booze”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

kitchen was ok when it first started; has gone badly downhill since then--not sure if it chef or the food they are working with. Fish and chips was mightly fine at the beginning--now an overly breaded monstrosity. Various liquor concoctions and Red Bull seem to be selling well based on specials, though Irishness of Red Bull is questionable. Wait staff is not adequate to the task, and appears to be afraid to pass bad news to management. Recommended only if you need a beer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddy's also viewed

 

Been to Paddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.