We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lava cake!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paddy's

Paddy's
210 East Liberty Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
304-725-4999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 55 Restaurants in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Inwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great lava cake!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My 4th visit to Paddy's was last night. The food is very good but the service is hit or miss. I think the right side bar is quaint and I like the old feel and smell. The other side bar is very nice but the tables and plastic chairs need to be nicer to match the rest. The desserts are really, really yummy. I have gone there just for the dessert after dining somewhere else. The Saturday night music is nice for families for a change of pace.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summit Point, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just had appetizers and beer and not too tasty for the price we paid. Won't go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Appetizers for Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Took my wife to Paddy's Irish Pub for a light dinner. We both chose to have appetizers for dinner. Wife had Irish nachos and I had jalapeno poppers. The nachos were made from fresh potato chips with meat, cheese, and a sort of pica de gallo. There was none of the spice you would get in a Mexican restaurant, but then that was probably by design. The potato chips were somewhat thick, but were tough. First time we ever had trouble chewing potatoes. My poppers were good, but not great. The peppers inside could have been cooked longer. I would rate the poppers a four out of five, and the nachos about one and a half out of five. Now for the best part! We had their carrot cake for dessert with a cup of coffee. Paddy's carrot cake is the best we have had in a long time. The cake made the trip worthwhile. And the coffee was good. Next time, we will just go to Paddy's for dessert and a cup of coffee.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Potentially nice contribution to Charles Town. Service just needs tweaking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have had great fish and chips 3 times here. I have had ok service here 3 times as well. I appreciate what they are trying to ad to Charles Town but I am not a fan of a bar fight environment. The "big room" needs some decorating work. Everyone has always been pleasant and I have had good luck with food. Please check on us a little more and bring a glass with the bottle of beer. Thank you!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Fried Fish Ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Best fried fish in the area - ask for Ben as your waiter- you will not be disappointed, the facility is the site of the oldest residence in the original boundaries of Charles Town. Take your time, enjoy the atmosphere and the food!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddy's also viewed

 

Been to Paddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.