We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bookshop ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beasley's Books and Eccentricities - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Beasley's Books and Eccentricities
307 W Washington Street, Charles Town, WV
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best bookshop ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We are locals and have been there on many occasions. It has got such a nice atmosphere and the staff is fun to be around. It's a good place to go for a different kind of experience. Their book selection is very extensive and I love the fact that they serve a nice selection of beer and wine. All the food I've eaten there has been excellent as well. Love the chicken salad and the Panini's especially. It's fun to go when there is live music or trivia but anytime is a good one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Books and Booze and Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My book club meets here sometimes as it is warm, cosy, great coffee and a nice bars with good noshes..and you can buy the book if you forgot to bring it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches, great books, great music, great people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Simple menu, cold beer, hot coffee,nice selection of new and used books. Local musicians on occasion make for a fun atmosphere. Staff knowledgeable , friendly and cheerful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Book store w/ a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a cool place!! You can get alcohol and browse the book store. You can order a meal and a cup of coffee and browse the book store and sit in a comfy chair.
Rather like what we all wish our own home to be?? Sit in the living room with a good book and have dinner and a drink delivered!! :-)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We wanted to make sure we stopped at Beasley's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Eclectic small-town bookstore. Comfortable seating areas, plenty of used and some new books. It was pretty quiet on a Friday night.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beasley's Books and Eccentricities also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beasley's Books and Eccentricities, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.