We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book store w/ a drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beasley's Books and Eccentricities - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Beasley's Books and Eccentricities
307 W Washington Street, Charles Town, WV
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Book store w/ a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a cool place!! You can get alcohol and browse the book store. You can order a meal and a cup of coffee and browse the book store and sit in a comfy chair.
Rather like what we all wish our own home to be?? Sit in the living room with a good book and have dinner and a drink delivered!! :-)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjbeun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We wanted to make sure we stopped at Beasley's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Eclectic small-town bookstore. Comfortable seating areas, plenty of used and some new books. It was pretty quiet on a Friday night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I discovered this restaurant by accident on a Sunday afternoon.
The sandwichs were great and I liked the atmosphere. We have since ordered lunch on several occasions and the food that been good!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches, Books and Wine - What's Not to Like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Beasley's opened, softly, in mid-December, and still hasn't received approval for a permanent sign, so if you're looking for it, look for a banner that says "Tavern and Bookstore".

What a great idea. Beasley's sells books, mostly second-hand but a few brand-new titles, has comfortable places to sit, a few tables, and a bar where you can eat, sip beer, wine and other beverages (no hard liquor but who cares)

They were doing a good business yesterday when we went in for lunch. We sat at the bar, and had excellent panini - mine a "Farmer's Delight" of Canadian bacon, cheddar cheese and Granny Smith applies, my wife's a turkey and ham melt. Both were excellent, with comfortable servings of the named ingredients plus elegant touches like Chipotle mayonnaise and fresh spinach leaves. The house wines are mostly decent Robert Mondavi, nothing special but appropriately priced.

Our rating is relative to what they are trying to be - they are succeeding admirably. The servers were friendly and efficient, knowledgeable about the sandwiches (they should be, they make them too), and made us feel very welcome. The menu includes panini, cold sandwiches, appetizers, salads and a soup of the day, enough variety so that we can picture going back often. Hours are long, and all in all it's a great addition to the Washington Street lineup.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteandLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An unexpectedly pleasant mix of sips, apps, great books and great company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I had a wonderful visit with the owner of Beasley's as I sat at the bar with a reasonably priced glass of wine. It is well lit, family friendly and has a very nice sandwich, salad, and appetizer menu. The beer selection seemed to be one of the best I have seen in an area restaurant. There were dominoes on the table begging to be arranged and each corner and wall is covered with every genre of book imaginable. I hear live music is on the schedule as well. A perfect way to spend, start or end an evening!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chicwhorips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beasley's Books and Eccentricities also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing