We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lava cake!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paddy's

Paddy's
210 East Liberty Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
304-725-4999
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #16 of 48 restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Inwood, West Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great lava cake!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

My 4th visit to Paddy's was last night. The food is very good but the service is hit or miss. I think the right side bar is quaint and I like the old feel and smell. The other side bar is very nice but the tables and plastic chairs need to be nicer to match the rest. The desserts are really, really yummy. I have gone there just for the dessert after dining somewhere else. The Saturday night music is nice for families for a change of pace.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    7
    7
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summit Point, West Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just had appetizers and beer and not too tasty for the price we paid. Won't go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Appetizers for Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Took my wife to Paddy's Irish Pub for a light dinner. We both chose to have appetizers for dinner. Wife had Irish nachos and I had jalapeno poppers. The nachos were made from fresh potato chips with meat, cheese, and a sort of pica de gallo. There was none of the spice you would get in a Mexican restaurant, but then that was probably by design. The potato chips were somewhat thick, but were tough. First time we ever had trouble chewing potatoes. My poppers were good, but not great. The peppers inside could have been cooked longer. I would rate the poppers a four out of five, and the nachos about one and a half out of five. Now for the best part! We had their carrot cake for dessert with a cup of coffee. Paddy's carrot cake is the best we have had in a long time. The cake made the trip worthwhile. And the coffee was good. Next time, we will just go to Paddy's for dessert and a cup of coffee.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolivar
1 review
“Terrible service and prices..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We are a local company in Charles Town that has over several 100 people working in town looking to go to a good restaurant for lunch. They do not offer any kind of lunch special where you buy a hamburger for around $9.00 and to add a piece of cheese you pay $1.00 more and on top of that you do not get French fries you have to pay $2.00 more for them making you lunch cost over $10.00 which in uncalled for since this is a restaurant that just started out and will not stay in business if they don't do something about their prices.

The first time we went there had to send the nachos back two
++times they were burned to a crisp. Another time we ordered burgers for lunch got French fries and they could not be eaten cold and nasty.

We went there after work sat at the table for 15 minutes no one came to our table for drinks I had to go to the bar and get them the restaurant had maybe one or two other tables.

We went there for New Year’s eve the salad were not good steaks were very thin and dry lighting was terrible and sat us next to the front door.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles TWon
1 review
“UGH”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were excited to have a new restaurant in town and within walking distance from work. But a big disappointment! Fiirst time we were there was when they first opened so we gave them the beneifit of doubt when we had to return our food 2 times before they got it right. We made reservations for New Year's Eve, which turned out to be ho hum...we just went for dinner but it didn't feel special. Salad dressing was good but the salad lacked, small and only a slice of cucumber and a slice of tomatoe. Really, it doesn't take much to make a salad interesting. Lighting in main dining room needs some improvement, it was glaring and directed right at me.
Third try was a to go order, burger and fries....I didn't care for the burger, and the fires had been sitting around for a while. They offered free french fries the next time but I have not been back to collect on my fries, not sure that I will. I have heard reports from others about long waits, terrible attitudes and bad food. On St Patrick's Day they let two of the cooks have the night off! An Irish Pub...St Patrick's Day....crowds.....does this make sense.
I've said enough...I still wish they would change and wish them luck.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddy's also viewed

 

Been to Paddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.